We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staffing Issues?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here since they had a bayview restaurant inside and we did not want to have to run all over the Bay Area looking for parking to get lunch on New Year's Eve. The restaurant was closed for a wedding which was fine, since they were serving at the QuarterDeck Bar and it was not busy, but it still took 1 and a half hours to order two lunches and pay. Kind of defeated the purposes of choosing to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Faustino D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon J, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Faustino D,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor in addition to taking the time to email me directly.

Again, our apologies for the issues you encountered during your recent visit.

Per our conversation, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kindly,

Brandon Jacobsen
Director of Rooms
brandon.jacobsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,947)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was clean and everyone was friendly. The location can't be beaten. We walked around the Marina, beautiful views of the golden gate bridge! The rooms were very clean, the cookie was warm and delicious. It was pretty easy to get to a Bart station by car, and then go into San Francisco.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Danillo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon J, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Danillo G,

I am so happy to hear you were able to enjoy the great weather, beautiful views of the bridges and the entire Marina!

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor -

Even though in Brazil, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Obrigado por ficar no DoubleTree by Marina de Berkeley - Feliz Ano Novo!

Kindly,

Brandon Jacobsen
Director of Rooms
brandon.jacobsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed with family for an extended weekend. Near to most bay area attractions. Facility is old but clean. Friendly staff. Good breakfast choices. Good place to relax. Close to marina. Lot of space for children to play.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kartar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon J, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Kartar A,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review -

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay - definitely a lot of room for children to run around and place safely!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoulbeTree Berkeley Marina in the near future.

Kindly,

Brandon Jacobsen
Director of Rooms
brandon.jacobsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We love this hotel. We have stayed there 3 times and will continue to stay there when we visit our family in Oakland. The breakfast buffet is great, the pool is wonderful for the grandkids and the staff is so friendly and accommodating. The setting by the marina is beautiful and the room was large and well appointed. It is an excellent value! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon J, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Kenneth R,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor -

I am so thrilled to hear about your recent visit with us and appreciate you taking the time in leaving such positive notes about our property and most of all our staff!

We appreciate your three visits thus far and look forward to many more in the near future.

On behalf of everyone at the DoubleTree Berkeley Marina - THANK YOU!

Kindly,

Brandon Jacobsen
Director of Rooms
brandon.jacobsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We checked in this hotel, and checked right back out of it. For $130 the room should have been equipped with a fridge and microwave. The elevator was broken so we had to take the stairs. Not good since I'm having knee problems. The room was nice though. The location and the marina was excellent. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon J, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Trina F,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor -

I would like to extend my apologies for the issues you encountered during your recent visit.

Unfortunately, only our Suites at the hotel come equipped with a refrigerator and microwave; however upon request, we send both of these amenities complimentary to all of our guest rooms.

As for the elevator, for a couple days we did experience one elevator down; however the issue was promptly resolved when our elevator vendor was able to come out and fix the issue. I am not sure if you spoke with the front desk, but they would have been more than happy to accommodate you with a room on the first floor and/or another room in a different building where the elevators were working.

Next time your plans bring you to Berkeley, please feel free to email me directly and I will ensure we have a refrigerator in your room upon arrival and I would be happy to extend a complimentary upgrade if available.

I thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Berkeley Marina!

Kindly,

Brandon Jacobsen
Director of Rooms
brandon.jacobsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed New Year's Eve with my wife, daughter, and daughter's friend. Used points. Great staff - everyone was very friendly especially all the people in the restaurant.

We needed to be in Berkeley. Even though this is in the Marina area, it was an excellent location, only a few minutes from the main part of the city.

The hotel was very quiet - no street noise. The room had a small balcony so we were able to turn off the HVAC and open the sliding door.

The gym was small but more than adequate. The cardio equipment was in good shape. Great location to walk along the marina and nearby park.

The breakfast buffet was average. Fruit, oatmeal, precooked eggs, potatoes, baked goods, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alang2nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon J, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear alang2nevada,

Happy New Year and thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor -

I appreciate you taking the time in leaving the comments you did and I am personally thrilled to hear you had a nice stay in celebrating the New Year with you wife, daughther and family friend!

On behalf of the entire team at the DoubleTree Berkeley Marina, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindly,

Brandon Jacobsen
Director of Rooms
brandon.jacobsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights including Christmas night. The rooms are all remodeled. The parking is included in your rate and the use of computer and printer in business center is no charge. This is a great deal. Even if you have business in San Francisco, it is a convenient location on the Berkeley Marina. It has easy access to freeways, and the Bay bridge. Despite all the traffic. the views of the bay and the City are nice, as is the view of the Berkeley hills at night. There are good trails for walks and 4th street shopping and dining area in Berkeley is just 5 minutes away by car. Plus there is a pool, hot tub and exercise room all at no extra charges. If you get a good rate this a great place to stay for business or tourism in the Bay area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon J, Director of Rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Alan S,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor -

I truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent visit with us and pointing out all the small things that made your visit a great value!

We look forward to your next visit at the DoubleTree Berkeley Marina.

Kindly,

Brandon Jacobsen
Director of Rooms
brandon.jacobsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,311 reviews
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $154 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing