We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Berkeley Rodeway Inn(Berkeley)(Great Value!)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
$186
$180
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marina Inn(Berkeley)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,490)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveler rating
717
498
168
72
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
717
498
168
72
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbart stationpeace signdowntown berkeleyparking garagestreet noisecounter spacekey cardboutique hotelhomeless peopletwo blockssan franciscochez panissedefinitely stay here againbathroom doorcomfortable roomsquiet roomlocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
1,014 - 1,019 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family stayed here on a recent trip to visit and learn more about Cal as a potential college choice for our daughter. While we had considered other hotels such as the iconic Claremont on the hill - we decided to try a hotel downtown so that we could experience more of the Berkeley 'vibe'. We were so glad that we chose the Shattuck Plaza.

The hotel lobby is clean, inviting and historic. We arrived early in the day - and a room was not yet ready, but the staff gladly took our bags to store them for later in the day. We toured the campus on a beautiful sunny day - and by 2:00PM I received a call from the hotel letting us know that our room was ready for check-in at our convenience. Very nice service!

The room was big, clean and well-decorated. Our room was on the 5th floor which provided us with the ability to leave our window open all day/night without too much noise from the street below. We had absolutely no issues with the room - and it was clear that the entire hotel had undergone a meticulous renovation within recent years. Even the stairs in the emergency firewell were beautifully painted and clean.

Around the hotel are many great restaurants and shops. I would highly recommend a stop at Mike's Ice Cream shop which is right at the base of the hotel. Huge scoops of fantastic ice cream for $1 a scoop! Treat yourself...

We ate breakfast at the hotel. The food was nicely prepared and served. Nothing out of the ordinary, but very well prepared at reasonable hotel breakfast prices. Dining in the hotel restaurant is an elegant experience that everyone should try for a drink, dinner or other meal.

Overall, the Hotel Shattuck delivered on all of the promised and expectations that we had after reading reviews and viewing the website online. Nicely done. We'd stay there again anytime!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view toward the outside of the hotel if you want to experience the sights/sounds of Berkeley.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkSandieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I loved the hotel the minute we entered. I loved the Peace sign in marble in the lobby, I loved the selection of wild wallpaper in the hallways, and the very comfortable room we stayed in. The lobby staff was great and loaned us out umbrellas due to the rain.

Our room was quiet, even though it looked directly on the main street. It's also super close to the Bart station so we didn't really even need a car (although we had one). One thing - I'm 6ft tall and the double bed was a little short for me. But that was okay, I slept diagonal and my daughter had the other bed.

We used this hotel as a home base for college touring. Obviously it's perfect for a Cal visit, but we also drove in to San Francisco, up to Stockton (University of the Pacific) and over to Davis so saw a lot of schools using one hotel.

Room Tip: Room 430 was nice and quiet, even though it was overlooking the main street.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallingfordgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Wallingfordgal,

We love being the hotel for visiting Cal and all that the Bay Area has to offer and are delighted that you thought so, too. Thank you for appreciating the different wall coverings in the corridors. Our designer specially patterned the wall coverings to help guests have a unique experience, know where they are and not get bored with the monotony of a singular pattern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza, home to FIVE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a conference and graduation. It is convenient to the U.C. and other facilities; and a plethora of restaurants. The hotel was clean; and the staff friendly. We drove, but it is very convenient to the BART on Shattuck Ave. (Self-parking is at a facility across the street, and there is a charge for that -- this is common for the bay area.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza several times over the past 4 years of visiting our daughter at Cal. The service is always superb. Rooms are clean and fashionable. Dinner delicious (although my only complaint is the dining room is quite noisy). Location excellent for visiting the campus and the area. You can BART from SFO or park in the garage.
The doormen always friendly, desk clerks couldn't be more helpful.
It is new, clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear MEAK,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are delighted that we have been part of your family’s CAL and Bay Area experience. We have made some improvements to the acoustics in FIVE over the past year and are always working to improve the overall experience of our guests. Many of which is learned through feedback such as yours.

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! As we entered the lobby, we were warmly greeted and given excellent suggestions of where to eat for dinner that night. The rooms were beautifully appointed and the hotel was extremely well-situated (near the BART, UC Berkeley and great restaurants). We would definitely go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Annie F:

We are grateful for your feedback and that we exceeded your expectations. It is humbling to know that you will go out of your way to stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews