We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in beautiful marina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We liked it.
Stayed with kid in standard room with two double beds. Room is big enough for family with luggage. Furniture is good and new, I liked bed very much, good pillows, sleeping is very comfortable and linen is very soft...
Marina is very beautiful place, nice to walk, ride a bike, and also there is great famous playground in 10 minutes walk.
Also they have pool with very warm water and hot sparkling SPA tube.
Breakfast is average for Hilton, choice is neither big nor poor, typically american: eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, toasts, muffins, pancakes... We got coupons included in rate, so for us it was good.
My overall expression : good both for romantic getaway and weekend with kids.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to marina are quieter, but probably more exrencive. Other rooms face to parking, but...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phylomela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Phylomela~
Thank you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor! It is nice to read that your family had a nice stay - that you found the playground for the kids and we are so happy you enjoyed our Sweet Dreams bed as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.
All the best -
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,945)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

Peter (who moved our bags for us) and Ali (who provided the perfect breakfast for each individual in our family) were top-notch, as was the front desk service in changing our room upon noticing that the room we were originally booked for would be inadequate for our family. Great job!

While the road leading up to the hotel needs some service (pot holes galore), the location away from the hustle-bustle of downtown Berkeley and Telegraph Avenue is perfect for a peaceful night's sleep, yet close enough to make visiting the city and the University a breeze.

There is an adults only pool (must be 13 years or older) as well as a family pool (for the rest of us who don't mind a little extra noise with the kids around).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_L_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dan_L_72.....thanks for the wonderful sentiments about Peter and Ali!! A couple of "rockstars" who work for us! We love them too....
Great to read that our stellar front desk was quick with changing your room so you would feel more comfortable and truly enjoy your stay!!

We agree that our location is good for a "great nights" rest!

Hope to see you soon -
Warm regards,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is located on a corner of the marina and opposite is the lauching off point for several dinner cruise boats. The hotel has a small front desk / lobby area in the main building which also houses the restaurant, conference rooms and an indoor pool. There is a nice patio and lawn facing the marina where the hotel holds barbecues or puts on events. The guest rooms are located in several adjoining buildings which are a bit of a walk from the frond desk. Better to check in and then drive to a parking spot closer to your room. The rooms either face the Marina/Bay or the parking lots.

We had a first floor marina room. There were great breezes from the bay with the door open. There is a fair amount of foot traffic on the pathway that led past our room, but it did not cause any issues. The room was a good size and appeared to be renovated. Bathroom was small but functional. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a gym and another pool located in a building that is between the guest room buidlings and appears to be for adults only. The hallways in the guest room buildings were sparse and appeared a little worn out, but were clean with ice and soda machines located around the property.

Property is just a few minutes off of the highway and minutes from downtown Berkeley. All in all, it was a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: If you don't like people walking by your room and want a view, as for a higher floor facing the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Greetings joylama~
Thanks for the nice review of our hotel and your stay! Love those cool breezes coming off the Marina.
Hope we get to welcome you back soon!

All the best -
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel was very nice. The only negative thing was the balcony door wasn't very secure however there were no problems. I would stay here again because the staff were so welcoming to my family and I. For breakfast there was a lot to choose from and there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

There were about 500 people attending the conference, and plenty of conference rooms and chairs...unfortunately, the majority of the rooms ran off a single hallway outside of the restaurant, and the hallway was WAY too small to accomodate the crowd. To make matters worse, they put the coffee, water and buffet lunch for conference attendees in the hallway! It was difficult for us to get by, and practically impossible for non-conference people who wanted to get to the restaurant. Very bad design/logistics.
The audio was insufficient in the main room, but I don't know if that was a factor of the hotel or conference organizers.
There were hotel registration problems, but the staff took care of them for me.
My hotel room ended up being several buildings away from the main registration and the conference.
The only place to get coffee or breakfast in the morning was in a Starbuck's across from the front desk, and it was insufficiently staffed to handle the people. Also, it closed during the day at odd hours.
Other than this, the hotel staff was well trained and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one near pool, if important. 4th building's elevator is ancient...advise not to use.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This Double tree is near a marina and it has a real nice area to walk by the ocean. I had a room facing the marina on the second floor and it was quiet. There was a tiny balcony but it was nice to sit outside and look at the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable. The people were very friendly. I like to stay here when I'm visiting San Francisco. There are restaurants and shopping nearby and, like I said, it's right by the bay so it has a nice feel about it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needavacation02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

needavacation02.....thanks for a simple and nice review of our hotel. The great feeling you get from being next to the water is very calming and happy you had this feeling during your stay!

We hope you come back soon!
Warm regards -
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for just one night on our way up the California coast. All in all a good stay. Not the best location, however, and no breakfast. The place is huge and is cut up. The restaurant and bar are pleasant. They will gouge you on the Internet connection. Our suite was sort of bizarre. A separate bedroom, but no door on it. The single bathroom was through our bedroom. Door to the room was tight and you had to force it with your shoulder.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank fire_chief92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,312 reviews
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $153 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing