We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
38
44
26
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
44
26
14
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 128 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2018

A huge rip off! Based on the price and the reviews below, and the reality of what I experienced at this place - all I can say is that I've seen laundromats run better and with more care. It's just a run down old motel with a slap of fresh paint on it. NOTHING ABOUT THIS PLACE IS BOUTIQUE as some reviewers claim. Location is great, but if your thing is to stay at a cross between a city morgue (invisible proprietors) and a run down airport highway type motel with musty, ancient wall to wall substandard carpet, then go for it. Big disappointment. Only thing it has going for it is the location.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EdwinaLatcholais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

This place is my go-to hotel in Berkeley. This was my 4th stay there and I'd stay again. The location is great, the prices are good, but the rooms need some attention. Furniture is a bit scratched, bathtub is no longer bright white.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Tiago T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Needed a place to stay while visiting Cal for student registration. I wanted to be near campus and didn't feel need for upscale hotel on this short trip. Found Downtown Berkeley Inn via google, close to campus and loved the 'boutique' aspect. Room was nicely decorated, clean, and staff incredibly helpful. Though no bar or restaurant they weren't missed. A great value, and can't beat location.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

I am not sure why reviewers are referring to this as a "boutique hotel" and "just like home", but these reviews are incredibly misleading, if not deceptive. This motel is 2 floors of shabby rooms, surrounding a parking lot. The bathroom is a disgrace. Ample storage in a large dresser and a large tv. Seating is a rolling desk chair behind the door (no desk). We are safe and have beds, but for the money, you can find something pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2016

I travelled to Berkeley in May for a friend's wedding. This happened to coincide with graduation, so rates were at their most expensive (everywhere).

The Downtown Berkeley Inn is basically a motel, complete with the small front check-in desk, the faded carpeting, and peeling paint in the room. The door opens to the outside world, and it is thankfully covered (protecting both from rain and sun). The rooms are sufficiently large, the wifi works, there is hot water. The sink is not in the bathroom.

There is no breakfast, although within a couple of blocks are nice places for coffee. The closest is by the library, but I didn't go there. It is quite convenient to Berkeley and to BART -- a big convenience.

And, if the price were a lower, then I would give the place a higher rating. But I expect a little bit more at full price.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GL_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews