We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter traveled alone”
Review of Graduate Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Graduate Berkeley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked this hotel from Texas for my daughter who was traveling alone. The front desk staff I am sorry I can't remember her name, she was so sweet to me, I called several times to inquire about paying for the room so my daughter wouldn't have to have her credit card on file. She was so very sweet, called her I think three different times, she even offered to let me know when she checked in.. When my daughter did arrive the night time staff was very sweet.. Told her where not to go, and that he would like her back by 10pm.. Just to know she was safe.. The bar staff was also very kind to her. As a mother I was so thankful.. The rooms were fine according to my daughter. The only thing she said was that it was a tiny bit warm and the windows didn't open, but there were plenty of fans..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Graduate Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 785 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Durant for three nights in January 2013. The hotel, while not fancy is clean and very well situated to the UC Berkeley campus. The hotel does show its age. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. The bathroom, while clean, has a very small sink and VERY little area for placing shaving and other supplies in the morning. The bar and restaurant were excellent. Large, well light and the food was good. We sat in the bar and were able to watch the Ravens beat the Patriots. While we were disappointed, the well stocked bar (some very good wine) helped us through our grief.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights while our daughter moved into the dorms and got settled. It was still winter break, so the streets and restaurants were quiet but it is quite close to campus so I can imagine it would be noisier when school's in session. No movies in the room but with so much to do in Berkeley that wasn't a big complaint.

The rooms were comfortable, the staff VERY helpful and friendly, and while we didn't eat at the restaurant, there were several items on the menu that looked good for vegetarians. Our daughter left her coat in her room when she checked out, and later that day it was waiting at the desk for us.

Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The design of the Hotel Durant is stylish and charming; think "haute dorm living". Our only complaint is that it appears the previous resident of our room was a kleptomaniac. The following items were missing from the room: an iron, a garbage can, an alarm radio. The manager was apologetic, but this, especially the lack of alarm clock, put a damper on an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Ok – If you're traveling to Berkeley and are looking for the hipest little boutique in all of Berkeley - THIS is your hotel. This place is so Cal it might as well be named Hotel Cal. From the key cards, to the names of the rooms and everything else. Let me warn you - if you like the whole Hyatt / Holiday Inn / Marriott vibe, DONT stay here. It's just not for you. But, if you're into unique hotels with charm, personality and localised authenticity - this is the place for you. Don't forget to hit up the little pub in the lobby. The BEST place to be on gameday of any kind at UCB.

Authentically Berkeley in all the right ways. Charming, Warm and buzzing with tradition.

Room Tip: Get something facing the Bay - The Views are really something special.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank millertime010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

As long as you are aware that this hotel sits in the midst of all the student partying, you will be fine. The rooms are old-ish and small, very European-like. The decor is very fun and made us laugh. You have to be a Cal fan to enjoy!! We didn't sleep well due to all the drunken yelling going on down on the street until maybe 3 in the morning. But, you are right in the middle of all the fun if you want that. We were not there on a game night. The restaurant/bar was packed downstairs (Saturday Night) so it's a popular place, we sat down for just dessert and it was excellent. Everyone working at the hotel is very friendly and service-oriented.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilleSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel has been in operation since 1928, but was remodeled recently and is now a really nice place. The staff is super nice and helpful, the location is excellent (2 blocks from UC Berkeley, 2 blocks from Telegraph) and the accommodations are comfy and fun. It's green boutiquey essence (i.e.: IPod mounts on the alarm clock, modern and retro artwork and furniture and environmentally friendly certification) is complemented by the funkiness of being an older building (windows that open, vaulted ceiling lobby, old style bathroom tile). It's much more interesting than staying in a Super 8! The restaurant off the lobby ("Henry's") is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and has a bar. The food is pretty darn good and reasonably priced. The whole place has a nice, youthful (but not rowdy) feel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th or 5th (or higher) floor and you will be less disturbed by the street noise. T...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roadskippertrippper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Berkeley

Address: 2600 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711 (Formerly Hotel Durant)
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $175 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Berkeley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS OF COLLEGE LIFE, WITH A FEW OF THE NEW COMFORTS YOU PROBABLY DIDN’T HAVE THE FIRST TIME AROUND. Graduate Berkeley—where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Located one block from the nations' top-ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Graduate Berkeley, is a full-service, 144 room boutique hotel. Graduate Berkeley is a one block walk to campus at the corner of the city stir and game day buzz. Steps from Telegraph Avenue shops and stops. A quick five-minute walk to entertainment at Cal Memorial Stadium, Cal Performances or the Greek Theater. The hotel is a virtual post card from its counterculture past, Graduate Berkeley now resides in the historically renovated Hotel Durant, making it the most storied place around. The lobby invites nods to the arts and academia, the well-traveled local and Berkeley’s Bohemian roots. Collegiate plaids mix with a faraway but familiar feel, like a home away from home. Thousands of “Nat Geo” magazines journey across the front desk walls, dressing them in California gold. Curl up with a book amidst Ikat patterned easy chairs and printed velvet sofas in deep blues and burgundy with a vintage vibe. Sweeping wood floors are layered with hand-woven rugs from India, while graphic street art mixes with chinoiserie accessories offset by original millwork and moldings. Gather some Golden Bears for a post-game bite at the restaurant Henry’s or convene at a communal wood table; it’s the perfect hub for conversation, camaraderie and robust exchange of ideas and intellect. So whether you’re in town for a meeting or meet up, cheering along with Oski on The Hill or enjoying a show at the Greek, the Graduate Berkeley is here to make it memorable. You will feel like a local, at home again even if it’s your first time in town. Graduate Berkeley rooms are ready for a night like you’ve never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate—be ready to be inspired. Rooms amenities include complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, in-room laptop safe, triple-sheeted linens and designer bath products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Graduate Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing