We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay in Berkeley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Berkeley Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Recently, when my regular spot (Hotel Durant) was sold out, I trusted the mostly positive reviews here and booked. At first, I was a little apprehensive because the proprietor seemed lost when booking the reservation, and later when I called to confirm a few days before my stay she had difficulty finding it -- but on the actual weekend of my stay, there were no problems.

The pluses: the hotel is 2 blocks from the south-west corner of Berkeley campus and maybe 3 blocks from Downtown Berkeley BART. It would take the average person ~15 minutes to walk to Sather Gate if that means anything to you. The neighborhood is okay – I never felt unsafe and the stairways only open if you have a keycard. The furnishings look quite new (and some rather chic) and provided you can figure out the remotes, there is a large plasma TV. My room had a coffee maker and the internet hookup was basically plug and play. My only, tiny complaint is that the lighting was dim and the desk space somewhat narrow. On the other hand, I didn’t hear my neighbor’s every cough and sneeze like I ordinarily would at the Durant.

So close to Berkeley, there are tons of restaurants from upscale, ethnic, pizza-by-the-slice, etc and more (2 movie houses, Pegasus Bookstore, etc). The staff were efficient if not particularly friendly but as I didn’t experience any issues I don’t really know how good they would be in problem solving.

For the minuses: if quiet is a priority, know that the west facing rooms look onto Berkeley High School where the student body can make quite a racket in streets during the afternoons. Also, I notice that the on-site parking (complimentary) is basically limited to about 12 cars so if you don’t get a space … good luck!

As others have noted, the hotel is a small scale affair so there’s no sense comparing it to the Ritz, etc. I would definitely stay here again if my regular wasn’t available. Also, I noticed when I checked in that at least some of the clientele were repeat customers (Cal parents).

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank J13345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 123 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2007

I was at another hotel prior to staying at the Downtown Berkeley Inn and was informed by Sudha that she would be able to get me a room, considering there were few vacancies in town because of a concert in Berkeley at the time. The rooms are very clean and the beds are the type that conform to your body! There is a huge flat screen tv, coffee maker and other accessories for guests to use. I felt at home and highly encourage anyone to stay there if you are visiting the area. It is a central location with BART nearby in addition to many great eateries. Sudha is a very pleasant woman and I definitely will return! The price of the hotel is very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rainbowgirlpride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

The Downtown Berkeley Inn seems like an unusual hybrid of a run-of-the-mill motel and a boutique hotel. The "boutique-like" amenities they offer (large flat-screen TVs, high-tech foam beds, modern furnishings and color scheme) were very nice, and since it was a relatively short stay I didn't miss the extended hotel services they're lacking (restaurant/room service, gym, pool, etc.). It's definitely a good value for the price. The hotel seems to be family-owned, and they were very friendly and helpful to me. The location is fantastic -- very convenient to the center of Berkeley and the BART station.

Things I didn't like: Although I requested a room on a higher floor when making the reservation, they were completely booked up for the weekend, so I ended up with one on the ground floor which was generally noisy, dark, and uncomfortably close to the street. Also, while the room did have an air conditioning unit, they were missing the remote control for it and didn't seem particularly inclined to replace it! (While it wasn't particularly hot, the fan at least would have helped muffle some of the street noise). My room seemed to have a funny smell, but I later realized that the smell was even stronger down the street, so I doubt there's much the hotel can do about it. Parking in Berkeley is tricky, and there were rarely any spaces available in the on-site lot, but I always managed to find parking on the street with a little effort.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pcgripka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I feel like we stayed at a different hotel than the other reviewers. Yes, the beds are nice and there are 42 inch plasma tvs in every room. Not that I go to a motel to watch tv, but you don't get a big choice of stations at the hotel. That dIdn't make the fancy t.v. seem worthwhile.
What was a big deal was the fact that our room was on the ground level and faced a busy ugly street. That meant we couldn't open the curtains the entire time. Nothing like a dark cave with a 42 inch plasma tv!
The owners might want to think about being a little bit more "green" -- instead of using styrofoam and plastic cups, they may want to consider glass. Again, not a huge deal, but c'mon, this IS Berkeley.
The biggest downside of this motel was the minimal amount of parking. We were unlucky enough to have returned to our room after the lot (which accommodates 9 or 10 cars for about 30 rooms) was full. I asked the person at the desk where to park. She was very rude and unfriendly and waved her hand and said to find street parking. Uh - have you ever tried to find street parking in Downtown Berkeley? I can't imagine what that will be like during homecoming weekend! If you know that neighborhood, it's a little sketchy, and if you have stuff in your car (we did since we were moving our daughter into her apt.), you definitely don't want to park on the street with a car full of "things".
On a more positive note, it was a very clean and modern motel and it was affordable.
Would I rate it #1 in Berkeley. No way.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank run26point2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank JJSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank CamileV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oriol59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.3 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#16 of 20 in Berkeley
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Berkeley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Berkeley Inn

Address: 2001 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1419
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: $267 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downtown Berkeley Inn is the newest lodging facility in Berkeley. Located just two blocks away from the University of California, Berkeley and a short five-minute walk from public transportation, our 27 rooms feature contemporary platform beds with TempurPedic-like foam mattresses, 42 inch High-Definition plasma TV with nearly 70 DirectTV channels, large desk and chair, in-room coffee machines and phone lines with data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Downtown Berkeley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Downtown Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing