We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great proximity to Berkeley campus”
Review of Graduate Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graduate Berkeley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great proximity to Berkeley campus”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Room had just been renovated. Loved the modern updates with the "hippie Berkeley" vibe. This hotel reminded me of staying in a London hotel, old world, city sounds, pub in the lobby. Parking pricey (yet expected). Tons of places to eat within walking distance. Proximity to UC Berkeley can't be beat.

Green Features: Had a good system for recyclables, but did need better container for real trash.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    254
    140
    57
    40
See reviews for
207
177
70
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice comfortable place next to Cal Berkeley. The pub downstairs looked like great place to spend time with good friends. The breakfasts at the hotel provided good options for the entire family. Rooms were spacious and clean. We'd stay here every time we visit UCB.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms that can adjoin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bart_hart67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed at the Durant upon the recommendation of a friend and I was not sorry. Check-in was speedy and the staff was helpful in trying to help me find a restaurant that would open early the following day. (No luck, evidently Berekely sleeps until 7)

I knew something was different when I noticed the rooms on my floor were all named for famous Berekely grads. My room was the Mario Savio room on the 6th floor with a view towards the campus. The decorating of the room was fun with bong-shaped lamps, a lab table from the cultural anthropology department, and composition-book guest-directory, and tie-dyed curtains. The art work was a pair of streakers from the 60's and a movie poster for the graduate. Fun!

The room was clean, bed comfortable, tv large. The cable selections were minimal. The "bathroom" sink was in the bedroom, but this wasn't a problem when staying alone. The construction must be on other floor or hours because I never heard a thing, although I could hear doors closing when other travelers went to their rooms late at night. Nevertheless, I slept well and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diinslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

After flying back from New York, I was excited to try out a hotel in Berkeley while visiting my friends for the night. I had some mixed reviews while looking over previous guests comments, but decided to give it a try.
Although I feel I should not have enjoyed the room as much as I did, I left very satisfied. My cons for the room were that it was very quaint, the bathroom tiny (one of the worlds smallest sinks), and since they are renovating you could tell they needed to pay a little bit more attention to details (carpet not laid correct, bathtub/shower had minor scratches). The walls are very thin, but if you leave the fan on, it really provides fantastic back round noise.
Now although those are some areas of the hotel they could work on, it would not stop me from returning. I enjoyed the quirky details (the lamp, the desk and hotel catalog, the modern but yet old fashioned touches in the room, and the service was great. I also loved walking into town, and thought that Henry's (Gastropub in the hotel) was fantastic too. If I returned to Berkeley, I would stay here again. In the grand scheme of things, of course there are much better hotels, but overall for the price and location it was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksylvst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel is currently under construction. If you are a light sleeper or want to have private conversations in your room, I would not recommend this hotel. Room walls are so thin that conversations in the adjacent room can be heard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoctaraCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Durant for a week in September. I hadn't stayed here for 20 years so it was a blast to come back. It is very centrally located next to the campus. It is easy to walk to Top Dog or many of the other choices that are close by. One can either walk to BART (a hike) or take a bus. It made it a reasonable stay when all of the hotels in SF were up over $400 due to conferences and last minute reservations. Street side is a bit loud, but that is part of being close to the campus.

Room Tip: high floor and not street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoAZ85251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice room, nice staff, good location :) I slept very well, the bed is amazing and and no noises are filtered into the room. All the staff of the hotel was very kind and helpful. I was there for a Meeting in the University of Berkeley and I really enjoy being in the Hotel Durant.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraswatii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Berkeley

Property: Graduate Berkeley
Address: 2600 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711 (Formerly Hotel Durant)
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Berkeley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS OF COLLEGE LIFE, WITH A FEW OF THE NEW COMFORTS YOU PROBABLY DIDN’T HAVE THE FIRST TIME AROUND. Graduate Berkeley—where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Located one block from the nations' top-ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Graduate Berkeley, is a full-service, 144 room boutique hotel. Graduate Berkeley is a one block walk to campus at the corner of the city stir and game day buzz. Steps from Telegraph Avenue shops and stops. A quick five-minute walk to entertainment at Cal Memorial Stadium, Cal Performances or the Greek Theater. The hotel is a virtual post card from its counterculture past, Graduate Berkeley now resides in the historically renovated Hotel Durant, making it the most storied place around. The lobby invites nods to the arts and academia, the well-traveled local and Berkeley’s Bohemian roots. Collegiate plaids mix with a faraway but familiar feel, like a home away from home. Thousands of “Nat Geo” magazines journey across the front desk walls, dressing them in California gold. Curl up with a book amidst Ikat patterned easy chairs and printed velvet sofas in deep blues and burgundy with a vintage vibe. Sweeping wood floors are layered with hand-woven rugs from India, while graphic street art mixes with chinoiserie accessories offset by original millwork and moldings. Gather some Golden Bears for a post-game bite at the restaurant Henry’s or convene at a communal wood table; it’s the perfect hub for conversation, camaraderie and robust exchange of ideas and intellect. So whether you’re in town for a meeting or meet up, cheering along with Oski on The Hill or enjoying a show at the Greek, the Graduate Berkeley is here to make it memorable. You will feel like a local, at home again even if it’s your first time in town. Graduate Berkeley rooms are ready for a night like you’ve never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate—be ready to be inspired. Rooms amenities include complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, in-room laptop safe, triple-sheeted linens and designer bath products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Graduate Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing