We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, some annoyances”
Review of Graduate Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graduate Berkeley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, some annoyances”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great location for visiting Berkeley but also a substantially less expensive alternative to staying in downtown San Francisco, which was my case. The downtown Berkeley BART station is 15-20 minutes walk or 5 minutes on a frequent bus. Door to door from hotel to SF building is a 40-50 minute commute.

Pros:
Location adjacent to campus, Telegraph St. and not far from central Berkeley. Very lively area.
Clean.
Comfortable.

Cons:
Bad noise insulation from adjoining rooms and floor above - seems like quite an old building.
Can be noisy outside too sometimes.
Service is not too good:
- I was not notified of packages delivered.
- You are charged for printing a page on the computer in the lobby. Seriously. You are also charged for using the computer for more than 15 minutes per day.

Note: being green, the rooms have no air conditioning . They have a ceiling fan and a floor fan. This is no problem given the climate (I was there in summer) but might be a problem on exceptionally hot days.

Room Tip: Lower rooms might be more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe-xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    254
    140
    57
    40
See reviews for
207
177
70
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, CA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed for one night and received a complementary upgrade because we were staying only one night. We were on the 6th floor that had a nice view of campus, but unfortunately, it was pretty noisy because of street noise. I couldn't imagine staying here when college is in full swing because it's right next to frat/sorority houses. I can't fault the hotel on the outside noise because there's really nothing you can do about it.

The room was pretty warm and leaving the window open at night was problematic because of the street noise. The ceiling fan did help, but it still was very stuffy in the room.

The continental breakfast was ok, there were no plates or bowls for fruit or oatmeal. I guess they don't refill the breakfast stuff after 8 a.m.

The good stuff: the room was very clean, the bed & pillows were comfortable & the staff was very friendly & helpful.

I think we would stay there again, but request a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street to hopefully dampen the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jediannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel Durant has a wonderful staff and the building and rooms have been redone beautifully. My family stayed from Wednesday thru Saturday nights. Each night the street noise got progressively worse. So, if you plan on partying until 3 am, then this is the hotel for you. Because there is no AC and the 6th floor was incredibly hot, we had to sleep with the windows open. This won't be a problem in winter. However, we stayed in June with pleasant weather. I cannot warn you enough about the noise. It was incredible.

The breakfast in the lounge was good and fresh orange juice and cappuccino was a pleasant surprise. If it wasn't for the heat and noise I would fully recommend the hotel. If you have kids or want to sleep at a decent hour, then think twice about staying at Hotel Durant.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor unless you love a hot room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPCharger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the moment we set foot on to this property, we just fell in love...

We found this place online while looking for a pet-friendly hotel near the Oakland Arena to see a Red Hot Chili Peppers concert last summer. :) It's not quite that close to the arena but within a 15-minute drive. What a treasure this place is - Hotel Durant epitomizes Berkeley!

The building is charming tucked away in the college dorm neighborhood, you almost feel like you're staying in one of the chic'er dorms. :) The decor has so much character - if you grew up in Northern California or went to college in the Bay Area, it will take you back to those college years...and smile! The details that they put in to the decor is very impressive - the door hangers with the room service menu is shaped like a sock, the room key card looks like a student ID, the lamp in the room looks like a gigantic bong... :)

The rooms are small but it is expected in these older buildings. There's no A/C but there's a ceiling fan (most Bay Area homes do not come with an A/C unit).

This hotel is within walking distance to Telegraph Ave. and of course UC Berkeley. It's on a quaint, tree-lined street with little restaurants and shops.

My dog and I enjoyed walking around the residential neighborhood dotted with fraternity and sorority houses.

The service was wonderful - from my initial contact with reservations to the front desk clerk who checked us in, I can't find anything to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

All staff were very polite, helpful, warm & welcoming.
I felt like royalty, and like they enjoyed serving me !
Each time we returned to the hotel we were cheerfully greeted,
and immediately offered assistance.
I love that we never had to wait in lines.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room and you shall receive it if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank January H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel five times over the past two years, so I can confidently say that I highly recommend this boutique hotel! Wonderful and safe location, great staff, and best of all, Henry's gastropub! (Definitely recommend their martinis and angry mac & cheese, and their breakfast/brunch is also fantastic). The rooms are on the smaller side, and there is a high-end college dorm room vibe, but in a fun and playful way (e.g., bong-shaped lamps). The Graduate Lounge offers complimentary wine and snacks, if you are staying on that floor. I've never had a bad experience here!

Room Tip: as expected, the rooms closer to ground-level and overlooking Durant St. can get noisy, especially o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very awesome hotel, unique, great service. Loved it. Get a room on the Executive Level, worth the extra cost. We had the Durant Room, great view. The rooms are small, but very unique. Quiet as well. Staff was very friendly and having Henry's right there was very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Berkeley

Property: Graduate Berkeley
Address: 2600 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711 (Formerly Hotel Durant)
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Berkeley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS OF COLLEGE LIFE, WITH A FEW OF THE NEW COMFORTS YOU PROBABLY DIDN’T HAVE THE FIRST TIME AROUND. Graduate Berkeley—where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Located one block from the nations' top-ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Graduate Berkeley, is a full-service, 144 room boutique hotel. Graduate Berkeley is a one block walk to campus at the corner of the city stir and game day buzz. Steps from Telegraph Avenue shops and stops. A quick five-minute walk to entertainment at Cal Memorial Stadium, Cal Performances or the Greek Theater. The hotel is a virtual post card from its counterculture past, Graduate Berkeley now resides in the historically renovated Hotel Durant, making it the most storied place around. The lobby invites nods to the arts and academia, the well-traveled local and Berkeley’s Bohemian roots. Collegiate plaids mix with a faraway but familiar feel, like a home away from home. Thousands of “Nat Geo” magazines journey across the front desk walls, dressing them in California gold. Curl up with a book amidst Ikat patterned easy chairs and printed velvet sofas in deep blues and burgundy with a vintage vibe. Sweeping wood floors are layered with hand-woven rugs from India, while graphic street art mixes with chinoiserie accessories offset by original millwork and moldings. Gather some Golden Bears for a post-game bite at the restaurant Henry’s or convene at a communal wood table; it’s the perfect hub for conversation, camaraderie and robust exchange of ideas and intellect. So whether you’re in town for a meeting or meet up, cheering along with Oski on The Hill or enjoying a show at the Greek, the Graduate Berkeley is here to make it memorable. You will feel like a local, at home again even if it’s your first time in town. Graduate Berkeley rooms are ready for a night like you’ve never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate—be ready to be inspired. Rooms amenities include complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, in-room laptop safe, triple-sheeted linens and designer bath products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Graduate Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing