We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer inside than outside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nicer inside than outside”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Your first view of the building is not going to make you think your stay will be that great, but the interior is a pleasant surprise. The staff is friendly and helpful. The lobby is clean and bright and welcoming. We stayed on Jul 4 and found to our delight that we could walk to the marina to watch the fireworks. There was a festival there with lots of food vendors and some entertainment. The areas were manned by the police and the crowd was well-behaved. The best thing about staying at La Quinta is their complimentary breakfast. You can make your own waffles (delicious!). There are also breakfast potatoes, little round omelette-like things, and bacon in addition to the oatmeal, bagels and cereals. My husband likes the coffee here better than most other places. We stayed is a room with two full-size beds. The room was small, but overall, for a one-night stay, it wasn't that bad. There was a moldy smell by the air conditioner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    93
    79
    54
    37
See reviews for
123
52
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stay at a lot of La Quintas. This was lower end. They are very friendly there but we had a few issues. The original king bed I requested was a full bed with a king headboard. They did move us but it was after over an hour of bartering. I would not stay here again. Go up the street to the holiday inn or one of the nicer hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed at the La Quinta Inn Berkeley on the night of Sunday June 24. I checked out in the morning at 7:00AM. I discovered I had left my Macbook Air on the desk in Room 104 when I got home and I had forgotten to pack it in the suitcase. My roommate noticed I was still on facebook and tried to ping me until 10:00AM, when my facebook page went offline. Manager Jack Kplli informed me his honest staff had not seen the computer. I want to rate the honestly of the staff at this hotel as ZERO. Sincerely-Bob Knoke

Room Tip: Watch out for theft by staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
3 Thank bob k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I reserved a room online, and when I got there they had double-booked and had only a smoking room available. All the other hotels in town were booked up, so I had no place to stay.
The desk clerk was pleasant - but told me that he couldn't cancel my reservation since I had booked it online - so I spend 30 min on the phone trying to be sure I wouldn't be charged for the room I didn't stay in. While I was standing there for 30 min., one hotel guest came down to say the sink faucet in his room had come off.
The location is not good, and the clientele made me uncomfortable.
The desk clerk was so busy that there was usually a line of people waiting to check in or waiting to get help.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The tub and the sink in Rm. 206 was slow to drain, and the toilet tank had a big crack around the handle.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had a nice stay at the hotel
the staff was friendly i had no problems
i enjoyed the outside swimming pool
the breakfast was good but could be changed up

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Property: La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing