We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chez Panisse Café”
Review of Chez Panisse

Chez Panisse
Ranked #2 of 707 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cedar Street
Transit: Downtown Berkeley BART station 7 blocks from Chez Panisse. AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chez Panisse Café”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The café bistro is located one floor above the restaurant and is an excellent, more informal, alternative to the real deal. Service is good and food is excellent: nice, surprising combinations, not overly complicated and very well executed. Wine (and beer) list is great as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhiterabbitAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    203
    114
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“I would go back to Berkeley only for Chez Panisse!!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Absolutely delicious!!! I wish they had more locations. Dinner in Chez Panisse is a must if you`re in the area!!! Loved it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try lunch at the Cafe' upstairs if you are watching your budget”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Eating at Chez Panisse is going to cost you, but the quality of the food and the preparation thereof is worth every penny. It deserves its reputation as Berkeley's premier restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank SpookysMom57Danville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best of USA”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I love this neiborhood gem. We eat upstairs lunch in the cafe and downstairs dinner usually every time we come to Berkeley area. This place never dissapoints.

Last night was a Friday and they did a wild caught local ocean king salmon carpaccio with a cucumber gillee(jelly). It was simple yet complex. That was the first course. Amazing!

The upstairs and downstairs are very different experiences. Both exceptional and true to their form. Which is why we do both.

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this Berkeley landmark restaurant. The fresh, local menu is outstanding and the service is impeccable. I had wanted to dine her for years and finally had the opportunity and it certainly lived up to all of my expectations. Thank you Alice Waters!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank judeneldam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Panisse also viewed

 

Been to Chez Panisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing