We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An honest place to stay for the budget traveller” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley YMCA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Berkeley YMCA
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An honest place to stay for the budget traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The YMCA hostel was the best experience I had staying in Berkeley as a backpacker. It's cheap, safe, run by a dedicated staff, and reasonably clean. It's a budget hostel, not a hotel: facilities are shared, there's lots of young travelers, it may take until the next day until cleanup, and don't expect designer furniture in the rooms. But all I needed was there, including good Wi-Fi, a fridge in each room and a well-stocked community kitchen. All staff I encountered were extraordinarily nice people. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I had a good night's sleep, but there seemed to be room service going on at night (maybe some em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pekka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at the Berkeley YMCA when I arrived in Berkeley as a temporary solution until I found a room to rent. It is an affordable place considering the high prices of housing in Berkeley. Moreover you can use the gym and pool facilities in the building (probably useful if you stay for some weeks). The rooms are private (not dorms), very simple but enough to rest and sleep with a table that you can use to write or use your computer. You can also use the kitchen and there's a computer room. The showers and restrooms are private but not in the room (there are several spread in the building).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank APedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I visited some friends in San Francisco and needed an affordable place to stay. I don't like the bay area because everything is so expensive. And to a german guy the amount of homeless and drug-addicted people is really shocking.
I did not want to pay 100 bucks per night, that' s why I chose the YMCA. The neighbourhood seems to be ok in the daylight, but when I returned at night, sometimes there were some young sketchy people lingering at the downtown bart station. Nothing happend to me and I guess the location is one of the safest in the bay area, but I felt sometimes uncomfortable.

The hotel itself is ok, the rooms are clean except the carpets. The shared bathrooms and showers are located in the hallway and were mostly clean. Only once I had to wait for a shower. I never used their pool or the gym. Many restaurants are located nearby, but all of them seem quite pricey. The hotel offers also a fully equipped kitchen, so you can cook yourself.
Sometimes it is hard to fall asleep in the night, because there are students who yell down the hallway at 1am and use the laundry in the middle of the night.

A ride by bart to downtown San Francisco takes about 20 minutes and is about $3.75 one way. My friends stayed in an upper class hotel in San Francisco and payed hundreds of dollars. When I once left them, next to the entrance one person was getting his next fix. So I think it is not worth spending much money for a hotel in the bay area.

If I have to return to the bay area I would stay at the YMCA again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The next best price I could find for a Berkeley Hotel was $100 more, so we went with the Y. It's too bad that sickness and time prevented us from making use of the great exercise facilities and pool because then the cost may really have been worth it. But, be prepared for mismatched furniture and bed coverings, bathrooms off the hallway, students, people in hard times, etc. The location is great for access to public transportation, downtown Berkeley, the campus, restaurants, etc. I'd been told the rooms were air conditioned, but ours was not and keeping the window open meant we could hear traffic and voices in the street. You get what you pay for, and what you get in Berkeley is expensive compared to the Midwest. The hotel manager was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniversary_minded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

close to bart, and everything important to me... frree day pass to the ymca..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rocaToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I chose this hotel for its price and location to the BART. I was disappointed. The hallways are a maze and very hard to navigate. They charged my credit card three times instead of once. It was later resolved, but still a hassle. There were people living here longterm that were down on their luck. Bathrooms are shared and while there were no major problems here, they seemed to be always occupied, which was frustrating. My room was very basic w/ a single bed and desk. Room was incredibly hot and I had to open a window, which made me feel unsafe. Huge iron stain on the carpet and found a single hair in my bed and was grossed out. I checked out after one night b/c it wasn't worth saving the money. Overall, it will do if you are a real budget traveler who is used to staying in a hostel type place. But if you can afford it, I'd advise going elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheesylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

auckland new zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed on a weekend in May 2011. The room was clean, airy, quiet (a weekend but a graduation one!) and not shabby as others noted earlier. There was only one of the old group of streetpersons in evidence. She was unobtrusive and quiet and seemed to have an arrangement to spend the night in a small common space. The only drawback was a lack of hot water in some of the showers, which the management seemed nonplussed about but the working one was fine and still not far from the bedrooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley YMCA

Property: Berkeley YMCA
Address: 2001 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1417
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Berkeley YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Ymca Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing