We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Find”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A beautiful Find”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel is lovely, it consisted of several building surrounding a lovely garden and patio with outdoor sitting for having breakfast or just relaxing. The hotel is walking distance, for us New Yorkers, to the campus of UC Berkeley, about 15.20 minutes, about 15 minute walk to the BART, station, about 20/25 minute drive to downtown Oakland and the ferry to San Francisco, and about 35 minutes to San Francisco by car, non-rush hour. The rooms were very nice, bright and large, good bed, nice bathroom, nice breakfast, varied options. Good and varied restaurant selection within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaiWeiShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    116
    61
    48
    50
See reviews for
85
109
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Recently caught a concert at the Greek and was lucky to stay at Rose Garden Inn. Room was older but adequate for our needs and the customer service and friendliness of the staff was great, especially Cornelius, who truly offers Berkeley's finest service to his hotel customers. Just a few blocks from campus and related nightlife, but far enough away so that its not crowded on the street or loud at night. Great breakfast as well. Would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermanmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I reserved here for its proximity to a class I was taking, and it turned out to be far better than just easy walking distance. All the comforts of home, friendly desk clerks with all the answers to my questions, great breakfasts, the loveliest surroundings, free wireless downstairs . . . and my own tiny balcony! I couldn't have asked for more. Several times I returned with an organic deli dinner from the Berkeley Bowl grocery to enjoy in the late afternoon sun and fresh air. Except there are also great restaurants with reasonable prices just up Telegraph Ave. from the Rose Garden Inn, not to mention shopping and particularly used books (Moe's ships). A totally wonderful time. I'd stay at the Rose Garden again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnitterwithSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Me and my husband stayed at the Rose Garden Inn on a trip to Berkeley to see a concert at The Greek Theatre. It was in walking distance to the concert and dining. We especially enjoyed the full continental breakfast! We will be back for future trips!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clarkandamy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Simply fantastic! A splendid mix of charm, location and epicurean breakfast fit for the most discriminating traveler. And all a very affordable price.

The staff makes you feel like you own the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackjack1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

It was our first time staying at the Rose Garden Inn and it was clean and comfortable. The service was terrific and the complimentary FULL breakfast was delicious!! We are going back again in August and plan to stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkolgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Rose Garden Inn is an excellent bed and breakfast in Berkeley, not far from the UC campus. It has a charming series of buildings with nicely decorated rooms that have many amenities. The breakfast is ample and delicious. Great staff and service. This is an excellent choice for a place to stay in Berkeley.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizPolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-1131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing