We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weird mix of great features and odd flaws” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Berkeley Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downtown Berkeley Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Weird mix of great features and odd flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

5 stars for the price, availability (rooms still available when all the other places sold out), location (2-3 blocks from the BART), modern plumbing (full size sink), and the bed. 3 stars for everything else.

This place is, hands down, the most convenient and reasonably priced place around downtown Berkeley. I also love the mostly modern plumbing. With that said, there are a few odd things about this place.

The room I was in was sparsely furnished with what looked like second-hand high-end furniture. There was a super narrow modern-looking-but-not-at-all-functional desk with an Aeron knock-off that had a huge tear in it. There was also a dresser and a nightstand. That's it! No table or chairs, or a luggage rack on which I can unpack! My husband had to put all of his stuff on the floor (I took the top of the small dresser; the drawers were really difficult to open so storing my stuff inside didn't seem feasible).

There was a 40-ish inch flat screen TV on the wall and a freaking Tempur-Pedic mattress! Absolutely loved the bed! BUT, the clock on the nightstand didn't work, the lotion by the sink was half empty (used) when we arrived (and wasn't replaced until after 3 days), the newly painted room (it still faintly smelled of paint) already had dents and chips in the wall, there were holes in the carpet (cigarette burns?), patches of rust on the bathroom door frame and along the seam between the tub and the wall, and the water pressure was dismal (the room was on the second floor).

Bottom line, the place has a weird mix of great features and odd flaws, but it's a good value simply based on location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wei-Li S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
27
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights for a business trip, and I was impressed. This is a recently updated hotel run by a small family. The room was clean and modern, but it did lack a microwave and small fridge. The location is great, with the Downtown Berkeley BART statoin just two blocks away. The family that runs the hotel is very nice, and willing to help with any request. The room rate is also good for the area and location of the hotel. The Downtown Berkeley Inn is on the top of my list for hotels when I return to Berkeley

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrazas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at the Inn for one night. This hotel is simple but extremely clean. The attendant/owner? was very helpful; she gave us a map and told us how to catch BART to the A's game. Lots of great restaurants and bars near by and close to the university. Maybe not what you'd want for a long stay but great for one or two nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbrazas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent and (as close as you can get to affordable) in the San Francisco area. Walking distance to all that Berkeley has to offer, and to San Francisco's public transportation system. Rooms are small but very quiet at night for a college town. Didnt expect the receptionist to allow us to leave our vehicle when we went to San Francisco after checking out, given the small amount of parking, but she did, saving us some 20 bucks which is so easily and happily spent in SanFran anyways.. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glauce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here while I was at a conference going on at LBL. Basically the experience was completely adequate, but not special. The room was pretty cheap, but didn't have anything extra. No microwave, no fridge, and spotty wifi. The street outside was a little on the loud side, but this bothers me less than others because I'm used to it. On the plus side, the man working the reception desk was very nice and helpful. The location is pretty good, as it's a few blocks from the downtown Berkeley BART station, and a short walk from the UC Berkeley campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
596 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very reasonable pricing for a great location in Downtown Berkeley. 3 blocks from the BART. Surrounded by great restaurants - too many to choose from. Lodgings are comfortable, feel nice. Walls are thin, but no problem overnight - most the noise was during the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

On the plus side:
Good value, helpful receptionist, free parking, easy walk to the BART (and connections to San Fran) and Shattuck Avenue amenities, good, clean bed and bathroom,Free Wi-fi though a bit weak.

On the negative side; the bed was lethal with the wide rim around the base, perfect for smashing into in the night ..bruises still visible. TV refused to work despite trouble shooting guide( we gave up), noisy construction works very early,and our room had a strange persistent odour - I think it was an ex-smoking room..and there are only 10 small parking spaces -street parking with meters when they are gone.

Overall, this felt like an 80's block of flats fron the outside;and the inside although contemporary was a bit worn. It was cheap though, and a good base to explore San Francisco on a budget ( parking in SF can be $30 per day, BART tickets from Berkeley are $ 7.50 return a day ) .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexPMicropub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Berkeley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Berkeley Inn

Property: Downtown Berkeley Inn
Address: 2001 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1419
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downtown Berkeley Inn is the newest lodging facility in Berkeley. Located just two blocks away from the University of California, Berkeley and a short five-minute walk from public transportation, our 27 rooms feature contemporary platform beds with TempurPedic-like foam mattresses, 42 inch High-Definition plasma TV with nearly 70 DirectTV channels, large desk and chair, in-room coffee machines and phone lines with data ports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downtown Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Downtown Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing