We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay; great ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
new york
1 review
“Wonderful stay; great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

My stay at the Rose Garden Inn quite delightful. The hotel resembles a collection of upscale bed and breakfasts. I loved the victorian themes, the antique dolls, and the window seats with multiple pillows and cushions. The location is quite convenient, there is parking at the hotel, the breakfast was fine, the people were gracious and helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Liked — the location, the privacy and the decor
  • Disliked — The stairs! Also, at my age, i would appreciate a grab-bar in the bathroom tub area.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank westernerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    107
    55
    45
    47
See reviews for
75
102
37
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Franciso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

The Rose Garden Inn was very disappointing. The facilities consist of four different buildings of different styles built at different times and connected in a hodgepodge way. It appears that amateurs designed and built the grounds of this complex. In addition, the place feels old and not very well maintained.

The room that we stayed in was small and made smaller by a table and two chairs that were unnecessary. And ironing board and iron were attached by a metal rack to the wall right in the bedroom. A painting was hung behind the TV on the dresser. The standard innkeepers legal notice was posted on living room wall, not on the back of the door as it usually is. The sink was stuck in a corner with no cabinet under it, just a hanging cloth. Part of the shower fixtures were missing. In general, the of the workmanship of the room was poor. Switch plates were partially painted over, part of the sink top was painted, and when someone repainted the walls, there were parts that the paint didn't fully cover.

All in all, it felt like someone really didn't care about the place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The whole thing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJS-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

Coming from halfway across the world, Malaysia, we had no idea what hotels were available in the Berkeley area. The only source available were through the internet.

My wife found RGI through the net, immediately booked a room and later informed me. Her reasons - it has a lot of roses and flowersand it looked so romantic. I was apprehensive initially but decided to go ahead since she had already made a reservation.

We arrived much later than we anticipated due to flight delays and others, only managing to arrive at about 1 am. However, the innkeeper was extremely friendly and helpful and that made us feel very welcomed.

We stayed there at the Garden 06 building for almost 10 days and all I can say is - I will definately come again. The staff were courteous and helpful, the place was kept clean all the time, the roses were in full bloom and the breakfast was wholesome.

No matter what the negative comments are about the RGI, (I guess there will always be 2 sides to a coin), do come and experience it. If it doesn't come up to your expectation, you can always check out the next day.

As for me and my wife, thanks for a wonderful experience and keep up the good work.

  • Liked — The ambiance, environment, lacation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aharrishamidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

Our room (garden, 3) was large enough to sleep in, but no more; in bad weather, or with the garden and public rooms of the inn occupied by a function, we'd have disliked it as cramped and dark. The bed was good; the electrical outlets numerous; the internet connection excellent. The bathroom was semi-functional, with a slow bathtub drain (a pet peeve) but good water pressure and abundant hot water. We had no effective access to more than our room, as -- see above -- the garden and public rooms had been rented out for a party, with drunken women shrilling and men guffawing until 2300. If such uses of those spaces are frequent, a longer stay might be one vexation after another.

The property is, we thought, a series of carelessly knocked-together houses. The largest and grandest holds the lounge and reception desk; rooms have been carved from those to either side and behind. If ours is typical, they haven't been best fitted-out or maintained. The decor - well, as another reviewer wrote, "It would have made a blind granny weep", and in the bathroom rotted doorjambs and baseboards where water must have stood made us feel that maintenance is not the owners' first priority.

Breakfast was a very bright spot, with cereals, pastries, breads plain and fancy, good coffee, scrambled eggs in a bain-marie, and, under heat lamps, excellent roast potatoes with good sausage and crispy bacon. That experience permitted us to tick the grade here up from * to ** -- yes, we thought about ***, but, unfortunately, more is wrong with this place than is right.

You're not spoilt for choice if you want to stay in Berkeley without using a car. The innkeepers at the Rose Garden Inn know this, it seems. So their place is far from top-drawer? Meh. Where else, the condition of the inn, with its perceived deficiencies, shrugs in response, are you going to go?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room condition
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Koermendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

Did not expect much from other negative reviews. We were pleasantly surprised by the Inn. First of all, the staff was very friendly and helpful. That made the shortcomings of the Inn quite bearable. An example was when something in the room broke (things seem to be at the end of their life expectancy on the premises), staff was there within minutes to correct the problem. We asked for a quiet room away from the street - nice clean cozy (read: small) room with fireplace, mini-fridge, queen bed, TV, and ceiling fan. It was indeed quiet. Could have used a bit more closet space, but that was no big deal. We thought the lack of A/C would be a problem, but you really don't need it in the Bay Area.
Nice things about the Inn: Free food: Huge buffet breakfast until 10:30AM, 24 hour coffee and tea, great homemade cookies almost all day. I gained over 5 pounds during our stay! Sitting areas inside and out, wrought iron tables and chairs out, sofas in living room area inside. Free use of computer in lobby - you can leave laptop at home - just be prepared to wait your turn.
All in all, a very nice place (pleasantly funky) at a very nice price. Not the Ritz Carlton, but we would return.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Old
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank West46th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

We traveled to Berkeley for Homecoming / Parent's Weekend and choose to stay at the Rose Garden Inn. We booked a Junior Suite for two nights. It was spacious but the floorplan & furnishings left lots to be desired. When entering the room you were met head-on with a large queen bed - literally right when entering the room. There was a half bath - tub & toilet. The sink was in the bedroom area. The furnishings were lacking - in front of the two queen beds there was a coffee table with two desk chairs on either side of the coffee table (no sofa or love-seat). The internet connection was on the night stand between two queen beds. The desk was across the room from the beds and no where near the internet connection. The room did have a vaulted ceiling, ceiling fan, fireplace, small refrig and microwave. The room did not have enough lighting - it felt very dark and a bit dingy. The floral landscaping on the property was nice but the concrete work throughout was very amateurish with uneven stairs, awkward handicap ramps, juvenile murals on concrete block walls. The entire property had a "thrown together" type look. The property has so much potential with 5 unique homes it is a shame that it does not come together. We did enjoy the hot breakfast and the staff was helpful. We will not be returning to the Rose Garden Inn on our next visit to Cal.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchFryDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

I had read some of the other reviews and was somewhat concerned. But a friend highly recommended the hotel, so I gave it a try. I would say I'm glad I did. The hotel grounds are very pretty. When I entered the hotel, I was warmly greeted by the staff. There is a definite warm and cozy feeling throughout the hotel. My room was very nice. The breakfast was excellent with lots of different choices and hugely appreciated by me during my busy trip. The hotel is centrally located and is walking distance to UC Berkeley where I needed to go each day.
I would definitely return to stay here.

  • Liked — Service from staff and breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Triptaker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-1131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing