We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location but could use some improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location but could use some improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location near the Berkeley campus. Other than that, it could use some improvements. Folks at the reception could use some training in smiling and welcoming guests. My room was warm, no ventilation, or air conditioning. I did not sleep well. The complimentary breakfast on the sixth floor was a joke. I will avoid that hotel next time I come to Berkeley. This hotel was average 30 years ago when I was a student. It is still average 30 years later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    232
    118
    52
    34
See reviews for
180
160
67
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I enjoyed staying at Hotel Durant in downtown Berkeley. It was located right next to campus, dorms, shops, and restaurants -- no need for car or parking. Classy decor and sweet ambience. The internet did not work throughout the entire hotel (upper floors were spotty), but they were improving the network during our stay. Bed was comfortable and it was surprisingly quiet for being downtown. I'd stay here again when visiting Cal.

Room Tip: Higher floor had excellent view and was above the street noise. Ask about internet service in all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Durant for 8 nights for a meeting. It has very nice service and also in a very good neighborhood, lot of good and cheap restaurants. I think it is the best choice if you are going to UC Berkeley. Definitely will come back one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SazabiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I enjoy staying at older hotels because they are usually filled with classic tidbits that are now gone. And while Hotel Durant didn't disappoint in that regard, they sure need to watch the other small things. Like what? We stayed in a one bedroom for three days that had a hole in the bedspread, a coffee service but no tea, fairly thin walls and a good layer of dust everywhere. There was a nice sized walk-in closet but with no lights, so we had to put the bathroom light on to see inside the closet that was located across the entrance hall. They could also spend a bit more money on their toilet paper. Let me just say that the SFO airport had softer paper than this hotel. Last but not least, they also charge for using the computer in their lobby, even as guests, and there is only one. We needed to use it, as we printed out our boarding pass for the trip home and also some other important papers--$15 for less than 30 minutes. Not nice these days.

On the good side, the hotel is in walking distance to UC Berkeley, the staff is extremely friendly and the atmosphere oozes with charm. But those small things mentioned above really turn me off. Probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJGoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Oldstyle Berkeley with charm. Small rooms but well appointed. Parking is reasonable for Berkeley.Staff is exceptional. Only thing to improve: wine list and menu.
I will stay at this hotel again, but take my own wine with me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Entneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent service. self park is a lot just outside the back door. Reserve your parking spot in advance. The lobby is elegantly ornate. Our room had a desk from the Anthropology department and a black & white of a couple of streakers in the bathroom. Plenty of pillows, comfortable bed, ceiling fan and floor fans were nice.So close our high school student was on campus meeting CAL friends in moments to attend classes et al. I would stay again in a heart beat. Cheap & tasty eats close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemousakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed at The Durant four times and it has always been a pleasant experience. It's a quick 7 block walk from the Berkeley BART station, making it easy to get to from SFO. The decor of the rooms humorously recall dorm rooms and the lobby also has some whimsical academic touches that refer to its very close proximity to the University of California. It's in the heart of the colorful neighborhood that is Berkeley and also adjacent to Oakland. The staff has always been very welcoming and attentive. My requests on the website for down free rooms are always remembered. There is parking available as well.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have bathtubs. Some only have showers. If you really want one, just specify that you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Property: Hotel Durant
Address: 2600 Durant Ave, at UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full-service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Combining traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37" LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, efficient Business work space, complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - "The Graduate" - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV, and complimentary evening wine and cheese hour and and upgraded guestrooms with views of the San Francisco Bay or the UC Berkeley Campanile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing