We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brick Path Guest Suites - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brick Path Guest Suites - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #2 of 8 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Arlington or Cambridge
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed four nights at this wonderful B&B that is such a beautiful and quiet retreat from our busy days in the city and outskirts of SF. Wendy brought us scrumptious breakfasts each morning that we were able to eat in our room at our own table. There is a small kitchenette to make your coffee/tea, a small fridge for wine/water and leftovers, and a microwave. The bathroom was huge and perfect for two with loads of counter space and two sinks. It was cool when we stayed, but there are little outside areas to relax with your maps/books and meals if the weather is good. Wendy was so accommodating, helping us with directions and printing out maps. This is a really nice area too. We walked to an area with plenty of good restaurants and a short beautiful drive away is Chez Panisse and many other wonderful places to eat and shop. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Opps -- accidentally clicked swmming pool and there is none. Could not get the rating to clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
31
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We so loved our stay at Brick path. It seems that everyone who has stayed there says the same. It is lovely, clean, comfortable. Wendy prepares a fabulous breakfast. It is the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in. This is the place to stay!

Room Tip: The Master Suite has a great bathroom but I am sure all the rooms must be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LafayetteHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock , Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wide and I stayed at Wendy's lovely B and B in the master suite room for 4 very comfortable and enjoyable nights.
The room was spacious, bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge, it was handy to have a mini kitchen.
It was in a fantastic location in North Berkeley on a leafy tree lined suburban street about a 10 minute walk from Solano ave which had a great selection of restaurants etc...
It was a handy base to explore SF and the surrounding neighbourhoods.

Wendy could not do enough for us and she was a wealth of knowledge,down to earth and a pleasure to talk to - the breakfast she provided each morning was yummy and no request was a problem.

Ii I ever come back to the SF area I know the perfect B and B.

Wes & Jane

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberkochen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Brick path B&B in July '12 and experienced Wendy as a very friendly and helpful- simply: perfect host and the B&B itself really as a "second home". We stayed in the "master suite" with a lot of space - as well the living/sleeping room and the bath room - and a small kitchen. The garden invites to sit between flowers and simply relax - just in the crowdy bay area. I never would have expected to find such a beautiful, quiet place within 40 min BART from central SF. Wendy prepared excellent breakfasts which we took in the garden - a beautiful experience. If I ever come back to the SF area I definitively will chose Brick Path for accomodation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calacuccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Brick Path is an extraordinarily lovely and well-run B&B and its excellent reviews are well-deserved. We stayed for two nights in the Fireplace Room and enjoyed every minute. We are a bit cranky and not so easy to please but Wendy's attention to detail at every turn had us smiling the whole time. The room is furnished in a really elegant manner and the caring and excellent taste make it clear that Wendy loves what she does. I was especially impressed with the little things: need a hook for your robe (cozy and thick, awaiting you)...it's there right where needed. Need a light over the wet bar and coffee counter...you got it! The bed and bedding are sumptuous and the breakfast was delicious, rolled into our room at the exact moment promised and eaten by the fireplace in beautiful comfy leather chairs. Wendy even saw to it that the fruit bowl had different fruit on the second day. And Wendy herself is just the right amount of warm and welcoming without being in the least intrusive. Thanks, Wendy...we'll be back!

Room Tip: It was August and we had the fireplace room...seemed unnecessary when we booked but we wound up usin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anita z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Wendy is the perfect hostess! The room was lovely and tastefully decorated, clean, comfortable and private. Breakfast was made to order, and served in our room each morning. Wendy gave us great advice for local restaurants, as well as tips on travel to San Fransisco. The location is perfect for walking to Solano Ave. and even to Chez Panisse. This was the best B&B of all those we stayed in on our month-long excursion along the CA coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a really lovely stay for 2 nights in the Master Suite. Wendy's breakfasts were scrumptious and healthy, good as I've had at a luxury spa. A good bed, an enormous and well-appointed bathroom, and such a delightful garden outside our door. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
2.9 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brick Path Guest Suites - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brick Path Guest Suites - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: The Brick Path Guest Suites - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 1805 Marin Ave, Berkeley, CA 94707-2414
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate and welcoming, Berkeley Brick Path Guest Suites is located in North Berkeley, just around the corner from Solano Avenue, one of Berkeley's best neighborhood shopping areas, and approximately two miles from UC Berkeley. The Brick Path offers two attractive suites - The Tuscan Suite and The East-Meets-West Cottage - and beautiful yards and gardens. Both rooms have modern private baths, separate guest entrances, high-speed wireless Internet, and exceptionally comfortable queen-size beds. The Cottage has a full kitchen; The Tuscan Suite has a kitchenette. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing