We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not bad.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here a year ago to attend a one-week course at UC Berkeley in June 2011.

My room was on 4th floor, at the end of the hallway. Shared a room with a classmate and luckily I got the bed farther away from the window. My roommate could not sleep on a Friday night due to noises on the street. We could also hear people talking from the other room when in the bathroom. But well, we had no choice cos our school got us to stay here and I heard others that rented the doom for the week didnt have too good of an experience either. No A/C as mentioned by other TAs.

Wifi worked fine, password provided by front desk. The rest are all well, no complaints.

Food downstairs was really not bad, the burger and fries for dinner were great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    241
    126
    53
    37
See reviews for
190
167
68
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is on the Univ. of California's greater campus, and just a block from the traditional central campus. The room that my wife and I shared (as well as the separate room our adult son stayed in) was claustrophobic (bath room included). Temperature was fine in the rooms. Our bed was fine. Noise was not a problem when we were there. The desk workers were hit or miss. Several were as good as you'd expect, while others were duds. If you're interested in internet access, get the details ahead of time. Wi-fi, possibly included, is available, but terminal in the lobby costs extra. However, if, as we were, you're on the 6th floor, you get a free terminal in the sixth floor lounge, and can free access to the lobby computer. They put the charges on your bill, but then if you ask, will take them off (but only if you ask). The 6th floor lounge also includes a wine bar with nibbles in the late afternoon and and a "continental breakfast," which was fairly substantial. The only difficulty was the the lounge room is too small for more than a few to eat breakfast at once.

On the first floor there is a hoppin' bar, Henry's, which we liked a lot. The whole place is decorated and accessorized with Univ. of Cal. stuff. My guess is that if you were a Cal person, you'd love this place -- feel like you were at home. For the non-Cal person, the location is the best thing about it -- assuming you have business on the Cal campus. I'd have given it a "very good", four star rating, if our rooms had not been so small.

The rates for my wife and myself in a 6th floor "executive" room, with two beds, were $180.42 per night for Thurs. and Sun., and $234.22 per night for Fri. and Sat. (tax and fees included).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kefar Sava, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Compared to Bancroft hotel, this is a refreshing experience. The staff is very polite and cooperative. The room and bathroom are of reasonable size (for two people). Bed is comfortable. Comfortable working table with proper light and a lot of electric sockets. We had a room on the fifth floor but, still, the noise from the street and some storage place around was disturbing. No air condition (so the windows can not be closed to block street noise). Parking at extra price. Breakfast not included. There was some issue with water pressure which we simply did not have enough time to resolve.

Room Tip: Our experience with flat rental in Berkeley was much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

As other reviewers have mentioned, the location of this hotel is fantastic - a block from campus, and half a mile or so to Shattuck with all its restaurants, shops, and less than a mile to the downtown Berkeley BART station. Our second floor room was quite small and the sink was in the room, rather than in the bathroom. The queen bed was quite comfortable and the room was very clean. We faced south, and so the room stayed very warm despite running the ceiling fan and room fan continuously on high. The building is quite old, and the place has a sort of seamy charm to it. Tje staff were all very friendly. The front desk staff made a number of good recommdendations for places to eat. We would certainly consider staying her again for a night or two, but would ask not to be put into a south facing room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WitzinCville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel while in town for a performance at Zellerbach Hall. Location was ideal, only about 4 blocks from the hall and an easy walk. We booked two rooms and one of them was quite warm, even with the room fan on in October, while the other one was fine. There's no air conditioning in the rooms, just the fan, which seemed to work well in one room but no the other. There's very little insulation to block out the noise from other rooms - went to sleep listening to someone else's TV set, which was annoying. But the rooms were clean (except one stained towel that was left as a clean one for us) and nicely appointed. The hotel has a bit of a "student" theme being in Berkeley, with a sock cut-out for the "privacy please" sign on the door; a shower curtain that had dictionary definitions on it; and a room key in the form of a student ID card. Staff responded promptly and were helpful at the front desk, although they sent us on a pointless walkabout on a street with no stores at all which was supposed to be "antique row". Very wierd! The worst part was breakfast in the hotel dining room - we ordered one egg and toast, and were brought (and charged for) the bigger breakfast plate with eggs, bacon and toast. Moreover, the eggs were clearly powdered eggs, not fresh eggs, which was really awful. I would stay here again for a night - just avoid the eggs for breakfast!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReillyWoodTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Location is the reason you stay at the Hotel Durant, otherwise a funky place. Does have that old Berkeley charm, but is small, dark, noisy, lots of things that don't work right (e.g., climate control, tv, toilets). Does have wireless, in room water/coffee, etc. Definitely needs a serious facilities upgrade! The service is well intentioned, but not the best. I will be back, and hope to find it more lovingly cared for next time...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's really a too. Too hot . There is no air-conditioning. Too noisy. You have to to leave the window open and there is an "animal house" across the street partying until 3AM. Too small. You have to turn sideways to get between the bed and the dresser. Too dark. The subdued lighting is more depressing than atmospheric. Too crowded. Furniture needs to be rearranged. Even the pictures are hung wrong, with a too large TV right in front of the whatever-they-call-it for artwork.Too little water pressure. I couldn't even get a decent shampoo.
But NOT TOO helpful. The staff resisted changing our room but finally did after we heard them tell a new arrival there was space available and my husband insisted. Still wouldn’t give us a bigger room or one on a lower floor that would be (hopefully) cooler. We couldn’t even get more hangers for our clothes. In the new room, furniture arrangement was improved, and it actually has a closet door so the clothes and ironing board are not exposed. It was a quieter side of the building, the water pressure was better but not cooler since the fan is broken!
On the not too bad side, the toiletries are good. There are real glasses and mugs in the room and a Keurig coffee dispenser, which, no surprises here, didn’t work! Bed is comfy but they don’t know the difference between a queen and a double. Pillows are soft and nice. The staff was friendly and very polite, even when they weren't solving our problem. Breakfast at Henrys pretty good.
Last complaint: $5 to print a boarding pass.
Am I just crabby and hard to please? Don't think so. Chats in the elevator revealed similar displeasure from others.
Too highly rated at #3.
We will check out the Berkeley Club if we want to stay in town next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay there from May through October. It is too hot. Try a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pellverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WJones2600, General Manager at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear pellverm,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We appreciate your kind words about the room amenities and the restaurant. Regarding the comments about the shortcomings you encountered in the rooms, I thank you for the opportunity to improve our service as we will be addressing your concerns.
Warmest regards,
Will Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Property: Hotel Durant
Address: 2600 Durant Ave, at UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full-service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Combining traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37" LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, efficient Business work space, complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - "The Graduate" - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV, and complimentary evening wine and cheese hour and and upgraded guestrooms with views of the San Francisco Bay or the UC Berkeley Campanile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing