We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our home away from home.”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsboro, Alabama
1 review
“our home away from home.”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for our visit to see out daughter and her husband, What a great place to stay. The staff was incredible and the breakfast was a delight. No "deluxe hot breakfast" from the chains can compare. I have recommended this hotel to my friends and several have taken my word for it as great.

Will definately stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    116
    61
    48
    50
See reviews for
85
109
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2010

From the moment I stepped in to the quaint, lovely lobby of the Rose Garden Inn (originally a turn-of-the-century, Victorian mansion) and was greeted with a warm hello, I felt relaxed and welcome. The gentleman at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, checking me in quickly and carrying my bags all the way to my room, which was in an adjacent building. My little porch and window overlooked the most delightful courtyard and brightly blooming gardens. The room itself was cozy and charming, and I even had my own little fireplace!
I cannot say enough good things about this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. From it's great location near UC Berkeley, to it's great staff, (who seem genuinely happy to be there!) to the all you can eat, full complimentary breakfast, (!) I am pleased to say that my stay was one of the best I've ever had, and I will definitely return the next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaDarling51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I have stayed at the rose garden off and on for 8 years for pleasure and business. Staff is always friendly and accommodating. This place is uniquely Berkeley.Rooms are clean. Each room is different,some more spacious than others depending on what you request. some have great views of the bay and san francisco. choice of 4 different houses with a nice garden between buildings where one could sit and read, work or drink wine. walking distance to the university along telegraph street, where one can relieve the 60's. nice breakfast in the morning comes with the room. Its a very comfortable place. If you like to only stay at a Hilton or Raddison this is not for you. Most of the people I have meet here are experienced travelors who want to have a place that is different and homey and gives you the chance to interact with other guests. Dont expect it to be perfect. If it were it would lose some of its charm and wouldnt be Berkeley.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkley06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I came home one evening to find our condo was flooded with an inch of water! We were able to quickly find a room at the Rose Garden Inn in nearby Berkeley. Because of the very last minute reservation and uncertainty of the length of our stay, we did need to change rooms a few times. The staff was so friendly, they even moved our luggage for us, it also gave us a chance to experience the different rooms. Each one seems to have it's own charm and individuality.
We had to stay for several weeks and by the end, the staff at the Rose Garden Inn were our family. It's great to have breakfast waiting for you every morning!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bniess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2010
Very enjoyable place and very helpful and responsive staff

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank California_Grand_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperBerkeleyCA, Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our area.
Kevin Allen
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We loved the grounds, the rooms, all very quaint and charming, also clean and comfortable.
Having a fireplace was extra special. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Fresh baked cookies were a treat in the afternoon. The staff members were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We are planning a return trip in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Our room had a fireplace and since it was Christmas, it was nice to have a place to hang stockings. Everything else was quite disappointing from the lackadaisical cleaning to the splotchy pepto bismal pink paint job and the musty smell. Worst of all, I accidentally left a couple of my favorite tops in a dresser drawer and when I called to ask them to hold them for me about 1 hour later, no longer, I was told in a very rude fashion that the maid who cleaned the room said there was nothing left behind and that I was insinuating that the staff were dishonest and I was a racist!

Did I mention that it is waaaay overpriced?

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiffsterPoitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperBerkeleyCA, Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Rose Garden Inn. I'd like to address a some of your comments. With regard to the pink - not my favorite color either. However - we strive to use color palates appropriate to our vintage buildings - and to my dismay - pink is a very Victorian color. However - we did repaint the rooms in a more suttle pink in 2010.
Regarding your missing items - I my apologies for any inconsideration from my staff. There have been staffing changes since this time - and I am sure you would have nothing but enjoyable interations with the present staff. We are constantly getting compliments on the responsiveness and friendliness of our Front Desk Staff.
Fond Regards,
Kevin Allen, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-1131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing