We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location is the reason you stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Durant
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Location is the reason you stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Location is the reason you stay at the Hotel Durant, otherwise a funky place. Does have that old Berkeley charm, but is small, dark, noisy, lots of things that don't work right (e.g., climate control, tv, toilets). Does have wireless, in room water/coffee, etc. Definitely needs a serious facilities upgrade! The service is well intentioned, but not the best. I will be back, and hope to find it more lovingly cared for next time...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    232
    117
    52
    33
See reviews for
179
160
67
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's really a too. Too hot . There is no air-conditioning. Too noisy. You have to to leave the window open and there is an "animal house" across the street partying until 3AM. Too small. You have to turn sideways to get between the bed and the dresser. Too dark. The subdued lighting is more depressing than atmospheric. Too crowded. Furniture needs to be rearranged. Even the pictures are hung wrong, with a too large TV right in front of the whatever-they-call-it for artwork.Too little water pressure. I couldn't even get a decent shampoo.
But NOT TOO helpful. The staff resisted changing our room but finally did after we heard them tell a new arrival there was space available and my husband insisted. Still wouldn’t give us a bigger room or one on a lower floor that would be (hopefully) cooler. We couldn’t even get more hangers for our clothes. In the new room, furniture arrangement was improved, and it actually has a closet door so the clothes and ironing board are not exposed. It was a quieter side of the building, the water pressure was better but not cooler since the fan is broken!
On the not too bad side, the toiletries are good. There are real glasses and mugs in the room and a Keurig coffee dispenser, which, no surprises here, didn’t work! Bed is comfy but they don’t know the difference between a queen and a double. Pillows are soft and nice. The staff was friendly and very polite, even when they weren't solving our problem. Breakfast at Henrys pretty good.
Last complaint: $5 to print a boarding pass.
Am I just crabby and hard to please? Don't think so. Chats in the elevator revealed similar displeasure from others.
Too highly rated at #3.
We will check out the Berkeley Club if we want to stay in town next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay there from May through October. It is too hot. Try a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pellverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WJones2600, General Manager at Hotel Durant, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear pellverm,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We appreciate your kind words about the room amenities and the restaurant. Regarding the comments about the shortcomings you encountered in the rooms, I thank you for the opportunity to improve our service as we will be addressing your concerns.
Warmest regards,
Will Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location. Once you park the car you don't need it again because you can walk everywhere from the hotel. The rooms are a little cramped, and the bathrooms need a little updating, but the room has everything you need. The hotel bar is a fun place to hang out after a cal game. My biggest complaint is the cost of parking and since it was a game day you couldn't be guaranteed a parking spot if your car wasn't back at the hotel by 7pm even though you had to pay for the spot. Overall I would certainly stay here again. Go bears!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraM949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were visiting friends in Berkeley and this was the best of the bunch. I didn't expect too much. But we were pleasantly surprised by the comfortable accommodations. The room was smallish, but the interesting decor made up for that: A shower curtain with vocabulary words to study while you get clean, a poster of the Graduate, lamps that look like beakers in a chem lab. trhe lobby is a library of sorts. The only downside was the extremely overpriced breakfast.
Eat somewhere else. Stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We could hear the garbage collectors in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilleNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. The room rates were pretty good and I really enjoyed being in the heart of the Berkeley campus scene. The room had some updates, the bathroom was nice and clean with new sinks and vanities. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were nice. They have good new TV's and a work desk. The fridge has a key, but they don't mind if you take stuff out of the fridge and fill it with your own snacks, which was great. The rooms are very small but managable.
There were a few issues I had with this hotel.
1st - There is not air control. there was a ceiling fan. You are in the East Bay so it doesn't get too hot, however if you open a window expect to get no sleep. You are staying on the edge of the University, it is loud. That was not my biggest issue however.
2nd - The walls are thin. I could hear everyone around me. I could hear the guy sleeping in the room next to me and the couple upstairs having fun. Thin walls.
3rd - The biggest issue I had with this place was the power continually went out in my room. Multiple times a night. The breaker would blow and everything would turn off. It makes it very hard to get caught up on work with the power conintually going out. I was not over loading my power connections, I had the TV on, my phone plugged in and my laptop on. I had the small lamp by my bed turned on, that is it. The power kicked in the middle of the night while I was sleeping and caused my phone to die, thus me being late to a meeting.
They have some potential here but desperately need to update their electrical boxes.

Room Tip: If you get a room that faces Durant Ave, it can be very loud if you are visiting durning the warmer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronMIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was on a business trip and needed to be close to Campus -- the Durant is perfect for this. The rooms are very nice, the hotel has been renovated and is very pleasant. The noise levels were much lower than the Shattuck, so this is the hotel I will prefer in my future visits to Berkeley (a good nights sleep is important for me). The only regret I have is the lack of a gym, but there is an option to get into the Campus gym which I did not try.

The staff were very helpful and nice and the bar was very pleasant as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RivieraGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Although there was a lot of noise form various carousers outside this only has to be expected if you want to stay in the heart of a college town. Loved Henry's bar, proper beer, a knowledgeable bar tender and great snacks. Room was functional, clean and well appointed if a little small. Breakfast (not included) was very good. Will retunr

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Property: Hotel Durant
Address: 2600 Durant Ave, at UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Durant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the nations' top ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Hotel Durant, is a full-service, 143 room boutique hotel, with a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture, modern conveniences and strong ties to the campus and community. Combining traditional and contemporary cultures, this Green-certified, cheeky, rebellious, collegiate styled hotel, features guest rooms with 37" LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, efficient Business work space, complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, in-room laptop safe, 300-thread count linens and designer bath products. The addition of an Executive Level Floor - "The Graduate" - features a cozy, comfortable lounge, with a 56" flat screen TV, and complimentary evening wine and cheese hour and and upgraded guestrooms with views of the San Francisco Bay or the UC Berkeley Campanile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing