We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed here a couple of nights. The staff were really friendly. One of the nice touches was that they didn't shove my bill under the door on the last night. I didn't feel that they were in a hurry to get rid of me, as I do at most hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_the_SBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    413
    126
    57
    26
See reviews for
293
283
124
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
encinitas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Shattuck Hotel is a hidden gem! We were looked after so well by the staff and met the manager Euan who was a top manager at one of London Englands leading hotels. From the top down they care and that is what a boutique hotel is all about. The design and decor of the rooms are fabulous! It is a grand dame with a super face lift. You do not need to go out to eat as they have tremendous service! Rubin our breakfast server was bright and aware of all our wishes after one day. You do not need to eat out ..yes this is a hotel with great food and award winning chef.

Room Tip: tip :book rooms that do not have door to adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEuanTaylor, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your warm comments, it certainly was a pleasure meeting you. Our staff really enjoys being hospitable, we genuinely care and try to recognize the needs of our guests.
I will pass on your appreciation also to Rueben.

Sincerely,
Euan Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed three nights in the middle of July '11. Can't beat hotel's location in Berkeley, across the street from BART station, walking distance to campus, restaurants, etc. Hotel is an old building that has been recently remodeled, and is bright & very clean. The room is on a small side, but the beds are very comfortable and you can open windows. Our room had the "inside view", which meant air conditioning units of the building below. I believe they have bay view rooms as well. The bid downside of the hotel is that it has NO DEDICATED PARKING. There's a city lot across from hotel, but rates vary from $10 to $20 per 24 hours (or you pay hourly), and no in-and-out privileges.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s10m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEuanTaylor, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review. We are lucky to have a wonderful location with the convenience to campus, transportation, restaurants and more. The parking garage just across from the hotel is convenient as well. We do have a selection of rooms with beautiful views, so please do not hesitate to request one the next time you book with us.

Sincerely,
Euan Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have stayed here a few times while in Berkeley for work. It is a beautiful hotel, and is nicely renovated. But what stands out most is how consistently friendly and helpful their staff is, they always make my stays so pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ustraveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEuanTaylor, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your loyalty! We are happy to hear that it's our exceptional staff that brings you back. We will look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Euan Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here. I'm a stickler for hotels, ie, finding ones for a decent price that are nice. We were upgraded to a much bigger room for only $10/ night more. We were on the side of Shattuck Ave which can be little noisy, but not too much, as I could tolerate and I'm hypervigilant to noise in a hotel. Decor is art deco and bright and bed was quite comfy and room was quite lovely. Photos are accurate. Staff were very helpful. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdkusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEuanTaylor, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for choosing Hotel Shattuck Plaza! We are glad you enjoyed the unique and fun decor of the hotel. We appreciate your recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Euan Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This adorable hotel was just perfect for our needs. The staff was very friendly and most accommodating. They tried very hard to please and they certainly did.

Room Tip: For a very small sum, they upgraded us to a lovely 2 room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlsmith02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEuanTaylor, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your stay with us and your review. It is wonderful to hear you experienced our exceptional service, as we take great pride in our staff. We look forward to seeing you next time and hope that you will enjoy one of our suites again.

Sincerely,
Euan Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here for a Giants game - super convenient to Bart. Very comfortable and stylish room, helpful staff. At checkout, desk staff apologized for lack of counter space in bathroom, but though we had a small room, the bathroom counter was quite roomy. We were on the 4th floor, street side, and didn't really have any problem with noise. The only drawback - garage parking cost us $15, 5pm to 9:30 am. But convenient and easy to use. Nice hotel, we'll visit again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nevadaconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEuanTaylor, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your stay with us in July. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the accommodations we provide at Hotel Shattuck Plaza. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Euan Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing