We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now a Quality Inn property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn University
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Finding acceptable accommodations in Berkeley is not simple. The Quality Inn is a good budget option. Located about a mile from campus and the Gourmet Ghetto, the motel is downtown and a short walk to several restaurants.

The rooms were updated, comfortable and clean but small enough that we needed to take turns passing around the foot of the bed. They provided the usual Quality Inn amenities like a fridge, microwave and ironing board. Air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free parking were available, though the parking lot filled early.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn University
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 56 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

This address is now called the "Quality Inn University". For the moderate (for Berkeley) price of about $80 per night we stayed here for two nights to visit relatives in the area and see art in SF. Furnishings and bathroom fixtures were all modern and clean. Rooms are a bit small but we did not hang out there much anyway. Free parking was good, access to SF was good by simply driving in. Breakfast was OK but we did not expect much. They did have some warm food and bagels. There are planty of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I stayed at the Inn while attending a conference at Berkeley. It was a 20 minute walk to campus. The hotel was clean and the staff were helpful but the linens seemed well used and tired. The inn was formerly a motel and the rooms have all new furniture but the dimensions of the rooms themselves have not changed so the rooms are a bit cramped with two beds, desk, mini fridge etc. The internet is fast and free and the breakfast was not bad. Book directly with the Inn via their website look for any web specials. I managed to book the facebook rate and got it for $79/night while my friends booked through a third party website and paid much more. But the area is definitely not lively after dark. For example, the Giant Burger is the closest place to eat in the evening and it is several blocks before you can find a place to have a drink. Even further if you want to eat something that isn't fast food.

Overall not a bad cheap budget hotel but don't have high expectations and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arianneleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

On my first night of a few months in Berkeley, I had to improvise and look for a hotel at 9pm. This was the first available option.

While checking in, in thought they offered quite a high rate considering the simple motel style ($100), and when I hesitated they let me have it for $90. Looking back it was a good deal.

The room was much better then expected (clean and well equipped), and by now I realise that this must be about the best Berkeley has to offer. Quite odd, that a city with so many international visiters has such poor hotelfacilities. (Look forward to see the result of the renovation of Berkeley's big landmark 'Shattuck Hotel')

Stayed: June 2008
Thank My-View-on-things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

I stayed a few nights at the Inn for a conference. First of all, one has to say that it is not directly at the University, but a good 20 minutes walk from the western campus entrance. The name might be a little misleading.

The room I stayed in was newly renovated and had all sorts of nice features and was very comfortable. It was reasonably, though not spotlessly clean. There was a plasma TV, a fridge, coffee maker, a alarm clock. There is free wireless internet.

The people at the front desk were helpful when I asked them something but they did not go exactly out of their way to make things easier. One could get breakfast there, which was good, although the selection is a little bit limited.

The motel is located next to a major road so there is a fair bit of traffic, especially in the morning and evening. So if you want to sleep long, this is not really possible but I found it acceptable at night. While the area is not really lively at night, I never felt that it was dangerous.

All in all, I got a very good deal from this hotel which was much better than similar comparable hotels would offer me and I would choose it again at any time,

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank crazybeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I would like to thanks all the staff from the hotel, specially Sam, the manager who gave us all the attention and offered us the best acomodation in Berkeley!!!My group is satisfied and we will bring next year more students to stay here at Inn At University!We spent three weeks feeling like in our homes!!!Everything was comfortable and everyone from the hotel was friendly with our group!!!Thanks to Sam and all the staff!!!See you next year.

Marco Nagao-Group Leader Brazil

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarcoBotucatu_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at Inn At University for three weeks during the month of July 2008.Three weeks is quite a long time to stay in the same place and what we have to say is that is was excellent.Sam, the manager, was very friendly and helpfull all the time we needed him.The were confortable with a up to date Tv set, friedge and microwave oven.The bedrooms are confortable with good beds and clean linen.The bethroom towels were changed daily, anda the showers were excellent.It was a nice stay.

Maria Isabel Baracat-Group Leader.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank garcagroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,311 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn University

Address: 1761 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1513 (Formerly Flamingo Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: $131 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At University Hotel Berkeley
Hotel At University
Inn University Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing