We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pubic hair in bathroom unaceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pubic hair in bathroom unaceptable”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really needs an upgrade. Rooms are so-so, halls are cramped and unsightly. Indoor pool stinks up the area around it. Room cabinet seemingly designed for a fridge is empty...but they will fill it with a fridge on request...weird! What is absolutely unaceptable is the dirty bathroom floor with coffee spills and pubic hair. No excuse at all for that. If I hadn't had a seminar here, I don't think I would choose this hotel. Not up to the Hilton badge.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Robert W~
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again.

It is sad to read that your first review on Trip Advisor was a negative stay at our hotel. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you. Kindly reach out at 5106657126.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    674
    396
    161
    90
See reviews for
593
398
91
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Double Tree Berkeley Marina after a draining meeting at UC Berkeley. It is conveniently located near the campus and a long strip of small authentic and original restaurants. The hotel is near the water and far from freeway traffic. I had a quiet and restful night. The front desk staff was warm and friendly, as well as housekeeping staff who helped me around the property. The hotel was clean and I was given a bedroom with vaulted ceilings(!), I felt there was so much space... I would definitely stay there again and recommend to my friends for a close getaway R&R.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Greetings ESanFran~

It is fantastic to know that you had such a great stay with us! It is satisfying to know that you had such great service from our "awesome" team at the front desk as well as housekeeping!
It is delightful to know that you received great R&R during your stay.

We can't wait to welcome you back soon!!
Warm regards -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padres444
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here one night. Checked in at 7pm and left at 7am the next morning.

-Can't believe they charge as much as they do for WiFi. Almost laughable.
-Ordered room service pizza. It was terrible.
-As others have mentioned, the place/grounds need some updating. This hotel could have some serious potential if some money was put into it.
-Free parking. Honestly, surprised they don't nickel and dime guests on this aspect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padres444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear padres444~

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your short stay with us.

I sincerely apologize that your In Room Dining experience did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our Chef so that we may remove or improve our pizza offerings. We currenly charge for internet access in our guest rooms; however you are correct - we do not charge for parking as all other hotels in our area do.

We hope you will allow another opportunity in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.
All the best -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times in the last six months. While this hotel has been there a long time, it is well-maintained with quiet, comfortable rooms. The furnishings were updated and in good condition. Our room had a vaulted ceiling which added to the feeling of spaciousness. The hotel is located at the Berkeley Marina and surrounded on the land sides by couple of parks. So, it is quiet and offers nice open spaces for running, walking, etc. The location is great, with quick access to the city of Berkeley and the UC Berkeley Campus. There are several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay outside of San Francisco when we discovered how pricey the parking was going to be...on top of the hotel cost each night. I'd only been to Berkeley once before, when I was doing the college rounds, and didn't have particularly fond memories of the time there. This hotel, however, pleasantly surprised both of us.

The location was RIGHT on the marina, so the name's rather accurate. We got some beautiful shots at sunset, and had a room that opened right onto the manicured lawn, with walking paths along the water and to a nearby park. Lovely.

The room was large (I think we stayed in a king marina view room), and very clean. The linens were spotless, and the room felt very fresh. The bed was a little less comfortable than what I'm used to at similar grade hotels, but not untenable. We ordered breakfast one morning and were pleased, as well as room service one evening, and were pleased, particularly by the service--the man who delivered the food was extraordinarily kind and helpful.

The hotel was mostly quiet, and had a nice indoor pool/jacuzzi (an amenity in the SF area with the unreliable weather). We were also pleased to discover that the hotel was only about a 15 minute drive to downtown SF. Keep in mind you will have to pay the toll on the bay bridge if you cross by car, but that's still LOTS cheaper than parking in the city!

Overall, if my travel plans lead me back to the bay area, I'd say it's a likely bet that I'll find myself at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The marina view is worth the extra few bucks--though we kind of wished we'd asked for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysita9623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've stayed here several times when visiting the Berkeley area, and found it to be a clean, quiet hotel with exceptional, friendly service. The kind of place that isn't overbearing, but is a cut above what you might expect. The rooms are on the small side, but nicely laid out and the furnishings are comfortable. Parking is easy in an area where parking is generally hard to find and expensive when you do find it. Not so here. We usually park right outside our room in a large, well lit lot.

It's the staff I really like, however. Everyone we encountered was wonderful. Everyone was smiling. Everyone was helpful.

And, in the traditional Hilton manner, they remembered to offer us warm cookies as we checked in!

I like this place. The East Bay area of San Francisco is generally crowded and rather hectic, but that just isn't the case here. This hotel has a slow, leisurely feel to it, and a wonderful view of the Bay. It really couldn't be any more relaxing a stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManyMiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We recently stayed here the night before a business appointment in SF and found it exceeded all of our expectations. The front desk clerk was personable, helpful, and friendly. The room was clean, quiet and roomy. The indoor pool was sparkling and relaxing. The breakfast buffet the next morning provided plenty of choices and an outstanding view. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralcoaster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,249 reviews
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
2.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing