We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel Management did nothing about disruptive guests.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Irivine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Management did nothing about disruptive guests.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stood there 2 nights, the first night was ok. But from Saturday to Sunday was absolutely terrible. No one was able to sleep on the 5th floor or on the 3rd floor. Young people screaming, yelling, and having fights in the hallways. More than 10 people in some rooms, teenages riding the elevator up and down all night long. This went on from 9pm till about 4am. Hotel management did absolutely nothing to better the sitiation, they kept making noise and knocking on other guests doors all night long. Extremely noisy with wild paties in the rooms. It is extremely unfortunate that hotel management did nothing to better the situation. Other guests were all very upset to the point where many were considering calling the police because it was out of hand. The hotel is a very nice hotel with very clean comfortable rooms and the resturant is also very nice, but I strongly suggest you ask if there are going to be any frat parties or other parties of any kind the nights you are thinking of staying there, because the hotel does not ask to leave the noisy guests at the risk of losing the quiet guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Paula P.

We regret that you were inconvenienced during one night of your stay by other guests. We agree that this behavior is unacceptable and should not have been allowed to continue. Since this weekend we have retrained all our team in how to respond to such disturbances. I can assure you that what you experienced is not typical at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza and was a surprise to us as well. All the same, please do not hesitate to contact me so that we can discuss your stay further.

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
2086 Allston Way | Berkeley, CA 94704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    390
    111
    54
    23
See reviews for
274
262
118
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Shattuck and had a great time. It is located in downtown Berkeley, right next to the BART station.The staff was nice and friendly, and the room was clean ans quite spacious. We would've definitely stayed a few more nights there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soulhoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed 4 nights for a conference at UCB... Both my husband and I had attended Cal, but did not even realize this hotel was here before! The location is so easy next to the BART station in downtown Berkeley (which of course comes with some homeless folks on Shattuck, but they are everywhere in Berkeley so...) The room was pretty good sized, not huge but not tiny either. The bar and restaurant are really good (pricey, but delicious). Hubby loved the various beers on tap (especially the dark ones), and I had a sample of a bunch of drinks from their specialty menu (yum). Ate breakfast at the hotel every day (ok, spent a lot here, but convenience and friendly staff made it easy for us and our 4 year old daughter). We really enjoyed our stay! Only major drawback is there is no hotel valet or parking, we had to park in a lot (which had strange pricing policies, sometimes for overnight we paid $5, sometimes $7.50, sometimes $12). We faced Shattuck, so the noise level was not too bad except for some emergency vehicle sirens once in a while or some drumming late Friday night, but still not too loud with the windows and drapes shut.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maychang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del mar ca
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Shattuck Plaza for a second time in order to attend an event at the university. The previous stay was two years ago. This time, the room was not as well-tended as before. The carpet was lumpy, creating a tripping hazard. It should be re-stretched. The bathroom had virtually no counter space, yet there was an entirely unused and rather large area in the bathroom that could have been used to install some shelves or a small vanity to accommodate travelers. Also, a hallway door opposite our room's door had a plaque (even in Braille) indicating that it was a stairway down. In fact, when we opened it to descend to the lobby, we discovered that the stairway only went to higher floors! What a savety hazard To the hotel's potential credit, it sent us a questionnaire asking us to provide comments regarding our stay. However, we did so right away, particularly emphasizing the hazards of carpet and stairway sign, as well as service, etc. We received no comment or reply. The reception staff were pleasant enough, but didn't seem as sincerely interested in being helpful as before.

We also ate at the hotel restaurant, FIVE, which is generally highly acclaimed. Afternoon bar food and service were just fine. Dinner for four was less so. It was a chore to get service to order food and wine. Our main server was best at serving up some attitude. Nobody checked re food preparation once put on the table, when we could have reported that some shrimp were undercooked while others were overlooked. There seemed to be a lack of training and a clear idea of efficiency.

All in all, this Shattuck Plaza experience was a bit disappointing as to room, service and dining. That's a shame because the location is great, and because our previous experience tells that all could be well again. However, attention to detail and training have fallen off. We'll have to rethink our hotel choice for our next Berkeley visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delmarduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Delmarduo,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience while a guest at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza. I apologize that I had not responded personally via email sooner as I had earlier today. We value feedback like yours as it is one way we learn what we are doing well and where we have opportunity to improve. Rest assured that since receiving your survey that we have been working on addressing the issues. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will consider the Hotel Shattuck Plaza when you return to the Bay Area.

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Shattuck Plaza for a week in September, and were very glad we chose this hotel (mostly because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor). The room was clean and had all the amenities we could ask for, including coffee machine, free wi-fi and a free bottle of water every day (a very nice touch!). Anything we asked for was delivered very promptly (iron & ironing board, extra blanket) and with a smile. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom has the kind of light that goes on automatically when you enter the room, which is also a nice feature to have at night! The only problem was some noise from the street (no fault of the hotel), but it didn't bother us that much.
We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant twice and enjoyed it both times: good food and excellent service. There are also many many good restaurants in the center of Berkeley within walking distance of the hotel, and we were also able to walk to the "Gourmet Ghetto" in North Berkeley (about 20-30 minutes walking).
Also within walking distance of the hotel is the Berkeley Repertory Theater, where we saw an interesting play, and of course the U. of Cal campus which is 2 blocks away.
All in all we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Berkeley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth13m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed in the Shattuck on business, and have to say I was very satisfied. From the moment I booked, until I checked out, everything was perfect, with one small exception. Will get back to that.

The people at the front desk were very friendly, and helped me out with all questions I had during my stay. A bit "layed-back", but that is possibly the liberal Berkeley charm? I have to commend the guys at the bar; very professional, knowledgeable and entertaining. If you're not a guest of the hotel, be sure to stop by for a drink when in town. Rooms are great, if a bit on the small side, and the beds/pillows were just wonderful. I have never slept so well in a hotel, even being jet-lagged from my flight from Europe. The room was spotless too! Be sure to request a quiet room facing the back of the hotel, or on the top (5th) floor.

Only downside; inadequate water pressure in the shower, something my business partners experienced as well.

I will certainly use the Shattuck Plaza next time I am in Berkeley!

Room Tip: Top floor or facing the back to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We asked for a quiet room. Got on over the physical plant. Moved to a room over Berkeley's main street. We specifically asked if it was quiet. Yes, we were told. No street life after 11 pm. This was as false as can be as troops of homeless camp out in front of the hotel, making noise at all hours. In addition, nearby subway entrance directs train noise directly to front of hotel. Stay away.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. If you must stay here (location would be great were it not for the noise and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.6 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing