We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel centrally located in Berkeley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was in Berkeley with my son this weekend for Cal student orientation. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Had some issues with reservations (Cal's fault, not hotel's) and the staff was very accommodating. Because we did not have a car the location was perfect to get to the campus and around town. Also, the A/C was quite refreshing as the area was experiencing an unusual heat wave. We met the manager, Greg, and I commented that I thought it was great that he took the time to write back on people's comments. We are staying there again for move in day and I am really glad that I made the reservation early.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Everything great. Lovely spacious room, excellent bedding, perfect location. Happy and friendly hotel. Breakfast was fabulous - the pancakes are amazing. Room service also excellent. We were sorry to leave this hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 396dympna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wonderful staff and wonderful rooms. The common areas were also so pleasing also. I love the central location, close to it all. absolutely loved that the hotel is less than a minute away from the BART (underground train) , made getting to the airport soooo easy !!I will for sure make this hotel my home next time I am in Berkeley ! I

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear BCTraveller888,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. We are thrilled to know that we will be your home the next time your travels bring you our way.

Until then, safe travels!

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent location, access to all transport. Hotel staff very accommodating and friendly. Food very good and value for money. Room definitely the state of art, bed very comfortable king size. Bathroom very roomy. Stayed 6 nights on the 3rd floor facing the back. Overall very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliitasi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Aliitasi S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your near week long experience while a guest at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza. It seems like every opportunity from your dining experience at FIVE to your guestroom experience and your interactions with our team was to your satisfaction. We are honored to have offered such a compelling experience for your first review on trip advisor. We wish you all the best in your travels and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the great reviews I saw online. Not only was I not disappointed, but my expectations were exceeded. The rooms are state of the art. Beds are super comfortable, shower is great, they even have a high quality blow dryer. I slept great here, and that is what matters most. Food was excellent. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, esp. Josh and Sheila. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I don't know, just ask the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Karen C,

We love feedback and are delighted that you had such a memorable experience, especially after reading all the other reviews by fellow travelers. We look forward to your future stays and hope that all your travels are great experiences!

Best,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for those who do not have a car. It is literally across the street from the BART stop and is super easy to find. The hotel staff was nice and accommodating. The lobby is somewhat small and seemed even smaller due to massive reconstruction happening to restaurant in the facility. The business center is something to be desired. Literally, it's two computers in a small area to the left of the receptionist desk. That being said, if you are planning on visiting Berkeley and want to be close to downtown, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear echoedpeak,

We appreciate your feedback about your recent visit to the Hotel Shattuck Plaza. Convenience to public transportation is one of our attributes and it is the most efficient and economical means of exploring the Bay Area. We are also thrilled that our team was a positive during your visit. I want to take this opportunity to share that we are currently exploring options to expand our business center and we are pleased that our updates to FIVE are complete. We hope you had the opportunity to enjoy the “pop-up” restaurant we created in the Crystal Room.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during CalSo (freshman orientation at Cal). The school cancelled parents' accommodation last minute due to residence hall needing renovation, I had to book a nearby hotel quickly.

I am glad we came here as the hotel is quite comfortable. We had a 5th floor room facing the back, it was very quiet, there was no street noise at all. The room is on the small side, but the king size bed is big and comfy. We did not watch TV much, it is a pretty small TV with OK picture quality.

The bathroom is small too, only one person can fit in and the sliding door does not lock. The shower is big and the water pressure is great. The bathroom is very nicely decorated, the sink is a basin and the shower has marble wall.

If you have to spend a lot of time in the room, this hotel's rooms would feel too cramped. But since we only slept there and spent the day on campus, it was not a problem.

The area is very urban, full of life any time of the day. We saw a demonstration, homeless folks on every corner, and a couple of people who are obviously mentally ill.

Overall very nice stay and I would come back again. We parked in the Kitterage parking garage, $20 for two days, better than campus parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear LynnBert,

We are glad that we could be your alternate lodging choice at the last minute when the dorms were under renovations during Cal Student Orientation. Over the past 4 years, since our major renovation, we have had the opportunity to meet many families as they repeatedly stay with us as they come to visit. We hope we will continue to see you over the months and years.

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
804 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#13 of 20 in Berkeley
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $187 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing