We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 27, 2012

1) I asked for close parking and I was put almost as far away from parking as possible (3 rooms were farther away). All the walking was very painful.
2) The heater broke and it was never repaired and they made no adjustment to the bill.
3) I tried three times to order room service but could never get them to pick up the phone - just got a recording telling me to call back.
4) Despite the fact that the room keys were in different purses with different women all day, when we returned to the room both keys were disabled so I had a very long and painful walk to get a good key.
5) The floor slopes so the walk to the bathroom is uphill. Scary...

Overall this place sucked.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojave_Wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Mojave_Wind -
We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the malfunctioning heating unit and we’ve reported the problem to our maintenance team. Though we will work to correct the issue, we apologize this was not fixed during your stay with us.
Your feedback regarding the level of service you received provides guidance into areas we can improve upon in the future. We’ll be sure to address the issues with the room amenities and hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.
I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you if you desire - please reach out if you like: 510.665.7126.
Warm Regards -
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,945)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,653 - 1,659 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently spent 5 days at this property and totally enjoyed our visit. The staff was extremely helpful, the room was clean, spacious and quiet, and the view was lovely. We took a long walk along the water, saw some special wildlife and watched an incredible sunset over the bay.
The hot chocolate chip cookie was an unexpected treat on check in. We also made good use of the shuttle bus which kindly took us into Berkeley to meet our children for brunch.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a marina view. If not, building D is the most quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodie60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Doubletree Hotel several times and I like it for several reasons. Firstly, the management is VERY friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful, so if you are like me and like to run outside in the morning, it's perfect.. right alongside the marina.

The indoor pool looked lovely and inviting, although I didn't have time to enjoy it. The setting around the pool is also very nice if you have children you want to supervise.

I didn't have a car so really appreciated the flexible and complimentary shuttle service into the city.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the lobby, choose the first building (there are four). I found the second...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent the weekend here and really enjoyed it! Staff very gracious and let us check in early and check out late. That matters to me. Hot chocolate chip cookie and H2O upon arrival. Spacious room with a balcony. Decent fitness center with a pool for adults only. Separate family pool near lobby. Nice walk along the marina. Lounge and restaurant offer views of the bay and San Francisco skyline. I spilled my martini and the bartender was very nice about it and replaced it. Room service was great - hot pepperoni pizza. Definitely going back.

Room Tip: Hotel offers four buildings. Four is the furthest and private.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainiebug28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Building 3 slants inward toward building 4. I used a level and in some places the slope is 2 degrees. Very noticeable as you feel like you are walking downhill as soon as you walk into the room (facing the courtyard of course).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSTwook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was a guest at this hotel between October 24-29. Warm cookie at the arrival was a nice touch. This hotel is located at the best spot, secluded from the trafic noise, next to the city's marina. There is a small peninsula which is a walking distance from the hotel. The breakfast offered variety of choices, including fresh omlette with your choice of vegetables. Although the hotel was full one was still able to enjoy quiet time. The rooms are clean and well kept. I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay visiting Berkeley. I look forward to staing again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vesna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed on the main floor of this hotel and woke up at 2am to find a man in my room. He had somehow broken in and managed to get away with my wallet, 2 bags, and my camera. As if this experience wasn't terrifying enough the hotel did absolutely nothing to follow up. I had two friends staying with me in the hotel room that night and we had to seek them out the next morning to clear the situation up. From beginning to end they completely mishandled the entire situation. When I come back to Berkeley I will avoid staying here at all costs - I would warn you to do the same.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,312 reviews
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $153 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing