We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, adorable hotel, and close to Cal Berkeley.”
Review of Graduate Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graduate Berkeley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
“Excellent location, adorable hotel, and close to Cal Berkeley.”
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We went to Cal Day at UC Berkeley. This hotel is an excellent location for any one who does not want to depend on public transportation. It is about 2 blocks from the entrance of the school. We walked to dinner on College St which is a couple blocks away. The Durant Hotel turned out to be next door to my nieces dorm, whom we were visiting at the time. Not being familiar with the city of Berkeley, at all, it was comforting to be so close to the school and the events for the weekend. There are buses, cabs and the Bart.
but we didn't need to use any of it! For anyone visiting Cal Berkeley this is the place. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    254
    138
    57
    40
See reviews for
206
176
70
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soquel, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2009

What more can one say except Hotel Durant is one of the finest boutique hotels in the Bay Area. We spent one lovely evening there while His Holiness the Dalai Lama was in Berkeley for an incredible lecture at the Greek Theater. From the moment we arrived, which was earlier than check-in time, they took care of us with great ease and hospitality. Zach in the valet car service took care of our car immediately. Anyone who has ever driven in Berkeley knows how hard it is to find parking. He works his tail off all the while with a big smile and a genuine care of your needs. The entire staff was fabulous. Everyone was happy to be there and sincerely interested in meeting our needs. I never got the feeling they were faking their sincerity, but truly liked what they were doing. When we got to our room, which was a couple hours early, not only was our room ready, but they had a lovely inspirational book waiting for us by H.H. the Dalai
Lama along with a hand written card wishing us a great stay. From the front desk(Kudos to Molly)to the restaurant staff, everyone was incredible. I cannot get back to Hotel Durant soon enough.
Jean
Soquel, CA

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfisher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review, May 2, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Durant. I forwarded a copy of your feedback to both Molly and Zach. We're looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Durant on the Club Floor in Room 607. We had a great view of Berkeley all the way to San Francisco. All the staff were very professional and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was very clean, comfortable and quirky - each of the rooms is named after and has a bio of a famous Cal alum. The Lounge was great - wine in the evenings with a huge flat screen TV and breakfast in the morning with strong coffee or espresso. We love Joie de Vivre hotels (Hotel Vitale is our favorite) and this was no exception. If you stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review, May 2, 2009
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. I am happy to hear that you are a loyal guest of Joie De Vivre hotels. I hope to meet you personally on your next stay. All the best, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Hotel was recently refurbished. Rooms were immaculate and furnished in "University Chic". Hotel staff was very professional and friendly. We booked the hotel because we took our daughter to UC Berkely for a college tour. You can't beat the proximity to the UC campus. We would definitely stay there again if she ends up attending Berkeley. Although the hotel does not have a fitness center, guests are allowed to use the university's fitness center a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review, May 2, 2009
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Durant as your "home away form home" and taking the time to share your positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The best thing about my trip to UCB is staying at Hotel Durant which a student recommended. The location, food, amenities, courteousness of the staff, room, etc made this a phenomenal stay for me! I will be back in 2010 and Hotel Durant is the only hotel I would stay in. I truly enjoyed everything the hotel offered. It should have a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retire2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim, GM at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
On behalf of the Hotel Durant staff, we thank you for choosing us when you're "home away from home" and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We're looking forward to welcoming you back in 2010!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2009

The Durant was the perfect place for us to stay while checking out the UC Berkeley campus with our son who was just admitted. The room was spotless, the beds & pillows extremely comfortable. You couldn't find a better location to stay close to the school. You feel like you're going into your own luxurious dormitory! We would stay there again & again. From looking over the competition, my alternates would be the Rodeway (clean, comfortable & reasonably priced but not right by the school) or the Berkeley City Club (close, with breakfast & an indoor pool, but no TV). Kandace at the front desk was a wonderful hostess. The Durant was awesome!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervynzerdner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim, GM at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review, April 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. Congratulations to your son for being admitted to CAL Berkley! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We're looking forward to having you at the Durant in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Durant for one night so that my son and I could take a tour of the UC Berkeley campus. The hotel is a very short walking distance and parking was free. Everything was top notch. The front desk was helpful, full of great attitude, fast and easy to deal with. The room was comfortable a clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were spotless. We had room service breakfast that was delicious and arrived exactly on time. Not one glitch. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tish90265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurantHotelGM, James Lim, GM at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this review, April 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. Congratulations to your son for being admitted to CAL Berkley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,247 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Berkeley

Property: Graduate Berkeley
Address: 2600 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711 (Formerly Hotel Durant)
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Berkeley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS OF COLLEGE LIFE, WITH A FEW OF THE NEW COMFORTS YOU PROBABLY DIDN’T HAVE THE FIRST TIME AROUND. Graduate Berkeley—where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Located one block from the nations' top-ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Graduate Berkeley, is a full-service, 144 room boutique hotel. Graduate Berkeley is a one block walk to campus at the corner of the city stir and game day buzz. Steps from Telegraph Avenue shops and stops. A quick five-minute walk to entertainment at Cal Memorial Stadium, Cal Performances or the Greek Theater. The hotel is a virtual post card from its counterculture past, Graduate Berkeley now resides in the historically renovated Hotel Durant, making it the most storied place around. The lobby invites nods to the arts and academia, the well-traveled local and Berkeley’s Bohemian roots. Collegiate plaids mix with a faraway but familiar feel, like a home away from home. Thousands of “Nat Geo” magazines journey across the front desk walls, dressing them in California gold. Curl up with a book amidst Ikat patterned easy chairs and printed velvet sofas in deep blues and burgundy with a vintage vibe. Sweeping wood floors are layered with hand-woven rugs from India, while graphic street art mixes with chinoiserie accessories offset by original millwork and moldings. Gather some Golden Bears for a post-game bite at the restaurant Henry’s or convene at a communal wood table; it’s the perfect hub for conversation, camaraderie and robust exchange of ideas and intellect. So whether you’re in town for a meeting or meet up, cheering along with Oski on The Hill or enjoying a show at the Greek, the Graduate Berkeley is here to make it memorable. You will feel like a local, at home again even if it’s your first time in town. Graduate Berkeley rooms are ready for a night like you’ve never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate—be ready to be inspired. Rooms amenities include complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, in-room laptop safe, triple-sheeted linens and designer bath products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Graduate Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing