We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is located on a busy street near the freeway, Amtrak, Berkeley Marina, restaurants and shops. This is an older hotel and it could use some updating. It is a comfortable stay for the value. Good breakfast, friendly front desk staff and house keeping does a good job cleaning.The only negative is the wi-fi is very weak and sometimes not available at all.

Room Tip: Hotel is near Amtrak - Union Pacific railroad and if you are a light sleeper, it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    93
    79
    54
    37
See reviews for
123
52
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pet friendly....CLEAN...super nice staff......relaxed and comfortable...the NICEST lady serving a yummy daily breakfast......GREAT LOCATION! I used to stay at the Claremont Hotel on discount Priceline, but after the hidden valet and " spa fees" that are silently slipped in a note to you under the door THE NEXT MORNING of your stay, it is nice to be in a place that is JUST AS QUALITY ...sans a few overpriced restaurants in the lobby and tip eager valets.....the rooms are definantly comparable and overall as clean and accommodating. Thanks LA QUINTA for being a great place to stay....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The staff is what makes this hotel take the top spot in my book. It is an older hotel and has it's quirks, but the staff go above and beyond in making up for it. We checked in with a late reservation, extended our stay, asked for extras, and got everything we asked for and more. Great value, easy to find, and awesome staff. We definitely will stay here for any future visits to the Bay Area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank TexMcDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had room 327 was very quiet, clean and well maintained. Did not have a flat screen. Shower was very good, had a mini frig and microwave. Front desk very helpful when I needed a cab.
would stay again. It was very close to the Marina- less than 5 min. Since I was attending a conference at Hs Lordships this hotel worked out well.

Room Tip: I asked for a room that was quiet and away from the elevator and my wish was granted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doularose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raanana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great place to stay if you don't want to pay San Francisco over priced hotels. Spacious rooms, friendly staff, nice breakfast. Only problem - very weak wi fi. It's good though to have a car and know where to park in the city

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehulal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
330 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Property: La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing