We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quiet position”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute change of hotel from a San Francisco due to the Americas Cup. It was great to have the peace and quiet of this location having left the busy streets of the city. I was very disappointed with my room allocation on arrival, as I looked out of the window I looked straight at someone swimming directly at my room. I rang to request a room change and was told there wasn't any available rooms. I changed rooms at 8am the next morning to a lovely room, it seems the policy of the hotel is that if you walk into your room you have to have it if housekeeping can't re clean it that evening. I wish they had told me the truth the previous evening. On upgrading the room we offered a credit card and was told he had all the information required, then at 10pm that evening we had a message to add a card to our account we said can we do it in the morning as we were in building 3 it was a long walk back, they said yes, then at 8am we had another call requesting the payment! So we walked down and gave them a card. The card then had a $50 request put on it, and they then tried again which was turned down, so they rang us again. From this story you may think the upgrade was a lot of money, in fact it was $45 including tax, and we were on tour with 35 other people and are Hilton Honours members. Never have we been in a hotel that chased payment so often and the joke was they then put a receipt in our room saying we had paid, which they then said we hadn't. All this apart the hotel was a near peaceful spot to end our 3 week trip of the USA.
The bar was not as clean as it could have been on our first visit, but thereafter it was clean and tidy.
Starbucks in the foyer was a great addition as a Danish and coffee was all we needed for breakfast and it suited us better than the confusing Buffett breakfast available in the restaurant.
A great place to stay if you want to visit San Francisco but not if you want to stay In the city as there is no shuttle bus to the city.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Greetings Nicki C~~

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our hotel. While it appears you enjoyed your stay and the location and view....I sincerely apologize that we made you feel like we were chasing you for payment.

I have personally addressed our process with our Guest Services Manager so that this does not occur again for other guests to experience.

If you travels bring you back to the USA and the Berkeley area, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards -
Stephanie

Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
Stephanie.bauer@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    662
    391
    160
    86
See reviews for
575
391
90
590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Building 1. Walls were as if not even there. Bathroom lights, honestly the worst possible, a single led would have done better. And combined with the tub toilet setup... reminded me of a horror film. Not good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank milesfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the layout and comfort of your room and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing. I would be happy to make sure you receive a complimentary room upgrade.

Thank you,

Rob Metz
Director of Revenue
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
510-665-7103
Robert.metz@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were looking for a hotel to stay for one night in between several days in Napa and an early morning flight out of SFO. The hotel is reasonably priced relative to hotels in downtown San Francisco and has very easy on-off from the freeway. As long as you don't mind the toll and drive across the Bay Bridge (15 minutes?), the money we saved on the hotel made up for having to drive/park downtown. We didn't explore Berkeley much, but that's another option. The bar was nice - friendly conversation with the bartenders. The staff was also very friendly yet professional when we checked in despite the lobby being very busy with a gathering wedding party. The hotel itself was nice enough. It appears to need TLC in some spots, but overall it was great for what we wanted.

Room Tip: Water view was nice, but if you pay the up charge consider asking to be above the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_from_St_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Even though this hotel is located in Berkeley, it was conveniently located to SF - the BART is right down the street and the hotel has a free shuttle to and from the BART. The staff was incredibly helpful and the room was very clean with the most comfortable bed!!! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Cleanliness: Room was cleaned but hall looked liked they did not vacuum it for a while. Service: Not what you expect from Hilton. Shuttle was never running as promised with excuses like they need it for their own employee event. They did not care either and told you they will call a cab for you. So many affected I would share a cab with 5 others. Facilities: Nice pool and sauna. Restaurant: Food was way over priced even for a hotel and for breakfast one morning the chief did not show up. Other: View Great. Walls in rooms were thin. They did move me the next day told them it was noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced on your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to departure through quality service and amenities, and we regret this was not your impression. Our shuttle does run every hour and is on a first come first serve basis and there is a sign up sheet at the front desk, I understand how frustrating it can be when you don't feel that your receive the services you are expecting. Being told that the shuttle is out of use do to a employee event is unacceptable. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future please contact me directly and I would be happy to offer you a complimentary room upgrade.

Best Regards,

Rob Metz
Director of Revenue
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
510-665-7103
Robert.metz@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I love this location - we were used to fly kites with my daughter in the near by Chavez park.
If you have a car you can go to berkeley and enjoy all the good staff.

Also around the hotel there are couple of good places to eat (his lordship for an example).
The buildings are some what old - but my room was fully renovated and nice.

Booking was a bit tricky due to the many prices in differnt locations - but at the end it came in a decent price.

Room Tip: the lady on the reception claimed that the 3rd floor is better. The "less"price rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We love the location and we would go back here. it is a short trip to downtown Berkeley and 1/2 hour from San Francisco. It also has a decent fitness center and nice pool. The fitness center could use more aerobic equipment

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing