We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
38
43
24
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
43
24
14
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 125 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2007

The Downtown Berkeley Inn seems like an unusual hybrid of a run-of-the-mill motel and a boutique hotel. The "boutique-like" amenities they offer (large flat-screen TVs, high-tech foam beds, modern furnishings and color scheme) were very nice, and since it was a relatively short stay I didn't miss the extended hotel services they're lacking (restaurant/room service, gym, pool, etc.). It's definitely a good value for the price. The hotel seems to be family-owned, and they were very friendly and helpful to me. The location is fantastic -- very convenient to the center of Berkeley and the BART station.

Things I didn't like: Although I requested a room on a higher floor when making the reservation, they were completely booked up for the weekend, so I ended up with one on the ground floor which was generally noisy, dark, and uncomfortably close to the street. Also, while the room did have an air conditioning unit, they were missing the remote control for it and didn't seem particularly inclined to replace it! (While it wasn't particularly hot, the fan at least would have helped muffle some of the street noise). My room seemed to have a funny smell, but I later realized that the smell was even stronger down the street, so I doubt there's much the hotel can do about it. Parking in Berkeley is tricky, and there were rarely any spaces available in the on-site lot, but I always managed to find parking on the street with a little effort.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pcgripka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I feel like we stayed at a different hotel than the other reviewers. Yes, the beds are nice and there are 42 inch plasma tvs in every room. Not that I go to a motel to watch tv, but you don't get a big choice of stations at the hotel. That dIdn't make the fancy t.v. seem worthwhile.
What was a big deal was the fact that our room was on the ground level and faced a busy ugly street. That meant we couldn't open the curtains the entire time. Nothing like a dark cave with a 42 inch plasma tv!
The owners might want to think about being a little bit more "green" -- instead of using styrofoam and plastic cups, they may want to consider glass. Again, not a huge deal, but c'mon, this IS Berkeley.
The biggest downside of this motel was the minimal amount of parking. We were unlucky enough to have returned to our room after the lot (which accommodates 9 or 10 cars for about 30 rooms) was full. I asked the person at the desk where to park. She was very rude and unfriendly and waved her hand and said to find street parking. Uh - have you ever tried to find street parking in Downtown Berkeley? I can't imagine what that will be like during homecoming weekend! If you know that neighborhood, it's a little sketchy, and if you have stuff in your car (we did since we were moving our daughter into her apt.), you definitely don't want to park on the street with a car full of "things".
On a more positive note, it was a very clean and modern motel and it was affordable.
Would I rate it #1 in Berkeley. No way.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank run26point2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews