We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, nice atmosphere”
Review of Chez Panisse

Chez Panisse
Ranked #2 of 704 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cedar Street
Transit: Downtown Berkeley BART station 7 blocks from Chez Panisse. AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a late lunch at the cafe on Sat afternoon. We were visiting from Canada and this dining experience was everything I anticipated. Delicious starters, entrees, desserts and coffees. Attentive but not hovering waitpersons. Great experience. We did not notice the service charge so of course we left a tip! Still glad to have dined here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bagwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    200
    112
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Food very flavoursome but extremely overpriced for what was on offer. No choice at all. We didn't even get asked what menu the members of our party wanted to have, so they just assumed we were all wanting the same and served us without any introduction to the menu. Then they took food away and started again. There is no element of choice at all so felt like maximising profit and not customer satisfaction.
We had pre warned them that we had two vegetarians and one of those gluten free. If unable to cater properly why not say so at time of booking? His meal was most unsatisfactory until we complained and they made some fish for him. By then he was eating alone, not ideal.

All in all pretty poor, outdated and tired formula.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinandega, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We shared a delicious lunch together with family. The salad greens are outstanding, the pizza delicious, the tuna starter was sublime. My roast chicken was perfectly cooked. Overall a great experience and i highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manicero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful Food and Ambience”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a great lunch at the cafe upstairs at Chez Panisse a few weeks. ago. We took the BART over from SF and walked the remaining 8 blocks (on a beautiful October afternoon) and were not disappointed. The food is absolutely fresh and falvorful and inventively cooked to bring out subtle flavors of the fish (which i had) and the greens. Delicious bread, salad and desserts. The staff is gracious and not snooty.

They do have a service charge, so one doesn't really need to tip, yet it all seemed very reasonably priced for a first class meal. A very nice place to linger over lunch with family/friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicimo”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What an amazing meal - excellent food, great service, good wine selection & wonderful company. Highly recommended...but do book at least 6 weeks in advance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RovingFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Panisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing