We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Blast from the past” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blast from the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Oldstyle Berkeley with charm. Small rooms but well appointed. Parking is reasonable for Berkeley.Staff is exceptional. Only thing to improve: wine list and menu.
I will stay at this hotel again, but take my own wine with me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Entneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    242
    126
    53
    37
See reviews for
190
168
68
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent service. self park is a lot just outside the back door. Reserve your parking spot in advance. The lobby is elegantly ornate. Our room had a desk from the Anthropology department and a black & white of a couple of streakers in the bathroom. Plenty of pillows, comfortable bed, ceiling fan and floor fans were nice.So close our high school student was on campus meeting CAL friends in moments to attend classes et al. I would stay again in a heart beat. Cheap & tasty eats close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemousakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed at The Durant four times and it has always been a pleasant experience. It's a quick 7 block walk from the Berkeley BART station, making it easy to get to from SFO. The decor of the rooms humorously recall dorm rooms and the lobby also has some whimsical academic touches that refer to its very close proximity to the University of California. It's in the heart of the colorful neighborhood that is Berkeley and also adjacent to Oakland. The staff has always been very welcoming and attentive. My requests on the website for down free rooms are always remembered. There is parking available as well.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have bathtubs. Some only have showers. If you really want one, just specify that you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

As an individual studying Hospitality Management, I can get a bit picky when it comes to service.

Unfortunately we had to wait about 8-10 at the front desk before any one came to help us out, after continuous ringing of the front desk bell. When a girl about my age (early 20's) finally came up to talk to us, she was giggling and completely unprofessional, without apologizing for the wait. Minor details of course, but this is something I catch as an individual in the industry. The only other issue we had during our entire stay was the cleaning staff every morning around 7:30-8ish that were very loud and boisterous and had no restraints on their voice level. For me it was no major issue as I wake up around that time, but my boyfriend for example likes to sleep in until 9-10 which isn't too much to ask for when staying at a hotel.

With that being said, this hotel was great. The decor is a spin on dorm life which of course fits perfectly into the whole atmosphere of Berkeley itself. The rooms were small but had great witty details that were fun to look for when we first arrived in our room. Our room on the top floor also allowed us access to a special lounge that included breakfast which was a nice treat and something great to take advantage of. Unfortunately with our room being on the top floor we could hear the elevator at all hours and again had problems with housekeeping and their noise levels.
I loved the details to this hotel; from the "bong" lamp to the boutique shampoo and conditioner; the entire atmosphere is fun and quirky. What we loved most though was the location; it is absolutely perfect! You are literally a block away from UC Berkeley Campus and just a couple of footsteps away from great food, pubs and funky clothing stores. My boyfriend and I came to California to experience the foodie culture and do "cool" and "different" shopping and unfortunately we were not able to find this in San Francisco, but Berkeley more than made up for this. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its location, but don't expect anything special when it comes to service; which for most people is just fine.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor- you get access to the lounge! Also; ask for a room AWAY from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmynominated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated within walking distance to the campus and smack in the middle of the cute, little town. My friend and I stayed two nights while visiting a Berkeley student and never used our car. Parking is $16/day, but you may be lucky enough to find nearby parking on the street.

Check-in was great. The night manager, Eric, was super friendly and helpful. Our room was a smallish corner room with two beds, but still roomy enough. It had nice decor and was clean. The bathroom was teeny, tiny but because I had read this on previous reviews, I brought a hanging cosmetic bag so my things were accessible.

Yes, this is an old hotel- the floors creaked, the carpet was raised in areas, and the walls were paper-thin, but it had so much charm. The lobby was welcoming and hip, and Henry's is a great place to have drinks and food. I would definitely stay here again when returning to Berkeley!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nan831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are visiting the UC Berkeley campus, this is an ideal place to stay. I knew that I'd like this place as soon as I walked into the lobby. A busy and hip bar sits on one end of the college-themed lobby. When you check in, a bowl full of colorful hard candy always is present on the counter. The rooms are small, but cozy and well appointed. They have quirky touches such as a lamp shaped like a water pipe and a "Do Not Disturb" sign that's shaped like a sock :). We stay here when we see shows at UC Berkeley's Greek Theater (my favorite outdoor music venue I the Bay Area). All points on campus are within a short walk. The hotel has free parking and great restaurants are near.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmydogcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice room, comfy bed, great shower and a tub, microscopic sink and no place for any toiletries. Amusing shower curtain. You just have to see for yourself.
I was visiting during the Spring break, so the streets were quiet, and I could sleep with opened windows. If my stay was during the school semester, it would not be possible to get a good night sleep, even if you are a sound sleeper. My room was facing the street, but I am not sure if the back would be any quieter or if there are dorms or frat houses on the back. I think I stayed at 411.

The hotel is in a perfect location relative to school and nice places to eat. Hotel does not have a restaurant, but the bar seems to be very popular.

Overall, the place and management felt warm and homey.

Room Tip: I think I stayed at 411.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irinava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Property: Hotel Durant
Address: 2600 Durant Ave, at UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full-service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Combining traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37" LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, efficient Business work space, complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - "The Graduate" - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV, and complimentary evening wine and cheese hour and and upgraded guestrooms with views of the San Francisco Bay or the UC Berkeley Campanile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing