We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else.”
Review of Graduate Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graduate Berkeley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Aweful experience. My wife and I booked over 40 rooms for our special event á few weeks ago. Horrible customer service, constant errors in the booking process (for even the most simple requests and reservations), and many friends and family dissatisfied with their stay (thin walls, power outages, no hot water at times).

Make reservations somewhere else in Berkeley. My recommendation is Hotel Shattuck, Bancroft Hotel, or the Claremont.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 793 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Four nights at the Hotel Durant were very pleasant and entirely satisfactory. Proximity to campus was ideal for me. My room (a double double) was as pictured on the website background; cheerful contemporary decor that works well in a 1928 structure. The bathroom was a bit cramped but manageable (again, they are working with 1928 dimensions). Fixtures were entirely modern, and maintenance was fastidious. The staff is polite and pleasant. The bed was extremely comfortable, lighting was good, and I appreciated the upgraded amenities that seem to be sadly lacking in the bigger hotel chains: free wifi, real ceramic coffee mugs (with a GOOD coffee maker and good-quality coffee!), real glasses, cozy bathrobes, upgraded toiletries. I subsequently stayed in a Hilton which was a whole lot more pretense and far less substance...the Hotel Durant does a nice job. No air conditioning, but in the chilliest summer I've experienced in Berkeley in years, I did not need it. (The room had both a ceiling fan and a portable floor fan available, as well as screened windows that opened,) Henry's restaurant was convenient, cozy, and the food was delicious, up to par with my expectations for NorCal. The bar was undergoing renovation, but I have visited there before - it is lively, classy, and they mix some interesting cocktails. A well-recommended stay in every respect.

Room Tip: Double-glazed windows keep things quiet, but ask for a room off Durant if you are light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I had not stepped foot in this hotel for 25 years and was pleasantly surprised. The lobby was chicly decorated. The staff was pleasant. Rooms clean. Bed comfy. Hotel is one block from campus, so very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

In May I received an invitation to a July wedding with rooms "reserved at a special rate" at the Durant. I called immediately but was told those rooms were sold out. They described a specific "Premier" corner room on the Executive floor at a higher price which I reserved. I was unsure if I would have a car and was told I could add valet parking anytime later for $30/day. They were unable to send a confirmation that actually showed this room as reserved for me. I called several weeks ahead to add the valet parking and was told that that was not possible, I needed a different "package".which i had to do to get parking. They could not manage to send a confirmation showing valet parking was now included. A few days before they sent me an e-mail stating that I could not have the promised room. A further e-mail included the first mention that they do not have A/C. With each complication there was an e-mail exchange and multiple phone calls. The staff was very ornery, unfriendly, and unhelpful. I cancelled and stayed at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza instead. We enjoyed it very much.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carcajou301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Can't say more than we loved our stay at this lovely hotel. Rooms were charming, staff friendly and helpful and location perfect. We were on our way back home and thought it would be nice to stop and visit Berkeley. ( I went to school there more years ago than I care to remember. While the hotel was clearly renovated, it nonetheless kept its old charm. I was taken by the friendiness of all staff who went out of their ways to make sure our stay was pleasant. I would definitely reccomend to friends and return for a stay even though I live only an hour away.

Room Tip: Website is not wildly descriptive so a call to the hotel for a description migh help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was my second 4-day stay. The hotel is conveniently located right near Berkeley university within a 15 to 20 min walk from a BART station (metro) which takes you to San Francisco.
Nice safe neighborhood.
The hotel has an easy going atmosphere, informal yet helpful. Rooms are nice and clean. No A/C - which is fine except we had a room in the back and as we kept the window open during the night for ventilation we were awoken really early by the loud garbage trucks. Not a plus if you like to sleep in.
Otherwise nice hotel.
You can skip Henry's - the bar and restaurant on the ground floor. The ambience is not inviting, the beautiful bay windows dirty and the prices high. There are plenty of coffee shops etc. on Bancroft and Durant Ave. The BART station is on Shattock Ave, an easy walk, and you'll pass a bookstore and plenty of coffee shops. Generous family policy. Pets allowed. Because of its great location and friendly atmosphere I'll stay there again when I'm in the Bay Area.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask not to be put in the back because the garbage pick up is really early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poldi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great location across the street from UC Berkeley and right near restaurants and local shopping. Super easy access to campus. The front desk staff went out of their way to explain the neighborhood and how to get around, and one of them actually gave me his own BART (subway) card out of this own pocket to get me started. My room was very comfortable with a stocked mini-bar and snacks, internet, and tv, etc...

Room Tip: I imagine some rooms on the the lower floors could be noisy as the hotel sits right on a busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANOMICWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Berkeley

Address: 2600 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711 (Formerly Hotel Durant)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $149 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Berkeley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS OF COLLEGE LIFE, WITH A FEW OF THE NEW COMFORTS YOU PROBABLY DIDN’T HAVE THE FIRST TIME AROUND. Graduate Berkeley—where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Located one block from the nations' top-ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Graduate Berkeley, is a full-service, 144 room boutique hotel. Graduate Berkeley is a one block walk to campus at the corner of the city stir and game day buzz. Steps from Telegraph Avenue shops and stops. A quick five-minute walk to entertainment at Cal Memorial Stadium, Cal Performances or the Greek Theater. The hotel is a virtual post card from its counterculture past, Graduate Berkeley now resides in the historically renovated Hotel Durant, making it the most storied place around. The lobby invites nods to the arts and academia, the well-traveled local and Berkeley’s Bohemian roots. Collegiate plaids mix with a faraway but familiar feel, like a home away from home. Thousands of “Nat Geo” magazines journey across the front desk walls, dressing them in California gold. Curl up with a book amidst Ikat patterned easy chairs and printed velvet sofas in deep blues and burgundy with a vintage vibe. Sweeping wood floors are layered with hand-woven rugs from India, while graphic street art mixes with chinoiserie accessories offset by original millwork and moldings. Gather some Golden Bears for a post-game bite at the restaurant Henry’s or convene at a communal wood table; it’s the perfect hub for conversation, camaraderie and robust exchange of ideas and intellect. So whether you’re in town for a meeting or meet up, cheering along with Oski on The Hill or enjoying a show at the Greek, the Graduate Berkeley is here to make it memorable. You will feel like a local, at home again even if it’s your first time in town. Graduate Berkeley rooms are ready for a night like you’ve never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate—be ready to be inspired. Rooms amenities include complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, in-room laptop safe, triple-sheeted linens and designer bath products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Graduate Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing