We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay even better!”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was my second stay at the Rose Garden in two years. I cannot say enough about the charm, the huge breakfast layout, and the wonderfully helpful staff, most of all the manager who, although I never actually saw him do it, must be able to walk on water. He coordinated educational rates for a class I was in, and was most attentive to the requests of our group. But all of the staff goes out of their way to answer questions and supply assistance. And they know everything about the area: locations, closing times, recommendations for what kinds of food, etc. Not to slight the accommodations, totally unique and lovely. A thoroughly satisfying and delightful return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnitterwithSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 394 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

Fabulous B&B. Within walking distance, 5 minutes, of the Telegraph Hill shops and restaurants. Very cozy, nice seating area/lobby with fireplace, beautiful garden, great breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly. Our appreciation to manager Alan Delgado for his kindness and efficiency. When in Berkeley we'll either stay with friends or at the Rose Garden Inn.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenglish75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Dear Kevin, Alan, Jamie and James,
On behalf of our entire Tel Aviv - Berkeley group, I would like to thank you for being so considerate and helpful during our stay at the Rose Garden Inn this past month. From the beautiful gardens of the hotel, the cozy and homey rooms, the best breakfast in town (!) and the friendliest personnel, we really enjoyed our stay at the Rose Garden Inn in particular :), and at Berkeley in general.
I hope to come back to the lovely Bay Area again and stop by your inn.
Thanks again for everything!

Respectfully,

Ester Dediashvili
Tel Aviv - UC Berkeley Executive Program in Commercial Law

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I stayed in this B&B after reading mixed reviews, with much hesitancy. My experience was a good one. The establishment is old and quaint but well taken care of. The staff is pleasant and most helpful. The best part of staying here is definitely the breakfast!!!! The down side of staying here was that my room was directly over the kitchen. The kitchen staff comes in every morning @ 6:30am and they are quite loud. Overall, I would recommend the Rose Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We wanted to find a nice place to stay while visiting family in Berkeley. I found the Rose Garden Inn on the internet. The site explains the history of the property (an old Victorian Estate) which interested me. The location is good. It offers 2 parking lots (free parking) The walkways to the main desk are manicured flowering landscape...including rose bushes. The staff at the check in are friendly and helpful. One of the main buildings is an original victorian estate. Our room was in the building next door. It included victorian decor, a fireplace, tv, mini refrigerator & more. In the morning guests are offered complimentary coffee, tea, pastries, eggs, bacon, cereal, toast & fruit in their dining room. We were pleasantly surprised with the accommmodations, the location AND the room rate was reasonable for all that you get. Did I mention complimentary cookies and a beverage in the late afternoon?

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvintootravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I don't know where to begin. The smell is horrendous and the rooms are filthy. It was hard to convince myself to go to sleep. - The sheets felt grimy and the smell kept me up all night. Unfortunately, it was too last minute to change hotels, so I was stuck. The least I can give them is that they had a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corbs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperBerkeleyCA, Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

I am sorry we dissapointed this guest. I also don't know what smell they are alluding too.

I wish they had contacted the Front Desk regarding their concerns. We are always willing to try to find a room that better suits and individuals needs. With 5 buildings and 13 different styles of rooms I am sure we could have found a room to satisfy them.

I do want to assure potential guests, however, that our rooms meet a high standard of cleanliness - and if for any reason you are dissappointed with your room - please give us the opportunity to make you happy.

Kevin Allen
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I enjoyed my one-night stay very much. My room was very small and the entire hotel feels old and generally not upscale, though well maintained. These things didn't bother me but travelers should be aware.

The neighborhood is not bad for Berkeley and a locked gate surrounds the grounds, so it feels very safe. There's a very nice patio garden area on the grounds. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. It feels a bit like a large bed and breakfast, like a converted home. I had the smallest room available, which was fine for me. My bed was comfortable and my room was quiet. The bathroom was more modern than the rest of the room, with a marble tiled bathtub-shower. Tube TV with average station selection.

Cookies were available at evening check-in. A fire was lit in the lobby at breakfast--very cozy. Complimentary buffet breakfast included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, pastries, coffee & juice. Free internet and free parking are included, though the parking lot is small--I arrived late and had to park on the street, which was not problematic for me. I booked directly with the inn and saved $13 over the hotel.com & orbitz price.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benlegato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.9 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-1131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $116 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing