We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but could use some improvements”
Review of Graduate Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Graduate Berkeley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location near the Berkeley campus. Other than that, it could use some improvements. Folks at the reception could use some training in smiling and welcoming guests. My room was warm, no ventilation, or air conditioning. I did not sleep well. The complimentary breakfast on the sixth floor was a joke. I will avoid that hotel next time I come to Berkeley. This hotel was average 30 years ago when I was a student. It is still average 30 years later.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Graduate Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 785 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

I enjoyed staying at Hotel Durant in downtown Berkeley. It was located right next to campus, dorms, shops, and restaurants -- no need for car or parking. Classy decor and sweet ambience. The internet did not work throughout the entire hotel (upper floors were spotty), but they were improving the network during our stay. Bed was comfortable and it was surprisingly quiet for being downtown. I'd stay here again when visiting Cal.

Room Tip: Higher floor had excellent view and was above the street noise. Ask about internet service in all ro...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Durant for 8 nights for a meeting. It has very nice service and also in a very good neighborhood, lot of good and cheap restaurants. I think it is the best choice if you are going to UC Berkeley. Definitely will come back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SazabiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I enjoy staying at older hotels because they are usually filled with classic tidbits that are now gone. And while Hotel Durant didn't disappoint in that regard, they sure need to watch the other small things. Like what? We stayed in a one bedroom for three days that had a hole in the bedspread, a coffee service but no tea, fairly thin walls and a good layer of dust everywhere. There was a nice sized walk-in closet but with no lights, so we had to put the bathroom light on to see inside the closet that was located across the entrance hall. They could also spend a bit more money on their toilet paper. Let me just say that the SFO airport had softer paper than this hotel. Last but not least, they also charge for using the computer in their lobby, even as guests, and there is only one. We needed to use it, as we printed out our boarding pass for the trip home and also some other important papers--$15 for less than 30 minutes. Not nice these days.

On the good side, the hotel is in walking distance to UC Berkeley, the staff is extremely friendly and the atmosphere oozes with charm. But those small things mentioned above really turn me off. Probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJGoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Oldstyle Berkeley with charm. Small rooms but well appointed. Parking is reasonable for Berkeley.Staff is exceptional. Only thing to improve: wine list and menu.
I will stay at this hotel again, but take my own wine with me.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Entneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent service. self park is a lot just outside the back door. Reserve your parking spot in advance. The lobby is elegantly ornate. Our room had a desk from the Anthropology department and a black & white of a couple of streakers in the bathroom. Plenty of pillows, comfortable bed, ceiling fan and floor fans were nice.So close our high school student was on campus meeting CAL friends in moments to attend classes et al. I would stay again in a heart beat. Cheap & tasty eats close by.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovemousakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed at The Durant four times and it has always been a pleasant experience. It's a quick 7 block walk from the Berkeley BART station, making it easy to get to from SFO. The decor of the rooms humorously recall dorm rooms and the lobby also has some whimsical academic touches that refer to its very close proximity to the University of California. It's in the heart of the colorful neighborhood that is Berkeley and also adjacent to Oakland. The staff has always been very welcoming and attentive. My requests on the website for down free rooms are always remembered. There is parking available as well.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have bathtubs. Some only have showers. If you really want one, just specify that you d...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Berkeley

Address: 2600 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711 (Formerly Hotel Durant)
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $177 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Berkeley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS OF COLLEGE LIFE, WITH A FEW OF THE NEW COMFORTS YOU PROBABLY DIDN’T HAVE THE FIRST TIME AROUND. Graduate Berkeley—where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Located one block from the nations' top-ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Graduate Berkeley, is a full-service, 144 room boutique hotel. Graduate Berkeley is a one block walk to campus at the corner of the city stir and game day buzz. Steps from Telegraph Avenue shops and stops. A quick five-minute walk to entertainment at Cal Memorial Stadium, Cal Performances or the Greek Theater. The hotel is a virtual post card from its counterculture past, Graduate Berkeley now resides in the historically renovated Hotel Durant, making it the most storied place around. The lobby invites nods to the arts and academia, the well-traveled local and Berkeley’s Bohemian roots. Collegiate plaids mix with a faraway but familiar feel, like a home away from home. Thousands of “Nat Geo” magazines journey across the front desk walls, dressing them in California gold. Curl up with a book amidst Ikat patterned easy chairs and printed velvet sofas in deep blues and burgundy with a vintage vibe. Sweeping wood floors are layered with hand-woven rugs from India, while graphic street art mixes with chinoiserie accessories offset by original millwork and moldings. Gather some Golden Bears for a post-game bite at the restaurant Henry’s or convene at a communal wood table; it’s the perfect hub for conversation, camaraderie and robust exchange of ideas and intellect. So whether you’re in town for a meeting or meet up, cheering along with Oski on The Hill or enjoying a show at the Greek, the Graduate Berkeley is here to make it memorable. You will feel like a local, at home again even if it’s your first time in town. Graduate Berkeley rooms are ready for a night like you’ve never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate—be ready to be inspired. Rooms amenities include complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, in-room laptop safe, triple-sheeted linens and designer bath products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Graduate Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing