We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not my favorite”
Review of Gioia Pizzeria

Gioia Pizzeria
Ranked #69 of 709 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
california
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not my favorite”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

i've wanted to like gioia, which has a large following. it's not terrible by any means, but i only enjoy their plain. the vegetarian toppings never seem to harmonize, and meat toppings are quite salty. the crust is slightly thicker than i prefer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank osojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good pizza in the neighborhood.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gioia Pizzeria offers tasty fairly thin crusted pizza. You can buy by the slice or get a full pie. They offer a wide range of toppings. It's always busy in there, but they keep things moving efficiently.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tied for first as Berkeley's best pizza”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Gioia Pizza and The Cheeseboard make the best thin crust pizza in Berkeley. Of course that's a subjective opinion but you won't go wrong at either location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonhowlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding and May Leave You Standing Outside”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Rightly honored as among the very best pizzerias in the East Bay, or perhaps the West Coast, this small and pleasingly fragrant place is a magnet for any innocent passersby. My vacation landlord had recommended the Coffee and Cheese Market nearby, and after shopping there my nose led me right into Gioia. Although they prepare and serve a variety of pizzas topped by meats, my preference is for vegetarian pizzas. Happily, as I arrived a zucchini and mozzeralla pizza was just leaving the oven and making its way to the counter. I ordered a slice and a local sarsaparilla beverage to go with it. Standing room only inside, I occupied a bench on the sidewalk--attracting envious stares from people walking by who seemed to have urgent business elsewhere. The thin crust, the good quality cheese put on the pie in plenty, and the lowly zucchini were a formidible combination. Refreshed and strengthened, I continued my shopping, only now with a slightly oily smile glistening on my very happy face.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bokononer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“For thin crust fans”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I was visiting a local and we had been shopping at the Monterrey Market and she suggested stopping off for a slice of pizza before driving back up in to the Berkeley Hills. Her parking karma had gotten us a space right in front of the place so after depositing the groceries in the car we joined the line. There was a 10 minute wait for her favorite - mushroom - so we both decided to go for the special of the day - a prosciutto with red onions, parsley and provolone. It had just come out of the oven so after it was placed on a paper plate and we added a bit of salt and cheese, we retreated to the bench outside to enjoy. And that we did. I have only recently been converted to thin crust - I'm originally from Chicago - and this was THIN. My slice was a bit oily but, again, I like it that way. I had a sasparilla for my drink - they have three or four other "standard" fountain drinks and a homemade lemonade. There are only five or six counter places to eat so this is NOT a place to take a date. The business is almost 100% slices and whole pies. This being Berkeley there is a strong emphasis or ogranicness if that's a word.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioia Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Gioia Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing