We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Despite having booked well in advance for a family celebration we were disappointed that our room, which lacked a safe, mini fridge or wifi access, had a view of the car park. While there is a pleasant walk around the attractive Marina the hotel is very isolated without a car and food options are very limited. The property is so large and disorienting that getting from room to breakfast seemed like an exercise in orienteering.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Joe W ~

Thank you for posting your first review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our hotel. We understand the value of your time and appreciate your feedback.

I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your room type. We do have limited view rooms and if they are purchased it is difficult to upgrade all our guests. You are correct...our hotel is spread out and there are times when I still feel lost!!

Please know that our hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle that will take our guests within a three mile radius. We drop and pick up our guests and this service will deliver you to many fantastic restaurant options.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie. bauer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is an awesome place to stay, the view of our hotel was gorgeous, the staff were very helpful and friendly, it was great that the hotel was not stingy about hotel amenities. The only two problem arose were the food and the laundry machine. For a dish chicken breast, they offered chicken thigh instead. And for the drying machine, even though I was told that it would stop automatically, but it did not. It can potentially be a safety issue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Manmin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Greetings Manmin G ~

Thank you for your reply to the Trip Advisor review facilitated via the Hilton satisfaction survey! We know you have many hotel choices in the Berkeley area and we are thrilled you chose to stay with us!!

I am happy that you found the location and views awesome! I am sorry that there was confusion regarding your order in our Bay Grille Restaurant. We offer a half roasted chicken, which includes the thigh and leg as well as the breast. Please know that we are in the process of installing a washer/dryer units for our guests as well.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the USA!

Warm regards -
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie.bauer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Recently spent three nights there at recommendation of friends we were visiting. View of bridge and marina from large and quiet room very pleasant. Big breakfasts with cheerful waiters. Not too expensive and conveniently situated. Bonus of an adjacent park to walk in with great birding including overwintering Burrowing Owls. I will stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sparroworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Sparroworks~

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

It is wonderful that our hotel was a recommendation by friends....and it is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay as well as the location....including the views and the parks near by! We find it very peaceful as well!

I am thrilled you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our "cheerful" team members!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards -
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie.bauer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here following shopping for my fiancee's engagement ring. The room decor is a little on the dated side but very nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very nice and accommodating. View of the bay, the marina, and the bridges was excellent. We just got coffee in the lobby gift shop/snack bar. Did not eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: Getting a bay, marina or Golden Gate Bridge view enhances the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Chip144~

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us following a "big" spend!

It is nice to know that you enjoyed our team as well as the views of the bridge and marina. I am sorry you felt that our rooms are dated...but clean.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back one day!
All the best with your wedding plans!

Cheers -
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
Stephanie.bauer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is our third stay here and hopefully the last. We stay for the ease of being near the kids at UCB and also our affinity to be near the marina. This place is a dump. The room looks like my kids Freshman dorm room, wait, no that was better. Yes, it is clean..they were painting, the room smelled of it. The carpeting is from the Brady Bunch the the design of the room like a mental institution. Our balcony "upgrade" was not an upgrade, but a downgrade into the rundown hotel that we used to like..
We were on the Hilton Honors floor..was this a punishment..if so..I am sorry. Also expensive. We were in building 4..NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: If you want to stay near Berkeley, really not my choice, next time we are going to Emeryville or any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Viki F ~

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at our hotel.

As the General Manager, I sincerely apologize that you felt that your guest room in Building 4 was worse than a dorm room. Please know that these rooms were fully renovated one and half years ago? I am sorry we were conducting maintenance upkeep and painting the corridors - I understand the frustration this caused.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your stay and poor review. Feedback is a gift for our daily improvement, so when time permits, please reach out - 510.665.7126.

I look forward to speaking with you -
Sincerely,
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie.bauer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was attending a work retreat in Berkeley, and we were booked in the Double tree Marina Hotel on the SF Bay. The hotel is adjacent to a picturesque marina, on the edge of a large park, with beautiful green lawns and plantings. Although 30 seconds from a major freeway, it is very quiet and pleasant. it is hard to believe you could be in a major urban area and have such an oasis. The rooms are large, and the ones that face the bay/marina are particularly nice, and you can enjoy the sea breezes by opening sliding glass doors. The fitness room and pools are good, and the bar lively.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Greetings Adrian B ~

Thank you completing a Trip Advisor review via the Hilton Satisfaction survey regarding your fantastic stay with us!

It was a pleasure having your retreat at our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed everything about our hotel....from the views, parks, ocean breeze and our lively bar!!

We hope you take another well deserved stay with us!

See you soon -
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie.bauer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Slightly dated three star hotel, nicely located especially if you have a car (just remember to have plenty of additional time if trying to go to S.F. with the all the other commuters in the morning!).
Review based on a one night stay in October (background of spending 80+ nights per year in different hotels around the globe).

Location:
Cannot comment the neighborhood due to arriving late in the evening and leaving early in the morning, apart from the fact that the hotel is easily accessed from the highway.

Room:
The basic room was adequate, though there was balcony one could not see marina nor water. Oh well, I guess that’s why you can pay for “Marina View”… Although the room seems to be renovated some time ago, renovation would be required in the near future in other parts of the hotel such as corridors & elevators.

The room was quiet, no noise from outside or from the other rooms/corridor.

Etc:
Have to say the numbering & corridor scheme was one of the most peculiar systems I’ve encountered anywhere in the world, I mean in the end I got to my room without additional help required but it was not really the normal straightforward process it should be.

I did not have time to test the restaurant so no comment there. Check-in & out was fast & efficient, no need for waiting. Free parking was a nice addition.

One thing that’s obviously not an issue the hotel can control but anyway: it took us almost 50 minutes to reach Union Square from here! So yes it was during the worst morning rush hour but still I do not understand at all the traffic could be that bad. I really wonder how somebody can do it every day and remain sane…

Would I return there?
Hmmmm, if the price is right. I mean there was nothing completely wrong as such, but nothing really great either…

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadsasdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear dadsasdasd ~

Thank you for stopping by Trip Advisor and posting a detailed review of your experiences at our hotel! It was fun and interesting at the same time!

Please know that the hotel will undergo some major renovations over the next 6-12 months to improve the hotel's corridors and modernization of elevators.

I apologize that our room numbering was confusing for you. We have four buildings with guest rooms - so the first # represents the building you are in...the second # is the floor and the remaining two #'s are the room #. Once our guests figure this out, it is very easy to get around and understand!!

We hope we are allowed the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest.

Warm regards -
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie.bauer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
4 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,376 reviews
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
2.9 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710-1608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $122 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing