We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but location needs improving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Hotel and grounds are very nice with a lovely view of marina and the Golden Gate Bridge. Roads in the marina area are in poor condition, however, and there are not many restaurants nearby. It would be great if there was a shuttle bus from hotel to UC-B, but I don't think there is one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. From our property to our views, we are so glad you found much to enjoy while here. Please know that we offer complimentary shuttle service in a 3 mile radius of our hotel and that includes the University of California campus. If there is ever anything you may need, including restaurant recommendations, our associates are always happy to help. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband, daughter, and I drove the PCH and San Francisco/Berkeley was one of our stopping points. This hotel was very nice, conveniently located, and very reasonable for everything it offers. The view is beautiful, and the staff were friendly and professional. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

We are so glad to have been able to comfortably accommodate you and your family at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina for your recent trip to the area. The views from our property keep many of our guests returning time and again and it is great to know you enjoyed them as well. Our associates will be pleased to know they left you with a lasting impression. It is our hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

accommodations food; lack o complete dinner service was inconvenient. bar menu only . breakfast done well. very friendly desk service and help clean rooms. nice amenities such as pool, gym and access to walking trails .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. It is great to know you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us, including our friendly service as well as our pool and fitness facilities. Please know, that we value your feedback greatly and apologize if you found any aspect of your dining experience to be of frustration. We do hope you will visit us again for your next trip to Berkeley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Staff is really friendly and motivated, but the venue is a nightmare out of the deepest 70ies. Doors that don't keep any sound out and paper-thin walls. I woke up every half hour because the ice machine out in the hallway, two rooms down, kicked in with a mighty roar. Definitely NOT worth the price you pay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take the time to thoughtfully consider each and every comment and we are working to continuously improve the experience for each of our guests. We do apologize that your encounter was not what you had anticipated from our hotel and we will be sure to review your comments with our management team. It is our hope that you will consider another stay in the future so that we can fully impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed for 1 week for a conference. The restaurant was excellent at the hotel, there were 2 other restaurants at the Berkley Marina that I heard were good also however it was a shuttle ride or 15 min walk to anything else. The conference rooms were great! The shuttle from the hotel was able to take us into Berkley Downtown and to the BART stations. It was very easy and safe to use the BART to go into San Fransisco and only took about 20-25 min once on the train, I had a 20$ BART pass and was able to go into SanFransisco 4 times without adding money. The things that I was not fond of were the hours of the shuttle. It doesnt run at 9 am or 5pm which coincidentally was when our confrence was out and we wanted to leave. Also it's last pick up was 9:30 so you had to be at the station back from the city by 9:30 to get a ride home, or tyou had to take a cab. The taxi fair to the BART was 13.00 and into the city was 40$ (both one way).... so use the transport provided if possible. The only other thing was the CELL PHONE SIGNAL.... there is none! Everyone from the confrence complained about signal and battery loss due to searching for signal! There were a few places that I could get enough to make calls. But if you walk to the back of the building3 and across the street to Chavez park you should have excellent view and signal, and they have benches. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Chelsie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

A business stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina can be such a treat! Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our hotel as well as all of the helpful transportation information for future guests. Our shuttle offers a convenient way to get around the local area as well as the BART station for points beyond but we do apologize if you were inconvenienced by any of our hours or in utilizing your cell during your visit. We do hope you will come visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is probably the worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at. Room was dirty and dated. Outside buildings- left much to be desired. Service was less than par. Very loud- and that is being nice.
Can't say that I would ever want to stay here again. Very expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback regarding your experience. Whether it's positive or otherwise, we’re always grateful to learn about our guests’ time with us. We’re disappointed to read that your stay did not reflect the high standards we’ve set and apologize for any areas that may not have been at their best. Please know that the appropriate departments will be looking over your review. If there is ever any way we can make your time here more comfortable or improve upon what we offer, our associates are always happy to help so that your visit is ideal. The next time you are in the Berkeley area, we hope you’ll reconsider visiting with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I felt like I was at home away from home. The conference was intense and it was nice to be able to go back to my room and relax. The bed was amazing and very comfortable. The trails and paths around the marina and park were magnificent. I would go back to visit for leisure for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

It is wonderful to know that the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina provided you with a home away from home during your recent conference visit to the area. As you mentioned, our hotel is located near extensive walking paths and green spaces, offering relaxing ways to enjoy the great outdoors. We are truly grateful for your feedback and appreciation of our hotel and are glad you were able to enjoy a balanced getaway during the time that you spent with us. It would be our privilege to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
4 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,378 reviews
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
2.9 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710-1608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $120 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing