We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Used some reward points to book a 2 x QS bed room on 8 Sep 2013.
I have a Travel Card which does not have a name printed on it and this was the first hotel I have encountered that would not accept it even though the La Quinta on-line booking site accepts it.
Disappointed that as a Platinum Member I had to jump through hoops to get the welcome gift that is supposed to be part of the deal.
They have postcards but despite printing them they are hidden away from view and we had to ask for them.
But on the real serious side the hotel is old but nice and the rooms were excellent. WiFI is good and breakfast above average. The girl on duty at breakfast is a gem and makes everyone welcome and ensures breakfast is enjoyed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hnMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 363 reviews

A La Quinta traveler
Berkeley, California, USA
1
Reviewed September 7, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I have no idea how others thought this place was ok and I am feeling very misled but I am checking out two days early!

The neighborhood is all boarded up and bars on windows. I was told to not walk in the neighborhood. That was the start.

The pool is not clean and the hand rails are weebly wobbly. My room was clean but very stale. The desk clerk said he was putting me into a quiet area. It was until the next door neighbors kept trying to open the adjoining door. Bed was way soft but I did like the firm pillows. Bathroom not working properly. Front desk staff overworked---phone calls not answered.
Breakfast was ok but not worth the stresses.
So disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annfhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel needs a complete make-over. It does not meet the usual La Quinta standard. The front area outside and lobby are uninviting. Upon arriving we noticed what looked like prostitutes in front of hotel. The room and area did not feel secure. There was no lock on the screen door to balcony; just a funky latch. Did not feel safe. There was no safe available in the room nor front desk. The bed was absolutely awful and uncomfortable, incredibly soft with no support; just sunk into the middle. The room was dirty around the edges. The bathroom was quite basic and uninviting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Yes we did pay more than usual for this standard of hotel but that was due to timing I.e. Berkeley College semester starting so accommodation throughout the area was at peak prices. Hotel was fine, staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was the usual I.e. very limited no of tables especially busy during the last 30 minutes. Plenty of parking. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank kmillen1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was initially disappointed in this hotel because it is older and in need of remodeling. The location is another concern. It is in an area that does not look very safe, though my wife and I stayed there for three nights and walked to the BART station (about a 1 1/2 miles) and had no problems other than a homeless man asking for money. Everyone connected to the hotel was super nice (especially the lady that served breakfast) so I wish I could offer a better review. Unfortunately I have to say if I were to return to the bay area I would try to stay a little closer to San Francisco and the tourist attractions. The BART system is excellent and we found the locals to be very helpful, friendly and nice beyond expectations! Thank you San Francisco for your hospitality. You made our trip to your beautiful city a wonderful memory!

Room Tip: We had the apartment suite which was very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txtraveler75161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

La Quinta Berkeley has greatly improved in the past few years. I recently stayed for 5 nights on two different occasions and was happy with the renovated rooms, good beds, excellent buffet and friendly service at the front desk and in the breakfast room. I also appreciated free local phone calls and accessibility to the freeway leading to San Francisco and elsewhere, not to mention proximity to Brennan's, an Irish sprots bar and hofbrau, a Berkeley institution and paradise for meat and poultry lovers.Overall, the location is excellent with transit, shops and restaurants nearby.
La Quinta provides a clean, comfortable and reasonably-priced room in the very over-priced Bay Area. I will definitely return on my next trip to visit family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justfiddling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
796 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $128 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing