We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its prime”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Rose Garden Inn's website made this property look quite appealing, and we were drawn as well by very reasonable rates. The property is, sadly, past its prime. Our very cramped queen fireplace room was so small that one could hardly turn around; the space seemed even smaller because of the dark color of the walls. The bathroom was thirty years out of date. The landscaping was one saving grace--lots of gardens with lots of flowering trees and plants that made the exterior spaces quite pleasant. And the breakfast was ample and straightforward--scrambled eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes (the latter disappointingly cold), juices, breads. Still, given the quality of the room itself, I doubt if we'll return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 391 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Unique hotel made up from old buildings clustered around a beautiful, flowering garden. Still, the buildings (and rooms) have been maintained beautifully. Room 206 has a king bed, and two "day beds" that would work perfectly for a family. The front desk employees are wonderful. They helped us with cabs, checking in early (to dress for a wedding) all in a cheerful and helpful manner. The breakfast is hearty and fresh. The scrambled eggs were actually from real eggs; not a packaged version.
You will enjoy being part of the old Berkeley in this great hotel. You can see the campus down Telegraph, and you are near restaurants. There is room service from an outside vendor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJLC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

beautiful victorian with unique interior and varying rooms. Easy to walk downtown, to nearby flea market and to train station (where I caught a train to go to an Oakland A's game; stadium across the street from station). Funky, throwback (meant as compliment) neighborhood to walk around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have been to Berkeley numerous times and stayed in many of the hotels. I did not know this place existed. My son and daughter-in-law live within a block and never realized it was here. So, tucked into a square block of a central Berkley neighborhood is this quirky little gem. My assessment is based on my room which was one of the "best" and I did not see any other rooms. I had a great view to the Golden Gate and S F. From my private balcony. My room was fine, in a Victorian converted building. The bed was comfortable (however, I would prefer a larger bed if I was sharing with someone, which I was not on this trip). The WiFi was free and adequately fast. Breakfast was included and plentiful. The price was reasonable and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor view was worth having (room 309)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeannieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel advertises itself as a B&B, and architecturally I suppose it is (made up out of converted older houses) but it really runs more like a hotel, which I prefer. E.g the rooms are separated, and everyone has their own bath. You can check in at any hour if your flight gets in late; etc.

The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast is good and includes eggs, sausage, bacon, etc; not just continental breakfast with cold cereal and croissants like some places. I do wish it were available earlier than 7:00 AM though. That may not matter to you, but I'm an early riser. Unlike most hotels, the free Internet works reliably and is reasonably fast.

It is not convenient (walking distance) to either BART or San Francisco, but if you want to be in Berkeley itself, this is a great place to stay and my first choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was visiting Berkeley friends and wished to be nearby. It is a series of older homes made into a homey Inn. I would return anytime I am in the area. Excellent location with Nice clean rooms, and a pretty good breakfast.

Room Tip: Call ahead for reservation. Reasonable rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is charming! The lobby and eating areas have a fireplace and it has a cozy feel to it. If you are looking for luxury you might go elsewhere. Although it could definitely use some refurbishing the staff is great and the breakfast amazing. The price is right and this is our place of choice to stay when visiting family in Berkeley.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bklvrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.9 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,360 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-1131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $91 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing