We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think before you book.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois, United States
1 review
“Think before you book.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

+ Overall pretty clean, staff was courteous, shuttle driver Peter was extremely helpful.

- If you're booking for the price and looking to sightsee in San Francisco, you're better off booking a hotel in SF. The shuttle from the hotel to the Bart is pretty reliable as long as you sign up in advance, but the Bart is approx. 14 round trip per day and takes at least 30 minutes to get to the Embarcadero (1st stop by Fisherman's Wharf). Then, when you get back to the Bart, good luck in catching that shuttle back to the Doubletree. I had to call the hotel desk multiple times to receive an estimated time of 30-40 minutes wait for pick up...and one night the shuttle didn't even show, my phone died, and we ended up taking a taxi back for 15 dollars.

-When you compare this hotel with others that offer an included breakfast, this hotel might seem initially cheaper...however, the "healthy start" buffet at 13 dollars/ person which includes cereal, milk, breads, and none of the hot foods such as eggs, bacon, pancakes will make this hotel just as expensive as the others you might overlook for their higher price tags. 26 dollars per person for breakfast per day? Ridiculous! But they have captive consumers - there are no refridgerators in the rooms.

Overall, if you don't mind being charged an arm and a leg for breakfast and don't need to go into San Francisco, this hotel might be the place for you. Next time, I plan to book in the city at a place that includes breakfast and is more convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lala957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    643
    379
    152
    82
See reviews for
548
382
88
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We've stayed at the Berkeley Marina Doubletree before, and I don't remember having the problem we had this time: hearing trains late at night. We didn't hear noise from adjacent rooms, but those trains made it tough to sleep.

The lobby smells like chlorine from the nearby pool. It is a nice amenity for those who are going to use it, but it's not a great first impression to smell chlorine as you enter the hotel.

Parking is free, but Internet is not.

PROS:
+ Location (an easy drive from downtown)
+ Price (reasonable)
+ Friendly reception and housekeeping staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrissyR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Greetings rollie_3~

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I sincerely apologize that this stay was not the same as your last. We are quite a ways away from the train station; however on very clear cold nights the sound does travel especially if you are on the Berkeley Hills side of the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the chlorine smell from our Family Pool - we have been monitoring to make sure that the level is proper.

If you would like to discuss your stay, please feel free to call me - 510.665.7126.
Happy New Year -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Thank you so much to the Double Tree by Hilton, Berkeley Marina. My husband and I stay here week in and week out. We live in Tampa Florida and work in Oakland California. Double Tree has far exceeded our expectations. My husband is very comfortable here even when I dont travel with him. I feel like I am family when I join my husband. Everyone is always nice and thoughtful and going out of their way to make your stay a success. Room Serive and selection is wonderful. Prices are comparable to going out to eat at a nice restraunt. Definitely a winner with me. The food is equally as great. No complaints there at all. The location is easily accessible and gets my husband to work in about 10-15 mins on side roads. Oakland is quicker this rout that he takes..DO NOT TAKE INTERSTATE. Save much time and hassle. Infact I wil post this rout to Oakland to anyone who wants it, please email me. :) Very close to shopping, Bart Station etc. Love the Raiders, San Fran Giants, Golden State Warriors..easy access using the Bart from Double Tree..Double Tree is so great and affordable that you will find you dont want to leave the hotel. Everything you need is on the property. DOnt forget the Marina and Park. Tons of places to play with your pets. Double Tree accepts pets and are very pet friendly.
Wireless internet is also great at the property. No issues with phones or computers. Quiet and family oriented.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellebenetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Happy New Year Michelle~

Thank you very much for taking your time to share the experiences during your many stays at our hotel! It is fantastic that you feel like we are the "home away from home." We understand how difficult it is to be away from home and I am proud that our team makes the DoubleTree your home.
We look forward to many more rewarding stays!
All the best -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here on Christmas Day with my two grandchildren ages ten and thirteen. Easy check in, warm cookies, off to find room, no problems. Very nice clean room with two beds, flufffy comforters, soft pillows, bathroom was clean and well stocked. This motel/hotel is at the marina so it's no where near any traffic so noise was not an issue. The parking is free, unlike staying in San Francisco, yet so very close to the city, would stay here again in a heart beat. I like quite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobedbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Happy New Year nobedbugs ~
Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your stay at our hotel! I am delighted to know that you and your grandchildren enjoyed Christmas Day with us.

We are pleased that you valued our free parking too.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is a little down market from the normal Hilton Group. However, the room are comfortable, clean and reasonably sized. The only downside would be that there is a lot of noise transferred from the rooms next door. When I was there, there was a dog in the next room. While I love dogs, the owners would leave it alone for a time and it would bark at each new noise it heard outside the room. You also need a car, as the hotel is some way away from both Berkeley and downtown San Francisco.

There are 5 main buildings housing the rooms. So, I would advice checking in first before unloading all the luggage, as you may need to load it back up, if your room is in one of the further away buildings. This happened to me. Luckily, there was a friendly porter available to take my luggage to my room for me, as I was in Building 4, one of the furthest away buildings.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the car park. It can be noisy that side as people come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Greetings Brian N~

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your neighboor left their dog in the room and that it continued to bark. This has been a challenge for our hotel as we are currently "dog friendly". We may change our policy as far to many dog owners leave their dogs and they disrupt our guests.
The hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle service that leaves the hotel on the hour and will take you within a 3 mile radius, which includes two BART stations - which is awesome transportation into San Francisco.
Thanks for the nice comments regarding our Porter.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.
Warm regards -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

They have a shuttle. Rooms are clean and quiet though a little pricey. Nice pool. Nice fitness room. And the shuttle to downtown Berkeley was great. It worked out though we usually try to stay downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Salconn ~
Great to read your review and know how much you appreciated our complimentary shuttle to downtown Berkeley. Our parking is free while you will pay if you stay downtown!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Happy New Year -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I will admit, my expectations were low because it was a low priced option in the Berkeley area. Never having been there before, a marina sounded like a fun option. Well, it was. The Marina is a sight and the Bay is very pretty. The dining room and bar are well located for a great view. The walking is also very convenient to get a good, long walk.

After 50 Hilton room nights this year, I can say that this chef put on the best breakfast Buffett of all. Kudos to him. Staff is wonderful, but the grounds are sad, the structure is antiquated, the carpets smell, the common areas are a step back into the 70's and I received what i paid for. One of the wings is under construction so I think they know what they have. Once they renovate this property, I want to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wtftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings Wtftraveler~
Thank you for sharing your stay with us on TripAdvisor.
At our hotel, we know that the look of our property is very important. Our focus on a great guest experience and reviews like yours have led us to update our property. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to the area you’ll stay with us and tell us what you think about our new guest experience that is sure to be even better than your recent stay. We hope you’ll be one of the first to enjoy our improvements.
I truly appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast buffet - we think it is really great as well!

All the Best -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing