We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Try in Berkeley”
Review of Chez Panisse

Chez Panisse
Ranked #2 of 707 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cedar Street
Transit: Downtown Berkeley BART station 7 blocks from Chez Panisse. AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Must Try in Berkeley”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a great restaurant. Making the reservation was the worst part as the person who answered the phone was a little fresh(!). The appetizer was delicious. The main course was dry and perhaps not as perfect as expected. Overall, great place though.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    203
    114
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It is a landmark restaurant that always fulfills your expectations. The food is excellent, well presented, tasty and fresh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Make a special occasion really special”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

When I have special out-of-town guests, or on my birthday, or on other special occasions, this is my "go-to" pick. (We therefore eat here 3 to 4 times a year.) I always choose the "cafe" (upstairs) rather than the prix fixe restaurant (downstairs). The restaurant is more formal, more expensive, and more food and wine than I want or need. (And though I am an omnivore, I have food preferences that I might not be able to meet with the fixed menu.) The menu is seasonal; the locally sourced food is always exquisitely prepared. For those who aren't aware of it, Alice Waters began the "California cuisine" movement 40 years ago (look that up on the internet for more details). Unless you don't mind eating very early or very late, you usually have to make dinner reservations a couple of weeks in advance and they are not open on Sunday! Note that the tip (18%) is included in the bill, though I usually round up to the nearest $10 or so.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic favorite”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have not been there in quite some time. When my husband was alive this was his MOST favorite spot to eat...unfortunately since he has gone I haven't been there much at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classic Cal Cusine”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Flagship of the fresh food; locally sourced; farm to table movement. Never been disappointed; love the cafe upstairs for more informal , spur of the moment meals.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattKells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Panisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing