We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Comfy Beds”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The most comfortable beds we can remember. The last time was years ago in Vienna Austria. The location is perfect for visiting family and with our dogs. Very important to have our dogs with us without a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    94
    79
    54
    37
See reviews for
123
53
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Unfortunately, I am now only rating this property as 2 stars because it appears general maintenance has been slipping lately. For example, when I stayed here before the ice machine on the 3rd floor was out of order. OK. I came back to stay 2 months later and the same ice machine was STILL out of order. I expect more from a big hotel chain. Also, it looks like all the carpets could use a good steam cleaning or maybe even replacement, especially the stairwell carpets. If you look at the carpet along the wall it looks decent but down the center where there is traffic it is rather dingy. The automated light switch in the bathroom to save energy would shut off the light when I was taking a shower and left me in the dark. It even did that when I was on the toilet. I had to contact maintenance to replace the light switch.

The WiFi was VERY slow. How slow? Well, I performed 13 broadband speed tests and the average download speed was 0.38 Mbps with average latency time of 968 ms. According to the FCC in 2012 the average subscribed speed in homes was 15.6 Mbps, about 41 times faster. I’m not sure what kind of service level agreement the hotel has with the WiFi provider but it must not be much. Time to find a new provider.

Anyway, if you can handle things like above then it is an OK place to stay because of the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Perhaps it has new management, but when I first stayed here in November of 2013 I found the staff to be friendly and efficient and the room, though nothing special, was clean and well appointed.

I stayed again in January of 2014 and it didn't have quite the same feel as my first visit. The staff was no longer friendly and most certainly not efficient. They had messed up my reservation and although it got straightened out, I received no apology and an abundance of excuses for their inefficiency. Fine—mistakes happen, and the room was clean. I could have used and extra blanket, and as there wasn't one in the room, I doubled up the blanket on the king sized bed and saved myself from having to wait for an extra to be sent up.

I stayed again last week and now not only was the receptionist curt and unsmiling, the room was filthy. I only sat on the chairs if I had one of the only 2 towels provided between me and the upholstery. The desk chair had old food ground into it and strands of hair hanging on it. The bathroom floor was sticky as was the toilet handle. In addition, the ice machine on the 3rd floor was broken and the elevator only worked some of the time. Since the bed linens seemed clean, I stayed the 4 nights I'd booked. That was, however, the last they'll see of me.

I have another trip to Berkeley planned for this summer and have booked a different hotel. Not as convenient to my location, but I'm optimistic that I wont have to clean my own bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Way too loud, couldn't sleep and very shabby. Needs better maintenance and lots of updating to the rooms. Nice people working there, very nice and helpful. Unfortunately, the rooms are not even average. Shower was low flow to save water, but, water pours out of bath spout instead. Poor maintenance. Location is ok

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is convenient for a business stay provided that you have a car. Not far from downtown Berkeley and University (about 10 mn). Very close to the highway access. Wifi is good. The breakfast is basic but convenient. The outdoor pool is small but very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I'm pretty sure my bathroom wasn't cleaned for the three days I stayed as there was an item on the floor from the moment I checked in until I checked out. Walls are really thin and apparently this is the hotel where men go to argue with their wives over the phone. I heard every word of several conversations.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMac716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I booked two of my business travelers in this hotel last week. They just told me that the front desk gave one of them keys to an occupied room. The female occupant was in the shower when my client walked in. The occupant was very shaken up. What a frightening thing to happen! The least they could have done is give them both a free night's stay for this HUGE lack of attention to detail. They offered nothing. Also, it seemed like people were living there as there were a lot of dogs around and the hallways smelled of many unidentified horrible odors. There was a distinct aroma of marijuana in the hallways as well. It was very noisy at night from the other hotel guests. They also reported that half of the lights in the rooms did not work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blooknup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
330 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Property: La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing