We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BIG changes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of T-Rex Barbeque

T-Rex Barbeque
Ranked #476 of 695 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Gilman Street
El Cerrito, CA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“BIG changes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Since our last dismal visit a couple of years ago, I was almost reluctant to try again, this time for dinner with 6 of us. Wow, has this changed! Although the food is no longer as refined, it is now a great place to take kids or a group. The servings are huge, and the prices have remained about the same, making it a good choice for a group that wants to share dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sewkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    36
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“For the complete barbecue experience, try it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Oakland, CA
3.0 star rating 4/7/2013 Seated via OpenTable
We wanted to try this restaurant because my husband wanted to buy a gift card for his employee as her initials are T Rex and so we came here to try the barbecue food. We ordered the limeade and lemonade for drinks with little ice but they gave us alot of ice but later gave us replacements and didn't charge us for the drinks because we had to wait a long time to get the replacements. Service was excellent. We ordered the three way and ordered the baby back ribs, pulled pork and beef brisket. Pork and ribs were alittle dry but brisket was tasty. We noticed they have a bbq buffet on the 2nd Wednesday of every month

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWong55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun place for a martini and some barbecue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just a great, lively place to hang out and relax. Food is very good and bar is just what you might like. Very good spot for after CAL events but a 12 minute drive from campus.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleeenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A vegetarian feast in a barbecue heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

As a vegetarian I was reticent to accompany my friends to this excellent barbecue restaurant but I was very pleasantly surprised. The Brussels sprouts and chard dishes were excellent-so tasty! You just have to request no bacon when you order.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sithaeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The burger is similar to what Barney's has to offer, however, it is smaller with less veggies. Place is casual and neat with ample seating in the two levels. A bit pricier than Barney's--for what you get. Service is better at Barney's.

Helpful?
Thank TC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Rex Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to T-Rex Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing