We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

From the time we arrived until the time we left, the staff was impecable. They were very kind and professional and knew the area well. This was our first time to the area and they were able to provide great feedback on what sites to take in while there. We were within walking distance of the UC Berkeley campus along with plenty of shopping and dining. The BART station was just across the street as well so it was a very convenient and inexpensive to head into San Francisco for the day as well. Great location, great rooms, great property -- we will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinman026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    433
    129
    62
    27
See reviews for
307
292
125
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The Shattuck Plaza is a lovely hotel with friendly service and gorgeous, recently update old-world decor. I booked the room online based on the reviews and the website. However, on our arrival from the airport (after flying in from out-of-state), we were dismayed to find absolutely no parking at the hotel entrance, and no valet parking. We had to pull up on the sidewalk nearby and dash in to register, where we were told that we might be ticketed if we left our car outside for a few minutes. At this price, we would expect valet parking or a better welcome. We were told to park in a garage down the block, which we had to do, as there were no parking spaces to be found anywhere near.
That said, the hotel staff were friendly and the hotel decor and ambience quite nice. Our room was well-appointed in a modern and deluxe style. Our only other complaints were noise and problems with air conditioning. We were awoken by loud street noises, music, and shouting in the early morning hours on the street below. The room's air conditioning did not work well and the room became stuffy and hot both nights, despite the fact that the outside air temperature was in the 50s.
The restaurant ("5") in the hotel served an excellent breakfast, and we also had a fine dinner, although the menu choices were a bit limited. For entertainment, the hotel is near the UCBerkeley campus and lots of shops and restaurants. We attended the Berkeley Opera just north of Berkeley, and had a great experience there.
We'd recommend this hotel to those who want an in-city stay and don't mind a bit of noise and lack of parking.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biblioteca4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valencia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

From the moment we stepped into the beautiful lobby we were treated to outstanding customer service and made as welcome as I have ever felt at a hotel. Every member of the staff demonstrated an amazing commitment to customer service. The hotel is classy and extremely well maintained. Our rooms were comfortable and very clean. The cuisine at Five was excellent. I cannot say enough about the Hotel Shattuck Plaza and I am so very happy to have stayed with them for the weekend. There is only one place that I will ever stay in Berkeley—The Shattuck Plaza!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markleeville, Calif.
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2010

I have not been to Berkeley since the 60's and was beyond charmed and enchanted as we walked up University, touring the campus and surrounding neighborhood, to Telegraph and back down Durant to the Plaza. There are many marvelous restaurants to enjoy and aroma of good food mixed with the eucaliptus trees and fresh rain was almost an overload of pleasure. When we returned to the Hotel, we had a wonderful drink at the bar and observed the easy feeling of this beautifully remodeled remnant of the glory days. We will be back. I think staying in Berkeley and taking BART to S.F. rather than staying in the city, would be the way to go...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fillmoreavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Shattuck for 4 days and had a wonderful experience. The front desk was very helpful, greeting began as soon as we walked through the door. The room was comfortable and the meal we had one night very good. Service was very good as well. Parking is an issue, but we were told of that when booking and again at check in. Berkeley is a walkable city, and Shattuck is the main street. Plenty within walking distance, as well as the BART being at the corner!
Had a good discount for "2 pms pay, then 1 pm free" on Cheaptickets - so make sure you check and continue to check as specials come up.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHKRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed here one night on a layover in Berkeley. Our stay was perfect. The hotel was renovated in 2009 and shows it: decor is elegant but trendy, room and common areas were spotless. Room faced out on Allston Way and was very quiet. Enjoyed lunch and breakfast in the restaurant; both were excellent meals. Staff at front desk were extremely helpful, especially in assisting us with online check-in for our departing flight. Free wi-fi in the room but signal on 5th floor wasn't very strong. We did not have a car so parking was not an issue. Enjoyed being so close to good Berkeley restaurant and the BART station in the next block. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieandzoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I travel often for business and need the valet service or at least attached parking lot. This is not available at this hotel. You need to park at a public lot across the street which locks (unable to enter or leave Mid. - 6am) Never informed of this. When I entered the hotel and asked the front desk check in girl she rudely informed me to park across the street. No offer to help with bags or anything. Thankfully for her the gentlemen sitting at the desk to my right noticed her attitude and my astinishment at this and offered his help with the luggage and checking in while I parked the car. Over all the room was clean and nice, The service was truly cold (except where I stated) and below average.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiotechCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
771 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing