We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Berkeley Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downtown Berkeley Inn
Save
You added Downtown Berkeley Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Downtown Berkeley Inn. It's a couple of blocks from UC campus, and a block off Shattuck, a main drag with lots of restaurants and the Berkeley Downtown BART (subway). Very clean, modern, only 27 rooms, quiet and comfortable. There is no lobby, but there is parking in the courtyard - free when a space is available - there aren't many but I always saw an empty space or two. There also seems to be lots of space, with meters I think, on the street right in front.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcculloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
27
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Traveled up to the Bay area in Oct '07. Got a good deal so decided to stay for a couple of nights and used this place as a base to go to Oakland, SF, and Berkeley. The hotel is located a couple of blocks away from the downtown Berkeley BART station. It's right on a corner across from a school. Parking is on the premises but on the ground floor in a parking court. Building looked new and the reception is on the first floor at the front of the building and although it's small, it's easy to spot cause it was mostly glass.

The contemporary look on the exterior continued on the interior with splashes of color and chic furnishings. There was a nice big flat screen mounted on the wall in front of the king size bed. The bathroom was small but not tiny considering the corner room was quite large. All the linens and towels were clean and comfortable. Really only used this as a place to crash, but did get to watch a bit of TV in the morning and just relax for a couple of hours.

Considering the location and all the restaurants and even the movie theatre close-by, would definitely consider staying here again if I go back up to the Bay area.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet, try to get a room facing the street and on the top floor. Sound from the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Tried this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. Usually stay at the HI Express when in Berkeley, but wanted to be closer to downtown Berkeley. I don't know what I expected when a "boutique" hotel, turned out to be a painted over motel. Think 1950's three story motel with exterior hallways looking down on what was probably once a courtyard or pool, which is now a small cramped parking lot. You can park your car 1' from your door. I arrived late, and the tiny lobby was locked. All business was conducted through a slot in a window which faces the driveway. Odd! When you book online they require full payment in advance.

The room is small, with the sink & bathroom located by the front door. The decor looks like it was once attractive but of inferior quality, with various colors and knick knacks, but it's showing wear & tear. The bed was comfortable enough, sheets a little scratchy, but the two tiny little flat pillows were not a nice touch. The bathroom was clean however, but the grey carpet was well worn, with numerous stains. The room has a flat screen TV with Direct TV which was nice, but they have two remote controls...one for the TV one for Direct, and it can be a little confusing at first until you figure it out.

Having said that, the plus side would be that the room was only $89.00, and the parking (although limited) is free, which is a big plus in Berkeley. It's just a few blocks from the campus, hospital, shops and restaurants. Prior to arrival I had to make a reservation switch after the 24 hours deadline had passed, and the clerk was very nice and helpful in accomodating me.

The place isn't the Four Seasons to be sure, but for under $100 a night with free parking, it's a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingTGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Good price for a basic hotel. No frills, but very clean. Large TV on wall. Coffee maker, hair dryer.

My family of four shared a two queen room for just under $100 a night, including all taxes. A good deal. Cramped, but that was expected when we chose not to book two rooms. Certainly not the hotel's fault.

Location was great. Five minute walk to numerous restaurants, shops, bars, movie theaters, etc.

No view, no balcony, no morning breakfast included, but we knew this going in. It was a very clean, nice room for cheap, which was what we wanted. Free on site parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Downtown Berkeley Inn works more like an improved motel than like a boutique hotel: no lounge, no bar, no restaurant, no breakfast on the premises, limited lobby amenities. Now you know the shortcomings you have to accept there. BUT, it's a great location to discover Berkeley on foot (while your car sits in the courtyard for free), 3 blocks from BART to go spend time in San Francisco, walking distance to dozens of cool restaurants, shopping stores for clothes, shoes, books, repertory cinemas, and any typical California paraphernalia. The vicinity is lively but safe. The staff goes a long way to try to oblige whatever requests. And, what seems paramount for a hotel, the rooms are clean, the beds comfy, bathrooms well-fitted, AC, TV and Wifi WORK good.
There are other places to stay in Berkeley that may be a few notches upper, but not in that price range, and not with such a strategic location. All in all, it's a very good choice.

Room Tip: If you're the kind to sleep in late in the morning, safer to ask for a room on the second or thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequent_dinerParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed there during a conference and fellow colleagues stayed at Shattuck Plaza. We saved about 100/n. It's like a small motel, U-shaped, 3 levels, room access from outer walkways but the room decor was modern and fresh. Our stay was quiet and comfortable. Free parking and wifi. All the staff we dealt with we're very pleasant, & helpful. And the location is just off from Shattuck were all the action is. It's a short stroll to the Bart station which we used to get to SFO. Will return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancityrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

A nice surprise. From the outside, the place looks like a unprepossessing motel, but inside my room had design features and amenities more typical of a 4-star business hotel. The room was quiet and meticulously clean, in fact it looked like it has been renovated or remodeled very recently. The bed was very comfortable. Great location - easy walk to the BART station and to UC Berkeley campus. There's no restaurant or room service, but you will not need it - you are steps away from dozens of restaurants and bars in downtown Berkeley, many open late.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam_B749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#9 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Berkeley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Berkeley Inn

Property: Downtown Berkeley Inn
Address: 2001 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1419
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downtown Berkeley Inn is the newest lodging facility in Berkeley. Located just two blocks away from the University of California, Berkeley and a short five-minute walk from public transportation, our 27 rooms feature contemporary platform beds with TempurPedic-like foam mattresses, 42 inch High-Definition plasma TV with nearly 70 DirectTV channels, large desk and chair, in-room coffee machines and phone lines with data ports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downtown Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Downtown Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing