We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location, friendly service”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Kayla at the front desk was awesome! She definitely exceeded expectations and we appreciated her taking the time to tell us about downtown and show us a local map. We always like to check out the town so her recommendations and advice was really helpful. We enjoyed Five bar, great food and cocktails. Room was perfect, clean and nicely set up. The Kuerig coffee maker in the room was my favorite part. We will definitely stay at Shattuck Plazza next time!

Room Tip: great view of the bay and across from 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Matt D,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent experience with our guest rooms and your dining experience in FIVE Restaurant & Bar. We are especially excited that one of our team members made a remarkable impression upon your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    440
    131
    62
    27
See reviews for
312
295
128
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Cool boutique hotel! Everything about it is really neat. The furniture in the lobby, the wallpaper in the hallways, the restaurant and bar (bartender made a really good Old Fashion for me).

The rooms were a little small, but everything seemed new and upgraded! The beds were comfortable and we had a great night sleep. Even our 1 year old slept very well and that rarely happens.

My wife is a CAL alum so we will definitely be making our way back here.

Other things you should know:

They have no parking, you have to use one of the lots near the hotel. There is one across the street on Allston.

They don't have Valet, but make sure you drop off all your luggage at the lobby before you park.There is a drop off area near the entrance on Allston Way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Jason J,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that your child had a peaceful rest, too. Your comments help us know what we are doing well and where we have opportunity, but also provides valuable insight for others considering a stay in the Bay Area.

We look forward to welcoming you back when visiting the area or the campus.

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Three good nights sleep in an attractive and functional room. Big walk-in closet, roomy bathroom, comfortable bed, big windows, little to no noise. Upbeat, trendy decor. A lively, cheerful lobby, but the upstairs hallway was quiet. Everything worked, easy to check in, easy to check out, no problems.

A block from BART, two blocks from the Berkeley Rep, a few blocks from the bustling U district with endless food choices. Didn't try the hotel restaurant, but had an excellent chicken caesar salad and wine dinner at Build Pizza a block away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llanepdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Two nights in Feb 2014, business trip. Excellent location for visiting UCBerkeley, the location really can't be beat. Steps away from BART station, so getting from/to SFO was a breeze. Rooms a tad small although comfy, inviting, and clean; and the gym was a bit underwhelming. Tiny bathroom (only shower, no bath); unusual and memorable shower amenities / soaps / creams. Lovely breakfast downstairs with classy, courteous service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldperksForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I read the other reviews and agree with them. This is a very nice hotel and has some wonderful features. Now for a word of caution about an unusual quirk.

We booked our hotel online through one one of the hotel/airline sights - I think Orbitz. When we got to the hotel front desk a portly younger gentleman in a nice suit checked us in. A quiet and nice guy, however when we got to our two rooms on the fifth floor, we found one to be quite large and the other proportionately smaller, as if our room was built smaller to provide a bigger room next door. The room with two of us in it got the smaller room, the single person got the larger one. We thought about exchanging rooms between us but we had already started unpacking when we saw each others room and it was only for one night.

Now, here was the surprise. Both rooms had double beds; not Queen or King size, but short doubles. We didn't think much about it until bedtime, hours later. Since the two of us in the one room are 6' tall, under the very nice covers, our feet hung out over the end of the bed! And the mattress sagged in the middle. The other person in the other room is about 5'6" and she had problems with the bed being short also!

Now, back to the front desk; you would have thought the check - in person would have seen our size and perhaps suggested a different room arrangement, no? And, giving us two the smaller room to boot?

The next morning when we checked out we mentioned this to the check out person. She asked several questions, then said only 10 rooms in the hotel had double beds and we probably got those because we made our reservation online through a hotel website, which we did. And, we could have upgraded our room if we didn't like it. She said to call the hotel directly next time. So if we get a room cheaper online, does that mean we take a chance when it comes to bed size? Next time we will contact both the hotel and the website for a comparison I guess. Would we stay here again? From reading other reviews, stay away from rooms next to the elevators, rooms facing the main street ( because of noise) and rooms with small beds. Otherwise it seemed like a very nice hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear PBL,

We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you generally enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the misinformation regarding your room. We have only two bed types, King or Full size. These are typically indicated in our room descriptions like Superior King room or Business Class one Double Bed room. There are about 17 of these rooms and they are the most economical with regards to rate (about $10-20 less than a Deluxe King Bed room). The room size can vary due to the existing room layout, but in general the are on the smaller size. We do like it when you contact us directly as it helps us to know your preferences better, but as for making the room through on online site versus direct with the hotel, that has no bearing on the size of your room. The only thing is the room type that you reserved.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, CT
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for four days for a wedding and was more than satisfied. The location is ideal--in the heart of the city--near countless restaurants, shops, theaters,and across the street from the BART station, a few blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and a few more blocks from the gourmet ghetto. The rooms are small but nicely appointed--ours had a view of the bay, Alcatraz, the San Francisco skyline, and the Golden Gate bridge (ask for a room on the top floor, and also ask for one in the rear if you are a light sleeper so you can avoid the street noise). The staff were friendly and helpful. The exercise room is fairly small but usable--two treadmills, an elliptical and some free weights, and if you need more they can arrange for you to use the nearby Y.All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are much quieter than those which overlook the street, and if you ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v0yageur22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear v0yageur22,

Thank you for sharing about your experience while here for a wedding. I am glad that you were able to enjoy most of what the Bay Area has to offer using us as your home base. We are fortunate to have one of the best YMCA’s across from the hotel and that our guests can experience their great facilities.

We hope to welcome you back again and may all your travels be amazing!

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Recently had a nice three-night stay at this boutique hotel in Berkeley. The location is very convenient, right on Shattuck, with lots of stores, restaurants, shops nearby. Can get a bit noisy at night, so if you are sensitive to noise, ask for a high floor and/or rear-facing room. Lobby is very nice looking, with a big bar and restaurant (Five - food quite tasty). Rooms felt updated and quite nice. We had a handicap-accessible room, so I'm not sure if the other rooms were similar in layout. Our room did have plenty of space, though. Service was professional and polite. Would be happy to stay here again if in Berkeley.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodydavis617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing