We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and elegant place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Elko NV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and elegant place to stay.”
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We were welcomed in a friendly and professional manner; especially the bellman whose outstanding service with helping us in parking and getting the bags to room.
Very clean room and very confortable. Loved the decor.
All requests were delivered in a timely manner.
We would definitely stay in the hotel again when visiting Berkeley.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    423
    126
    60
    26
See reviews for
300
287
124
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
So. California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The hotel has been refurbished beautifully. The rooms, hallways and public spaces are sparkingly clean and tastefully decorated. Even though the hotel is located on a busy main street, you do not notice it at all. The staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating. The attached bar and restaurant were also excellent and I would not have hesitated to meet clients there. Parking is easy, with a large well-lighted public facility right across the street. The university is just one block away. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dashabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Recent stay at the newly renovated accomodations. The place is very comfortable. Small quaint hotel feeling with well appointed room. The room I stayed in was not large but it was comfortable. The walk-in closet was great.
The restaurant in the lobby is unbelieveable. 5 star meal at great prices.
The hotel is right across from one of the entrances to U of Calif. Berkeley campus and a BART station.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HearDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza two nights and really enjoyed the stay. I had a king bedded room, it was a good size but I can see how some people might feel it was a bit small for two people. The room was very clean, nice decor, great bathroom amenities. The bathroom was a bit small but nicely set up...the only downside was that it had a sliding glass door that was frosted. If you are traveling with someone other than a significant other this may be a bit awkward since you could see shapes pretty clearly through the glass. The sliding door did not seem to provide any privacy from a sound or sight perspective. The bed and bedding were plush and comfortable. Staff was pleasant at check in/check out and throughout my stay when I had questions. As other reviews indicate, another negative was the thin walls. I stayed Sunday and Monday nights which were relatively quiet but on a busy night or weekend, I can imagine the noise could be a big deal. Good location for a visit to UC Berkeley and very close to the bart station.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mksimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

FINALLY. Somebody figured it out: Berkeley needed a hotel that was clean, great location, had a nice restaurant, is quiet, and at a reasonable price. The new management/owners of Hotel Shattuck Plaza did JUST that.

Before the new management came in, this place was known as a 2 - 3 star hotel. Now, well, just look at my ratings. This place rocks.

I really can't recommend this place enough.

The service is outstanding. Kudos to all the employees here as well as the management. From the front desk (you are all so professional -- wow) to the servers at the 5 restaurant to the housekeepers -- it's all done impeccably. You all make staying away from home a special experience. (Not quite sure about some of the neg reviews -- is this the same hotel we're talking about?)

Rooms: The rooms are appropriately appointed, perfect size, new everything. Great comfortable king size beds, flat screen HD TV, baseboard/crown moulding, beautiful bathrooms, walk-in closet, everything a business traveler or personal traveler could want or need.

Location: Located on Shattuck Avenue, this hotel is 4 minute walk to the edge of the west side of Berkeley's campus. It's a great location for being close to various restaurants, campus, etc. I've stayed in B&B's in Berkeley, and although those are great locations, they tend to be in the hills, away from the center of Berkeley, and as such, require a car and/or bus ride.

Parking: If you are familiar w/ the area, you know parking in Berkeley is a pretty bad.
You can figure to pay about $15-$20 per day in a parking structure right across from the hotel. Welcome to the Bay Area! San Francisco is quite similar. Suggestion to avoid bringing a car, if possible, and since this is steps from the BART station, it is a very, very convenient location.

Restaurant/Bar: Great bar with a beautiful lobby. This was featured in Budget Travel -- but the pictures do not give it justice. Absolute class and classy people. No riff-raff here, lots of people who look like they aren't exactly scrimping for change....Bar prices are your standard San Fran prices: $5-14 for a glass of wine. I went to the restaurant for breakfast: amazing. Spinach omellette w/ amazingly tasty potatoes. A real treat.

Oh yeah, did I mention complimentary WI-FI in the room? A must for the business traveler.

I could go on, but the point is: this place has hit the spot. You get all of the above at a very, very reasonable price. I would hands down recommend this place....no, you MUST come here. Mark my word: this place IS the new hot spot in Berkeley and will do exceedingly well if they continue to do what they are doing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Extremely well located; young (perhaps hip) but very professional staff. My room overlooked air conditioners, so opening the window wasn't practical, but it also overlooked the Bay in the distance, which I enjoyed. Good breakfasts. Sufficient desk space and lighting to work. Comfortable bed. Overall, very nice design--easy on the eye and easy to use.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taipeip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My sister & I stayed here on a weekend trip to Berkeley to see "American Idiot: the Musical" at the Berkeley Rep. Having read mixed reviews of the hotel, I was skeptical. We were both unfamilier with Berkeley & the Bay Area in general. The hotel is located a stone's throw from the downtown BART station - and just a few blocks from the theatre. It's centrally located amidst several options for entertainment: movies, music, lunch, dinner, drinks, dancing, shopping, etc. This was why we chose to stay here.
Upon arrival, the well dressed & incredibly charming doormen set the tone for our stay. The hotel clerks were extremly friendly, helpful & attentive. Our room was facing Shattuck Avenue, so I was worried about the noise, which turned out to be minimal & didn't bother me at all once I felt the comfortable sheets & drifted away into a great night's sleep on the even more comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean & modern, as was the room. We were both very impressed & felt safe in the hotel & in the area. Our check out was just as easy & friendly as our check in. We did not eat at the restaurant, but it was always busy & seemed very popular. I did think that the menu was rather pricey, but quickly learned that it was somewhat on par with the other restaurants in the area. We were able to walk everywhere. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to see a show at the Rep (American Idiot was SO good that we saw it twice, by the way) or visiting the University, which is just a quick jaunt up the hill. If I am ever back in Berkeley, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LightsOutLeprecaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing