We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salvadorian in Berkeley”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Platano

Platano
Ranked #59 of 696 Restaurants in Berkeley
Cuisines: Latin, Salvadoran, Central American, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Salvadorian in Berkeley”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is a nice spot for when you're craving ethnic (Salvadorian) food and don't want to drive to the city. The food is OK overpriced (my opinion), but it gets the job done.

The whole fish is my husband's favorite. I like the pupusas. Would patronize more often if the price was better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seroli_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the first place we ate when we arrived in Berkeley and it set the tone for our entire culinary experience in the city. The service was excellent and the pupusas were wonderful. The portions were sizable and everything tasted out of this world!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PastorMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pupusas are where its at!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

$2 pupusas makes this place a great bargain. Yummy and so cheap! Also the plantains with cream and beans are soo good. I think the service depends on how busy they are, but I like the laid back atmosphere.

I've been here a few times with different types of people and there was always something for everyone. It's just a good value and so filling that everyone always comes away happy. If I didn't enjoy the food so much then I may be bothered with the fact that they are kind of slow, but just come here when you have some time and can kick back and relax. Then you'll be fine!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food is great, service isn't”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'm having a hard time deciding about giving this place a 3 or 4 because the food is awesome but the service usually sucks.

I'll start with the good: The food is delicious. I love pupusas and they have excellent ones with a bunch of different fillings. Not only are they hot and fresh, they're cheap and filling which is always a major plus.

The bad: The service is poor. We once had to wait 30 minutes for them to give us the bill after clearing our place. Once we finally got the bill I unfortunately had to use my card. This was unfortunate because it took them at least 30 minutes for them to bring it back. Finally I had to call over a different server so we could be helped. Every table gets a bottle of homemade sauce and a mix of cabbage (kind of like a coleslaw without mayo). The first time I dined there we didnt get any at our table (it wasnt until the meal was almost over that we realized we were missing out). Another time i was there i had to ask the waiter for it after he forgot to bring it with our meal. I've only eaten here 3 times but every time I've had to wait 30 mins-an hour to get out the door once I'm done eating.

You must be able to tell the food is what brought me back. Now I'm vegan/gluten free and haven't been there since. I plan on going back to ask how their food is prepared, things like pupusas are traditionally made with corn masa and pork lard but I have no idea how they make them there. Next time I'm there ill report back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food was more interesting for its texture rather than its taste. Perhaps this is just in the nature of Salvadoran food. Service was very slow for lunch - not a good place to go if you need to get back to work.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JulesSulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platano also viewed

 

Been to Platano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing