We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and rejuvenating oasis in the middle of Berkeley”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brick Path Guest Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing and rejuvenating oasis in the middle of Berkeley”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I am a former resident of this area and had been back many times to visit. The Brickpath is a gem and a lovely surprise ! I loved the room that Wendy Sprague, the owner of this B&B. had put me in for this visit. It has a separate entrance, a wonderful and warm bedroom with a small desk, a small kitchenette, a spacious bathroom, and a view of the courtyard. I came from a busy and hectid work week and am so grateful for this beautiful and calm space! On top of all this, it is located within walking distance to Solano Avenue, one of my most favorite neighborhood in Berkeley. I can walk out to this area literally in five minute to my favorite bookstore, cafe, ect...It is heaven on Earth ! And Wendy is most kind and helpful in everything that I had asked and requested information for. The Brickpath truly is a calm, private, and rejuvenating oasis in the middle of Berkeley. I truly recommend it to anyone who would like to have a relaxing time away from home, yet have access to everything that a small and charming city has to offer.
Rose T. Nguyen (Ventura, CA.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
31
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I’ve stayed at The Brick Path several times, sampling all the rooms over the past several years. I always LOVE coming back here.
My most recent stay was in August of 2011. What I like most about it is its calmness, which greets one throughout the gardens and is further echoed in the serene furnishings in the rooms – nothing overdone, simple and tasteful. And the location is ideal with Solano Avenue a mere 3 minute walk away -- a major commercial street with plenty of good restaurants, coffee spots, bakeries and boutiques. I always take the opportunity to take a good long walk in the Berkeley hills, which are right there, with winding streets and narrow paths throughout as well as interesting architecture and lots of gardens to view.
Wendy, the innkeeper, has created a truly lovely environment and is very attentive to her guests needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyM928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I have stayed at The Brick Path six times in the past seven years. When i leave, I want to return! It is a perfect get-away with a garden setting, luscious breakfasts, luxurious bedding, smart decor, and a delightful and helpful proprietor, Wendy Sprague. Lots of planning went into making this such a exceptional place. It's close (1 1/2 block) to shops of all kinds (book store, gourmet grocery store, stationery store, shoe store, Peet's and Starbuck's, and more). Don't miss this fabulous destination!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbb12549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here while visiting friends in Berkeley. We strayed in the fireplace room, which indeed has a working gas fireplace and even a piano in the room. The owner made us feel quite at home. The location is great, just a few blocks from a great neighborhood of restaurants and stores and it was within walking distance of our friends' house. The B&B has a really nice garden with areas to sit.

All in all, the best place we stayed on our trip. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

This B & B's greatest asset is probably the amazing proprietor...warm, welcoming, attentive to every detail. Location, rooms, privacy and breakfast were all fabulous! The Brick Path was a major reason our first visit to Berkeley won't be our last!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymooner020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The rooms exceeded my expectations with a very large bathroom equipped with both a jacuzzi bathtub and a separate enclosed shower, double sinks, plenty of towels, and terrycloth bathrobes. Also, the small kitchen area had a refrigerator, toaster oven, microwave, electric teapot, and coffee maker--with both regular and decaf fresh ground coffee. Peaceful garden with areas where guests can sit and read or eat. Wendy was very helpful and flexible, fixing a great breakfast tray for which you can let her know the day before your choices and preferred time, or even choose a voucher for coffee and pastry for nearby bakery or coffe shop. Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momnkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I have travelled to Berkeley frequently for years. I have stayed in all of the many possibilities for lodging in Berkeley. The Brick Path is light years beyond everything else in terms of the beauty, comfort and peacefulness of the surroundings, and the host, Wendy, who is extremely reliable and always gracious. The location is also great...everything you could need or want a short distance away. There is nothing not to just love about this place. Wendy has put together a real model B &B experience.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RevRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brick Path Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brick Path Guest Suites

Property: The Brick Path Guest Suites
Address: 1805 Marin Ave, Berkeley, CA 94707-2414
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate and welcoming, Berkeley Brick Path Guest Suites is located in North Berkeley, just around the corner from Solano Avenue, one of Berkeley's best neighborhood shopping areas, and approximately two miles from UC Berkeley. The Brick Path offers two attractive suites - The Tuscan Suite and The East-Meets-West Cottage - and beautiful yards and gardens. Both rooms have modern private baths, separate guest entrances, high-speed wireless Internet, and exceptionally comfortable queen-size beds. The Cottage has a full kitchen; The Tuscan Suite has a kitchenette. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing