We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a penny worth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Maria, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a penny worth”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you love cookies, this is the thing this hotel do best to give to you. They are so proud of giving cookies to guest, but ask yourself, is that what you want for staying at a hotel? However, if you want a decent hotel , this is not a good choice. It does not offer the value that guests expect to pay. Imagine, staying in a room that has no AC or heater. The unit was sitting in your room but not working, worse, it was not even connected to the wall control. Sleeping in a stuffy room with no heat or cold, how terrible is that? Next, you are staying at a hotel that is under renovation, but paying for full rate? I should have listened to the Trip advisor comments by other previous guests complaining all these problems. I thought it is just the persons who loved to complain everything. I trusted my coworker who recommended this hotel to me, now I doubt her though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    681
    403
    165
    90
See reviews for
606
405
92
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is nice especially the marina view. Being charge to use internet in the room is ridiculous. Room service is good but the quality of the food is just ok especially for the price you pay for it. I would recommend this hotel for the convenience of conference or meeting you happen to need to attend here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chau T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I decided to stay here since I was attending a conference in San Francisco and the rate here was about half of what I would have paid in the city. And besides, Berkley is a favorite spot in my book. I had never stayed here before, but it was a great experience right from the chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. I was a little concerned when I arrived, since it is at a distance from Berkley and I did not have a car, but the shuttle was very prompt and getting around town and to the BART station was no problem (also, it was an easy BART ride to SF from the North Berkley station). I was a little concerned that my room was at the front end of the hall on the first floor, but noise was never really an issue. The staff was very helpful, and I have to give particulary kudos to Mason and Paige for their help and recommendations. The food here is very good, especially the seafood, and there are several neat restaurants in easy distance. As for the room, it was a good-sized room and was quite clean. I would have liked a better view, but as this was a business trip, there was not much time to gaze at the masts in the marina. Also, there were other nice places around the property that offered good vistas (and, fortunately, the weather was nice). Next time life takes me in the direction of Berkley and SF, this place would be on my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Scott G~

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review regarding your stay at our hotel.
I am delighted to see that you truly had an enjoyable stay. We think our location is perfect for visits to San Francisco - a short ride on BART - free parking at our hotel - complimentary shuttle ride to BART!
Thank you for your kind words recognizing Paige & Mason - I will personally thank them for their fantastic service!!
We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest!
All the best -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were in Berkeley for a wedding and also wanted to do quite a bit of sight-seeing in the bay area. This was a great spot! Our king room with balcony had a distant view of the Golden Gate Bridge, the adjacent sailboat marina and manicured gardens. Lovely, peaceful contrast to the hub-bub of San Francisco -- yet we could drive into the city over the Bay Bridge in less than 30 minutes, even at rush hour. (Appreciated the free self-parking at the Doubletree, not the norm in SF OR other Berkeley properties.) The room was spacious, clean, recently updated. We paid ahead for the room to secure the best price. Also enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi, glassed in but with a bay view.

Room Tip: While you pay extra for the Golden Gate view, I'm glad we did. The inland view would be of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Greetings JaniceJL~

Thank you for your review!!
We understand you have other hotel options in Berkeley and we are delighted you chose to stay with us! Our free parking is a plus and we do offer a great location with incredible views!

Come back soon!
Warm regards -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Even though they've done renovations and its better than it was when I stayed here several years ago, its still clearly an older hotel that is just hanging in there. My main complaint is that the walls are VERY thin and you can hear all your neighbors, everyone going up and down the hall, etc. Newer hotels have better soundproofing. Although there is free parking, if you don't have a car, the few miles up to the Berkeley eating mecca is really not walkable, so then you're stuck with eating at the hotel. I went to a conference here and that part was great....they took care of the food service etc. very well....but I wouldn't stay here if I were not at a conference. Also not so accommodating with check in times etc. considering we were JUST there for the conference!

Room Tip: If you stay in building 4 or 5, it is a bit of a haul to get to the main conference area/lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear SydneyB ~

Thank you for posting your review regarding our hotel and your last stay with us. I understand that you do not enjoy our hotel and that it is an older building - we have completed major renovations over the last two years......please know that there are other great hotels in the Berkeley area and the City of Berkeley appreciates all travelers.

I sincerely apologize we won't be your hotel of choice.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the conference during your stay.

All the best -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We decided to stay within driving distance to San Francisco to avoid the crowds and excessive hotel rates. Great location and views of the marina and Bay Bridge. The room was OK but will definitely benefit from the upgrade which is taking place at the moment. Reception staff were very friendly, upgrading us on arrival as we are Diamond members. The dining room and bar area had a fantastic views. Breakfast was very good offering a great range of foods. Dining staff friendly and very attentive. We sampled a bar meal was also very tasty. Traveled into San Francisco which was an easy pleasant drive over the Bay Bridge. We will definitely stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Greetings Phyllis P ~

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a nice review regarding your stay at our hotel. We are happy you chose to stay with us vs. San Francisco.....it is such a close 9 mile drive!

I is great to know we upgraded your room as a Hilton hHonors Diamond member and that you enjoyed your dining experiences in the restaurant and lounge!

We can't wait to see you!
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield,ct
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place could be spectacular but due to stained carpet in the hallways and limited building access. It missed the mark, but it appears to be a work in progress.On a positive note the staff from the front desk to housekeeping and bell service the Hilton standard is alive and well. They all were so nice and helpful giving me cookies upon check in and although they couldn't give me a marina view upgrade, for only $10 a night more they were able to find me a great room that did offer such a view.The room service was excellent as was the food. I would come back again hopefully the renovation to access building three will be finished.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry_hungry_hipp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,263 reviews
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
375 reviews
2.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing